We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grim”
Review of Rainbow Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rainbow Inn
Ranked #63 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Despite beautiful surroundings; a pool and beautiful Rainforest, this facility is fairly grim. It may be the clientele; a few shady blokes sitting outside their rooms smoking. The room was OK, but the free wifi didn't work at all, and that was the entire reason I booked to stay here. There are happier places to stay for less.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bella2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Rainbow Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 215 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a disgusting place! 1st room we checked into wasn't cleaned at all!!!!! There were ants in the bathroom eating another insect. Actually there was ants everywere - even in the bed! On the pillow there was another persons hair! The sheets have not been changed before we arrived.

We changed room, and the 2nd room smelled so bad! Someone has been smoking in there - the smokedetector was removed! Everthing was wrong! No balcony which we had booked and payed for. Broken aircondition, dirty(!!!!), the fan was very loud!, No hairdryer, No microwave, no Remote to the TV.

We have been to australia for 1 months and we have lived on hostels in 8 Mans dorms, and it was luxury compared to This motel.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
6  Thank Dittehj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

returned to cairns in January 2014, and was looking for some accommodation online that had an outdoor pool area and was close to city. I come across this motel with a specials running for a 3 night stay and decided to give it a go. I enjoyed the amount of outdoor area with pool and spa. Motel had a restaurant and bar which was good pricing. Rooms where clean, and big with your own ensuite, my balcony was over looking some beautiful gardens and pool area. The motel seemed like it had a lot of work done to it, and found it very pleasant atmosphere. Great location, and great outdoor pool and gardens. I would recommend, and would have no problem visiting again when I am next back in Cairns.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room over looking pool and gardens, really nice breeze and great outlook.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This place is close to esplanade etc but so are alot of the places along cook high way, the lack of house keeping is also a problem. I was down the esplanade and came back to find they had taken my children's tablets until we paid the next nights fee , I felt violated and wasn't happy they made us pay the night to get the tablets back even though I refused to stay again after being treated like that

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bec0009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

After letting staff know that we would be arriving late they told us to ring reception on arrival and we would be given the code to retrieve our keys from the safe.
Imagine our shock to discover that our room had been let and that at 1am we were left on the street with no room, despite having our booking confirmation in our hands. Staff told us that they would ring the manager to see what could be organised . They rang us back after 15 mins and said that there was no evidence that we had booked. After insisting that we had indeed booked they said they would call the manager again.We waited for 30 minutes to be contacted but were totally ignored.
We were able to get a room at Ridges, luckily,and went back to the Rainbow Inn in the morning where we got our money back ( and lots of empty apologies).I agree with Darren who says:"Don't stay at this hotel !!!!"

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
6  Thank kate_debus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

What a [---] dump, I know it is budget but one would expect the basics, like clean rooms.
It wasnt bad enough that the room looked like it had been cleaned by a blind cleaner with epilepsy, but I am sure that the bedsheets had not been changed. I am almost sure that i have contracted mild emphysema friom the residual smoke in this "non smoking" room.
The door lock was broken. and the windows would not close.
I was awoken by other guests rioting and arguing ALL NIGHT. the management did not care nor try to stop the noise. Later the 2 poofs in the next room fighting about who's turn it was to be on top at 4am.
The aircon was inoperative, but at least the tv worked.

The rating system for the reivew does not go low enough to describe this place.
it is a full on negative number /10

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I prebooked breakfast with our room rate online, for an additional cost for two of $30. When we arrived, we found a sign advertising breakfast for just over $6 on the footpath and another sign on the breakfast room advertising bacon & eggs for $8.90. However, nowhere did we find any mention of the breakfast hours (not in the in-room services guide, not in/on the breakfast room). One sign advertised it started at 6:45am. There was no notification of the end time. Imagine our disappointment & frustration when we arrived at 9am for breakfast to be told by one of the passing housemaids that breakfast ends at 8:30am. The front office offered no compensation or concession for the oversight and inconvenience, even considering we had prepaid $30 for it. A previous review from August 2012 expressed this same frustration with the breakfast hours. I would suggest management post breakfast hours to assist other late-night arriving travelers to plan their morning routine. And travelers, pay for your breakfast when you get there, not before. Assuming they're open, it's much cheaper!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank itzmyyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.8 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#29 of 64 in Cairns
494 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#43 of 64 in Cairns
68 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#54 of 64 in Cairns
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cairns City Sheridan
Cairns City Sheridan
#60 of 64 in Cairns
312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#61 of 64 in Cairns
116 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cairns Southside International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Inn

Address: 179 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $56 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated Cairns Rainbow Resort is located in Cairns, Queensland, One of the most popular tourist destinations in the world, surrounded by lush rainforest and beautiful tropical oceans. The Resort is Located close to the city center where you will find shops, world renowned restaurants that cater for every cuisine, large variety of bars and clubs and only 100 meters to the esplanade and ocean waterfront. 5 minute drive is the Cairns Domestic and International Airports. 15 minute walk of the resort you can get to other attractions such as; Cairns central shopping center, cairns civic theater, convention center, cruise ship terminal, arts gallery, casino, train station, bus terminal, cairns museum, botanical gardens, and much more. Cairns Rainbow Resort is a tropical oasis close to the city center offering great valued rooms with Pool, Spa and tropical garden views. All rooms have private balconies, and free wireless internet. ROOMS: All of our rooms have balconies that open your room up to the beautiful tropical gardens and pool area. Only meters from your room awaits our spa perfect for relaxing and our large swimming pool with cascading waterfall, perfect for those warm summer days, by pools side awaits the lounge chair area where you can lay back and let the sun shine down while you enjoy a cold beverage from our bar, or a meal from the Coral Garden Restaurant. All of our daily cleaned comfortable guest rooms come with on a 32" Flat TV screen, free wireless internet, room safe, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities, microwave, fridge. FACILITIES: Cairns Rainbow Resort facilities include a tropical outdoor swimming pool with cascading waterfall, outdoor spa and pool side lounge chair area, tour booking desk, guest laundry, and onsite car parking. Coral Garden Restaurant and Coral Bar are our onsite dining options, both great places to meet other travelers and share your stories while enjoying a dining experience and beverage. The resort waiting lounge has a computer terminal with free printing facilities, free wireless internet is throughout the resort. CORAL GARDENS RESTAURANT: Coral Garden Restaurant is your onsite option for dining. With a collective mixture of contemporary and classic design and views of tropical gardens, you sure will be pleased with the location of the Coral Gardens Restaurant. Offering locally caught seafood, succulent steaks, fresh salads, and seasonal vegetables you will be very pleased with the options. Not just offering a large variety of dishes, we also offer a few options for dining. During the humid months that the tropics bring, having a seat inside the restaurant is the comfortable choice, with a large fish tank along with gentle back ground music, you will feel relaxed and ready to try our a-la-carte menu. For the rest of the beautiful year round weather, you might be much more inclined to have a table in the outside area, you will be dining under the stars, and enjoying the clear night sky's. If dining amongst tropical palm trees and the background sound of only a cascading waterfall is your thing, no problem, this is also available with pool side dining. Also available is room service if relaxing on your private balcony is your preferred option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rainbow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing