We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super-helpful friendly staff and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
152 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Super-helpful friendly staff and great location”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is in a great location at the marina. Spoilt for choice of restaurants. The staff on reception are very friendly and helpful. The room was functional - even though the room was on the street side there was a nice view from the balcony of the mountains and a bit of the water, comfortable bed and big bathroom. The body lotion and gel smell divine. Some areas could do with a pick-me-up - some loose pavers around the pool and some areas smelt a bit musty. The room however was extremely clean and well-maintained.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheetahgirlBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    822
    334
    118
    70
See reviews for
442
1,250
136
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel is very tired and run down except for the very modern and bright “Horizon Club” rooms.
The hotel is in need of a major refurbishment, and the furniture in the rooms requires updating and modernising. The bathroom in the suite we stayed in had a very dangerous high and deep bath, with the shower over it.
It was extremely difficult and dangerous for elderly people to step into or out of, and there was a distinct possibility that a person could slip and be hurt. The lack of any grab rail or step also accentuated the risk of a fall. This bathroom would fail a modern day safety audit due to above features.
The selection evening Canapé’s that were served in the Horizon Club were not as good as last year. They seemed to mainly dependent on steamed or deep fried Chinese/Asian style factory mass-produced products.
The one redeeming factor was the friendly and helpful staff.
Room not made up until approx. 4:00 pm every day (4 days) - not a very good advert for any hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

What an amazing location and we were upgraded to a marina view room which was very much appreciated. The room was well equipped except for lighting. But I have to confess, the over whelming odor of mold as soon as we entered the room made we wonder if we could actually sleep in the room. We turned on the ceiling fans and opened the sliding door to the balcony to try to air it out. It did get better, but never did go away. It hit us every time we entered the room.

There was nothing wrong with the hotel but there was a lot missing. There was no children's menu and nowhere that was kid friendly to eat except out by the pool. You were not allowed to eat by the pool directly but in a poky area in between the bar and the bathroom...not too nice. The lobby was a huge cement square - very open and empty. There was a sofa in the room but very low and no light over in that part of the room so it was unusable except in day when we were not in the room. The restaurant on site was used for private parties each night so we didn't feel welcome and then there was nothing for children to eat. The distance from the lobby elevator to our room was long and around many bends as the hotel is a triangle and there is one bank of elevators.

The pool was fantastic although loud which is not a problem that the hotel can help. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. There are many restaurants within easy walking distance and you can walk to the shops and other attractions in Cairns in a matter of minutes. We could have sat on the balcony for hours and watched the clouds and boats. Fantastic!

All in all, nice hotel but I expected more from a Shangri-La. The view and location saves this hotel. I am not sure I would spend the money to stay in another Shangri-La property.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2plus2-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We live in Cairns but when we want to get away without driving miles of waiting at airports we stay in our fav room at the Shangri La. Cairns Esplanade is so beautiful just outside the door, food and gelato choices galore. The hairdresser downstairs is amazing and the restaurants at the Pier are from cool pub to fabulous French/Japanese fusion.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winterystorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The view from rooms are breathtaking especially facing the ocean. The rooms are nicely appointed. The staff are nice enough but are as relaxed as this city.
The retail and restaurant choices are not extensive as it is run down. Conference facilities and the renovation look good but staff need a bit more spark. Breakfast was very ordinary and invited you to leave the hotel to eat something else. Food was above average in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank DrTravelBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We wanted a hotel near the wharf for our reef trip - this was RIGHT THERE....so we could come back to a nice room after a hard day on the reef. The hotel is large and clean - would stay again. The pool was small but very nice to have that last bit of autumn sun before flying off again.

Room Tip: Take a water view room - always a good bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyCat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

they told me no Club room available. But I can order on Shangri-la website. After I complain to Golden Circle, they give me a wheelchair accessible room. It's my first experience for thounsands stay in hotels. I think they insult me. Even I talk with their front office manager, I'm not satisfied with their hotel, I want to change another hotel. He told me it's up to you. The exclusive hotel doesn't say sorry and tell guest to up to you.

Room Tip: Exclusive wheelchair accessible room experience. No bath tub for Shangri-la Club room. Only shower c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Zhenghong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing