We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2007

We stayed in Shangri-La Cairns for a night before and after a liveboard trip to Great Barrier Reef. Hotel location and service were both excellent and breakfast was easily worth the money.

Only difference in basic and marina view rooms is really the view. Marina view is not enough to justify the price difference unless you plan on spending a lot of time in your balcony.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Vesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,589)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,285 - 2,291 of 2,589 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2007

This hotel is in a nice location, next to a boardwalk, where there are about 7 or 8 restaurants. It's also a short walk to other restaurants and shops in the "downtown" area of Cairns. The marina is right in the backyard.

The rooms are decent, although we had a problem when we first checked into our room. There was a musty smell in the room when we first checked into the room. We were moved to another room, where the smell was worse. Finally, we were moved to a third room, with no smell. All the moving around was an annoying inconvenience, but we quickly forgot about it.

The only other problem we had was with the in-room high-speed internet service. The problem? It didn't work during the entire three days we were there. To the hotel's credit, they did allow us to use the Internet connection in the hotel's business centre at no cost to compensate for the inconvenience.

The hotel's restaurant has a nice breakfast with indoor/outdoor seating overlooking the marina. The food was good and there was a nice selection of it. There's also a small fitness center in the hotel, with a few treadmills (one of them was broken), a few bikes, and some weight machines. Nothing fancy at all, but better than nothing. The tour office was very helpful and was able to answer all of our questions.

I would stay here again, but hopefully we won't have the same problems again.

Happy travels!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mrwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2007

The Shangri-La is well located on the seafront where the majority of boat trips depart from and is only a tiny walk from the centre of town. Surrounded by a boardwalk full of restaurants, it even has its own shopping mall. The hotel itself is minimalist but has maximum style and the beds were very comfortable with luxury matresses. Hotel staff were wonderfully helpful especially the tour concierge who takes no commission for bookings and was knowledgeable. The pool was also very nice with large jacuzzi, waterfall and free towels. I really recommend this hotel, it seemed like the nicest one in Cairns! It was worth every penny to stay here.

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank Fussypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2007

I stayed here for two nights in Dec 2006 and was booked into a Bayview Room. First night was great, peaceful and the view of the bay was great. I didn't realise it at the time but there is a difference between bayview rooms and marina rooms. The second night I came back to my room at 11pm and found out the room was pretty much right above a very loud bar that stays open until 2am - or as I was told by reception until the last guests leave. I managed to get shifted to a marina room at about midnight and had a good nights sleep. The marina room was great. If you book here and you like a quiet night don't book bayview. I've seen other hotels advertise rooms and honestly say that on certain nights there is a elavated noise level and I think this hotel should do the same for (some) bayview rooms. Reception agreed it was a noisy room when I checked out - "the music is absorbed in the rooms". Apart from that no problems but that was enough. The pool closes at 8pm which seemed a little early though.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WATravellerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank MysticMong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank traveller365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lizzydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
601 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $153 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing