We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Longest corridors in the world!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Longest corridors in the world!”
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed here for three nights before going on a Reef cruise. The hotel was pleasant and we enjoyed the opportunity to eat at the different restaurants around the marina, which because they are below the hotel can be accessed without having to get soaked if it decides to pour with rain (which it does, a lot!). Good position looking out over the bay and the marina and a grandstand view of the flying foxes at dusk.

The big downside was that the hotel is arranged like a triangle, with only two floors of rooms. Great that it's not a high-rise so doesn't look awful, BUT with the only lift in one corner and our room as far away as it could be, halfway down the opposite side, it took ages to get to and from the room and involved a LOT of walking. Never seen such long corridors ever. No problem if you're young and fit (just rather annoying) but not good if walking is a bit of a struggle.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mus09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    831
    339
    119
    71
See reviews for
445
1,264
137
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We only intended to say 3 nights but ended up staying 6, it is a lovely property with great views of the ocean and marina, our bed was fantasic and the hotel has heaps of restaurants around and shopping. We had free car parking which is most unusual but the thing that made our stay was the staff,they were so friendly and helpful I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Helena04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia,wa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We got a special deal with one free night and free breakfast which was great value. We had a marina view room which had a fantastic view with free internet and plenty of supplies in the bathroom etc. The pool area was nice and you are able to have refreshments and food by the pool. The prices where reasonable. They even had a happy hour which was a bonus.It is within walking distance of the shops etc so if you are just staying in central Cairns you dont need a car but if you decide to do a little touring they have parking in the shopping centre below which was free to hotel guests. If we ever stay in cairns again and the price was right we wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnPerthAustralia_wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

This is my and fiancé’s 4th stay at the Shangri-la cairns. We booked just a standard lagoon view room (tried to book a horizon club room but they were booked out) and as per usual there room was perfectly lovely (though we do prefer the horizon and executive rooms just cause there bigger) We keep coming back to the Shangri-la cairns purely because of the service…I said it in my last review and ill say it again, BEST beds ever!!!! … There was some confusion when I made the booking, I contacted the hotel via email and was quoted a price for a room and when I emailed back to confirm there was a delay in them replying, I ended up just calling direct to ensure we got a room, any room, I spoke to someone different and he couldn’t find the original quote I was quoted. (Didn’t matter really…we didn’t get the original room we wanted but we were still perfectly happy to stay there regardless) After we checked in and had spent about and hour or 2 in the room the hotel had picked up on the “miss-communication” with the emails. We then had housekeeping knocking on our door with complimentary sparkling wine, chocoies and a fruit basket, free newspaper in the morning andddd they reduced our rate by $57.00 and sent an apologetic email straight away. THIS is exactly why we keep returning, the service. (Though we were quite happy to pay the original rate and didn’t need any of that)
We thank you again for a lovely stay and we plan to spend our wedding night at the Shangri-la cairns.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sezza01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Very nice hotel - with helpful staff. Rooms are comfortable and well equipped- maybe getting a little tired with old style TV's. Very good beds. Nice big fluffy towels - a good indicator for me. Generally friendly, helpful staff. This good hotel is let down by two things - the breakfast queue in the morning is one. Waits of 10 to 20 mins while staff scurry around filling out forms and taking guests to tables while others fume in the queue. Over a 6 day stay despite complaints no effort made to change systems to improve matters. Brings me to the second problem - which is subjective. The general manager seems incapable of properly fielding or dealing with complaints - his response to this issue when approached was apparent irritation and saying repeatedly "I know - I'm onto it"; but nothing changed. When the front of house manager was consulted, he was much more receptive. I felt very sorry for the restaurant staff who were faced with cranky guests every morning. This would not be difficult to fix - it just needs management commitment; this appears to be lacking.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Thank you to the author for the candid review and positive reference of our teams effort. It’s true we have had a couple of breakfast challenges this week primarily due to heavy rain curtailing many day trips resulting in later starts for some and our conference groups with delegates all arriving for breakfast at 0800.

Ordinarily we have a seamless breakfast service that starts at 0600 and runs through to 1030. We do appreciate that delays can be irritating and because of this we do our very best to alleviate these situations as best we can as quickly as we can. We can also assure readers that few guests have waited longer than ten minutes for a table to become available.

I personally cannot recall such an interaction but do graciously apologise that whatever was offered by myself or any of our management team was not met with this guests approval. It's just not how we do things.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary in Australia and stayed at the Shangri-la Sydney and Shangri-la Cairns Marina hotels, so we had two properties to compare. Although the Sydney Shangri-la is a built to order property, we really loved our time at the Shangri-la Cairns.

Let me say first that my wife and I, as an African-American couple, have traveled extensively and that we look for top-level service wherever we go. It’s important for me to share with fellow travelers that Australia is an increasingly diverse and tolerant nation, and that its well-paid work-force includes people of every nationality, race or culture. Twelve years ago when I visited Australia, that was not as visibly the case as it is today and I say Bravo! to the change.

The Shangri-la Cairns’ location can’t be beat: it is on the Cairns Esplanade near the Reef Fleet Terminal where the boats leave for the Great Barrier Reef and along which sea-planes and fishing boats bring passengers aboard. Shangri-la Cairns hotel rooms are all above a ground-level concourse lined with shops, coffee cafes and terrific restaurants. It’s also an easy walk from the hotel into “downtown Cairns.”

Our well-equipped and pleasant room overlooked the marina and faced the Great Barrier Divide Mountains across the harbor inlet—a wonderful place from which to watch the sun come up, tourists (many of them from other Australian cities) board vessels and to watch thousands of “fruit bats” fly off to feast on mangroves in the mountains. I say all of this to say that we had a fabulous time in Sydney and Carins. Special thanks to Guest Services Manager Losalini Menon, of Shangri-la-Sydney; and Rob Weedon, General Manager of the Shangri-la Cairns Marina. You made our anniversary vacation in Australia memorable and easy and we highly recommend both your properties to anyone visiting Australia! Lou and Sid S.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou_n_Sid_Simonj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night on the way back from Port Douglas to Adelaide as we had a very early flight to catch. When we arrived at the hotel my husband now understood why I was in such a hurry to check in! I had managed to get a great rate through the hotel and booked a Horizon Club room. We were led to our floor (not shown the elevator and told where to go) and introduced to the staff member who proceeded to check us in. We were just in time for canapes and pre dinner drinks which was excellent. A suggestion was made for dinner by the same staff member and he then booked it for us. While we were out he chilled a bottle of champagne we had and arranged to have it in an ice bucket for our return. We sat and chilled on the huge balcony after dinner with some nice cold champagne. Nothing was too mnuch bother...Can't wait to return for a few days the next time and its Horizon Club or nothing I'm afraid!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvtravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing