We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'll stay again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainbow Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rainbow Inn
Ranked #64 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I'll stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

This place is well situated, in cairns able to walk to night markets and major city features. I also walked to cairns central several times. The staff were helpfully and willing to do a bit extra for you. Yes the I price is at the lower end but it suited me fine. Pool was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager J, Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your honest review. We are pleased that you were happy with your accommodation and enjoyed our lovely pool and garden area in our beautiful North Qld climate.
Look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    34
    21
    93
See reviews for
53
39
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Our family of four would have been lost without the pool. Cairns turned on a rainy week for us which limited some of the sight seeing trips we had planned. Staying at the Rainbow was a real bonus. We were close to Cairns center, cafes, shops and Botanical Gardens, the Pier and Esplanade. The pool was fantastic, clean and attractive. The kids spent a lot of time playing there so were not cooped up inside.

The rooms were clean and tidy, staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: A room close to the pool will be best if your travelling with kids because they are going to want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6Sigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager J, Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank your for your comments. We are glad that your family chose to stay with us in Cairns and enjoy the facilities available for recreation at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knowsley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

I found the hotel to be better than I anticipated after reading the reviews the staff were very friendly and helpfull the room was clean and the beds comfortable the swimming pool was also clean and set in a tropical enviroment the shops and takeaways were within 100 metres and the centre of cairns about 10 mins walk or about $8 taxi fare I have no problems at all about recommending the hotel to stay in and the next time I go to cairns I will be booking in here I was also accomponied by my teenage daughter who also had no complaints

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager J, Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your honest appraisal of our motel. We are pleased that your enjoyed your stay and found our property to be good value and well located in relation to the city area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Terrible place to stay. Smelly rooms, dirty sheets; unhelpful, rude staff. NOT WORTH even the cheapness of the hotel. Stay somewhere else; can't possibly do any worse than this!
Other reviews say you get what you pay for. We (2 groups) stayed in two hotels of different classes (4* and 3*); both were vastly different in quality but prices were less than £5 per room per night diffference! This hotel IS NOT WORTHY of 3 star rating

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere; shop around and book early if possible to get a good deal on a good hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Masiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager J, Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to advise of your opinions. We realise that our 3 star affordable type accommodation is not suitable for everyone and that for some it is better to book 4-5 star accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Queensland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

I'm writing currently in one of the rooms and for the price the room is very good. It's also an easy walk to both the esplanade and shopping center. The only real negative is the loud people on the top balcony ( I assume they are the staff). Their language and loudness can make the resort not suitable for young families. Overall, its a nice resort in a good location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardMacQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager J, Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank your for your comments. We are pleased that you found our property to be good value for money and well located in relation to the city area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, QLD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

You get what you pay for. The hotel was one of the cheapest ones we found in Cairns. Room is very basic. And cleanliness is bit poor too. The hotel itself has nice big area with a good size pool. But it seriously needs a good renovation. It is around 15 mins walk from the city and esplanade. So the location wise not bad.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rabs003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

After reading some reviews we were a bit worried but no need to be. You get what you pay for, our room was clean but old and probably in need of some decoration but we had a good time here and it set the friendly tone for our Northern Queensland holiday. The manager was helpful and managed our very late arrival with ease. The breakfast was wonderful and the pool looked good.. didn't get to use the pool but was nice that our room overlooked it. Met some nice people at the hotel who helped with our holiday plans. Queenslanders are very friendly. re Cairns itself it was much better than we expected, a very nice city with a great marina...we will stay longer in Cairns next trip to see some of lower North Queensland

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusky35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#63 of 65 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairns City Sheridan
Cairns City Sheridan
#62 of 65 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balinese Motel
Balinese Motel
#35 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#33 of 65 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
0.0 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#25 of 65 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Inn

Property: Rainbow Inn
Address: 179 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated Cairns Rainbow Resort is located in Cairns, Queensland, One of the most popular tourist destinations in the world, surrounded by lush rainforest and beautiful tropical oceans. The Resort is Located close to the city center where you will find shops, world renowned restaurants that cater for every cuisine, large variety of bars and clubs and only 100 meters to the esplanade and ocean waterfront. 5 minute drive is the Cairns Domestic and International Airports. 15 minute walk of the resort you can get to other attractions such as; Cairns central shopping center, cairns civic theater, convention center, cruise ship terminal, arts gallery, casino, train station, bus terminal, cairns museum, botanical gardens, and much more. Cairns Rainbow Resort is a tropical oasis close to the city center offering great valued rooms with Pool, Spa and tropical garden views. All rooms have private balconies, and free wireless internet. ROOMS: All of our rooms have balconies that open your room up to the beautiful tropical gardens and pool area. Only meters from your room awaits our spa perfect for relaxing and our large swimming pool with cascading waterfall, perfect for those warm summer days, by pools side awaits the lounge chair area where you can lay back and let the sun shine down while you enjoy a cold beverage from our bar, or a meal from the Coral Garden Restaurant. All of our daily cleaned comfortable guest rooms come with on a 32" Flat TV screen, free wireless internet, room safe, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities, microwave, fridge. FACILITIES: Cairns Rainbow Resort facilities include a tropical outdoor swimming pool with cascading waterfall, outdoor spa and pool side lounge chair area, tour booking desk, guest laundry, and onsite car parking. Coral Garden Restaurant and Coral Bar are our onsite dining options, both great places to meet other travelers and share your stories while enjoying a dining experience and beverage. The resort waiting lounge has a computer terminal with free printing facilities, free wireless internet is throughout the resort. CORAL GARDENS RESTAURANT: Coral Garden Restaurant is your onsite option for dining. With a collective mixture of contemporary and classic design and views of tropical gardens, you sure will be pleased with the location of the Coral Gardens Restaurant. Offering locally caught seafood, succulent steaks, fresh salads, and seasonal vegetables you will be very pleased with the options. Not just offering a large variety of dishes, we also offer a few options for dining. During the humid months that the tropics bring, having a seat inside the restaurant is the comfortable choice, with a large fish tank along with gentle back ground music, you will feel relaxed and ready to try our a-la-carte menu. For the rest of the beautiful year round weather, you might be much more inclined to have a table in the outside area, you will be dining under the stars, and enjoying the clear night sky's. If dining amongst tropical palm trees and the background sound of only a cascading waterfall is your thing, no problem, this is also available with pool side dining. Also available is room service if relaxing on your private balcony is your preferred option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Rainbow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing