We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Relaxing In Cairns” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Forbes, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing In Cairns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We loved our stay in this Hotel. Staff were excellent. Our room was spacious and overlooking Marina. View from room was great We enjoyed our breakfasts lovely to eat near water watching waterfront activity. Hotel does need some TLC in some areas We were a little disappointed on one day when returning to our rooms after 4-30 pm that our rooms had not been serviced. Hotel was very central to Cairns shops and Restaurants. Great to walk each night to a selection of eating places. We will stay here again if in Cairns.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Marina have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Dorothy W,

Thank you for your review and great comments. My apologies for the delay in getting your room serviced. I have spoken to my Housekeeper about your comments, and she is taking the necessary action.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    768
    310
    108
    64
See reviews for
402
1,149
129
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traralgon, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Excellent staff, spacious rooms and service from staff in the hotel was always friendly and polite. Highly recommended and close to everything in central Cairns. Five star hotel with 5 star treatment.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank dan00092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

The hotel was nice although in need of a little TLC. What struck me most was the lack of Shangri La WOW I have come to expect of this brand. The potential is there but needs an update. The club lounge was very poor and reflected the general lack of that was radiating from all areas of my stay and experience. The location was good and room service food was hot and nice. The bathroom was the best feature of the room but the floor tiles are absolutely terribly and bring the whole room down to a very drab style. I will stay again if they refurb otherwise I might try elsewhere next time and that is disappointing as a Golden Circle Member. Staff were friendly and very obliging. The Limo organised through the hotel was on time and the driver courteous and friendly.

Room Tip: My room had a balcony with a sea view which was great for fresh air and enjoying the great Cairns we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCHManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear DCHManager,

Thank you for your comments, and I am concerned to hear that we didnt meet your expections.

If you had the time could you contact me with further information regarding the Club lounge - I would be interested to hear your feedback. nic.odonnell@shangri-la.com..........thanks.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

As we walked in the hotel and they realize that in the reservation we asked for a king bed, we are golden circle member, they move us to the horizon club, beautiful room with a big balcony and great view of the marina.
Thank to the manager, Katherine, she made every effort to organize the trip to green island for us.
Everything was perfect.

Room Tip: room 31 with a view of the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silvia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had a satisfactory stay at this hotel. Our room assignment was just perfect with the marina view. Staff were friendly and attentive to our needs, courteous as well. Breakfast and afternoon tea at the Horizon club lounge were both very good. Location is close to everything, especially if you book for Reef tour as the terminal is a 2-3 minute walk from the hotel. No need to rush for the pick up. Shops are also accessible for short walks, airport transport are also easy to arrange, no need to book for taxi as the concierge staff can call a cab on the hour you need one. Can't ask for more, I think this is our perfect stay so far..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Espie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Returning after an absence of a few years, the welcome was still warm and the food still great (treat yourself to a full room-service breakfast!). The property hasn't had any upgrade or refurb and it is looking tired and in need of some care - worn carpets, chipped furniture, etc.

BUT knowing this I came back and I'll go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side overlook the helipad and can get very noisy very quickly - but I think it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weary_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Weary_Warrior,

Many thanks for your review and comments. We have already completed a soft renovation of the Horizon Club rooms, and will be doing likewise with the remainder of the rooms gradually over the coming months. By your next visit it should be all done.

Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Second time at hotel in 12mths, stayed in a suite in the tower, great views and clean. It was unseasonably cold that week and only problem was the heating did not work in our room which could not be fixed whilst we were there (don't usually need heating in Cairns). The staff were all friendly and helpful, room service delicious. Used the club services which was also well worth the money. Would stay here again as they have proven twice that in in extreme busy times their service is fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayer40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Holidayer40,

Thank you for your review, and great comments relating to the staff and rooms service. You are correct - we have had some cooler weather recently (which is not too bad for the locals in Cairns). Great to see you also enjoyed the Club Lounge services.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
4.0 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing