We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location needs some upgrading”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Very well located on the Cairns Marina rooms overlooking that side have a great view. This hotel gives mixed feelings : great location, lobby not very attractive, poor shopping mall almost in the lobby, magnifient sweaming pool, bath room eUioment in need for upgrading...well that could be superb ! Anyhow good servicd, nice rooms make the stay a good one if not excellent.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,442 - 1,448 of 2,658 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

The hotel has a great location overlooking the Marina but is also v close to the main shops bars and restaurants in town.
We upgraded our room to Horizon club and found this good value as you got breakfast, afternoon teas and a free bar with hot snacks every evening between 5-7 o'clock.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Horizon Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank harryf007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Excellent hotel. Good service and friendly staff. Location is very good as well. Good food in the vicinity. Easy access to everywhere. Highly recommended for families. Room is huge and comfortable. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Lim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Staff at the Hotel are absolutely fabulous, they make you feel very welcome with their warm and friendly personalities. Great room, beautiful breakfast. This is just part of the reason why I stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hotel does need refurbishing as some areas / rooms are looking tired. This became secondary as from start to finish all the staff were excellent but a special mention to the concierge guys who were great. This review takes in two stays of 4 days then single night after being on boat trip. Bags stored and moved around as required, both rooms had harbour / sea views with balconies. As indicated both need updating to be the same level as other hotels in the group but no complaints on cleanliness and quality of beds, bedding and towels.
In simple terms very enjoyable stress free stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Nicely appointed rooms.
Beds (2 queen sized) were comfortable.
Front desk staff were polite and courteous. We were asked if we'd like to do a marina view upgrade for an additional $20/day, so we agreed and it was well worth it.
The valet parking for $15/day was a better deal than doing self-park, however, on the day we were leaving, we noticed the drivers side door handle had paint knicked off, and we know with all certainty that we did not do it. We brought it to the attention of the Manager on duty, who looked at the knick, photographed it, and said he'd investigate it. But, on our valet claim ticket, it apparently clearly states that any incident that occurs in the public parking garage is not the hotel's responsibility. With that, I thought it quite useless for the Manager to look into the matter at all, but I appreciated his immediate attention. During our stay, unbeknownst to me, my husband found a huge cockroach by the mini-fridge area. A leg was left in that area, which I discovered later and taped to a piece of paper. As an apologetic gesture, the front desk credited our account the 2 days of valet parking. The toilet in our room kept running water. Lastly, don't order room service. The food was atrocious.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bacmajag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in room 2069, deluxe marina room. Stunning views even when it rained one day!
All you could see was the Maina with beautiful mountains and the ocean! Very relaxing!

The only problem with the room was the shower door did not latch and was rusted and bent and their was a stain on the carpet. When the cleaners came to clean the room, they made the bed and folded some towels. The didnt clean our table, or our bench. They managed to replace our soaps, which were only used once - but not our Shampoo Conditioner or Bath Gel (which we used all in one night as their was both of us using the small bottles).

As soon as we checked in the customer service was fantastic, they were very helpful with all our questions.

One night we had dinner at the Hotels Restaurant "North". It was a great layout. But for the price the meals were a bit small. My partner had the Pork which was to small for him and I had the Barrimundi, which had no taste. my Barrimundi was a good handful size with two potatoes and 5 cherry tomatoes covered in blended spring onions. Not even the potatoes had taste. Now this should of been priced at $20-25 not $32, especially with no taste, expect for the onions!? Would not recommend the North restaurant.

On the other hand The breakfast buffet was gorgeous! All your Breakfast needs and such a beautiful layout! The customer service was amazing! (We were served both times by a Man with an English accent not sure of his name - but please note that he had fantastic customer service skills and is very efficient at his job)

The front desk staff were wonderful and very helpful! Will stay again without a doubt!!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kahhboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
4.1 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $137 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing