We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but ....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good, but ....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2008

I think there are 2 sides to this hotel which might explain the variety of comments. We got a good deal through Wotif ($135)so for what we paid it was very fair but we were in the "superior" rooms and whilst the room has been renovated this is cosmetic and our bathroom really did need some work and is in need of modernising. I didn't see the Horizon rooms but there does seem to be a big difference between these which have been completley renovated and our rooms. I accept there is also a huge price difference so I guess you get what you pay for. Reception is impressive, location is very good, staff were helpful and pleasant, pool area very nice and relaxing just consider that if you book a a superior room it may not be quite what you are expecting

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The bathrooms !
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AucklandShelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,095
    816
    329
    118
    69
See reviews for
436
1,234
135
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Young, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

We have just returned from a stay at the Shangri La Marina - the first was just one night as part of a group in a Standard Room overlooking the Car Park - not very inspiring. However, the meals we had in the restaurant were excellent.
We returned for three nights ten days later and stayed in a Horizon Club Room overlooking the Marina which was far better.
The room was very comfortable and we loved our balcony with a birdseye view of the comings and goings in the Marina.
Again the meals were excellent as was the Horizon Club - our only gripe was that the room was not serviced till late afternoon which we found very annoying. Otherwise we found everything about the hotel to be of a high standard.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Vilavisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilgandra, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2008

location and service was excellent, stayed at Horizon club, worth extra cost with free breakfast , drinks and canopes each evening for 2 hours. Its a great place to meet fellow travellers, definetly recommend to anyone

  • Liked — locatio
  • Disliked — no top sheet on bed only doona , sometimes too hot
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2008

We stayed here for 5 nights as part of a conference recently. Upon arrival we were advised our room was not ready. We were a bit upset as even though it was just prior to official check in time, they could not answer when the room would be ready and also everyone else who was turning up was getting there room. When we were speaking to the manager about this I saw in the background the receptionist we had been dealing with shaking her head at us and smirking at what was going on. We were not impressed. Also they had the incorrect check out date and even though we changed at check in, our key failed to work on the day before we left and it was due to them having an incorrect check out date still in the system.

The rooms seem to have been recently refurbished and were pleasant enough. We stayed at the Hilton in Cairns about 4 months prior and I would say the rooms here were better. The beds were comfortable and there was a nice lounge and deck to sit on. The bathroom was spacious however a corner bath I think personally is not that great. Also the pressure in our shower was terrible and also it was hard to get a hot shower. I know it is in the tropics but in an air con room I still feel like a good hot shower. The other aspect to our room was that it was a fair hike from reception to it and we weren't the furtherest room. This excabated the key not working issue.

I did not go in the pool but did sit by it for a few hours. It is a bit of a concrete jungle. Friends with small children went to the esplanade pool next door cause they felt it was better. Also friends had problems with the pool bar with food taking 45 minutes to arrive and then random food coming round for their room which they did not order. The gym at the hotel is not operating but it did provide access to the gym in the complex next door which was very good. There are some good restaurants on the marina near the hotel and it takes about 5 minutes to walk into town.

All in all not a five star experience and more a hotel for a stopover of one to two nights. I would go back to the Hilton because I liked the staff more or try the Sebel which people who were staying at seemed very happy with.

  • Liked — The great restaurants next door
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squirrelone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2008

We stayed at the Shangri La for two nights after a flight from Darwin. We were unfortunate to land in the worst rain Cairns has seen for 117 years!

On arrival we thought the hotel was in a great position and looked fine but on entering the enormous minimalist reception area we were dissapointed. The reception desk was dwarfed by the size of the place and the air-conditioning was turned so high that it was bitterly and unwelcomely cold. The staff agreed with us on this but seemed unable to anything about it!

Check in was perfect, we had a Club suite so had our own smaller reception area. We were also shown the Club lounge/breakfast/snack room. Like the rest of the hotel this was spacious and minimalist and reasonably comfortable. We were dissappointed to learn that the usual free two hours of cocktail drinks that you get in most Club lounges was restricted to only wine and beer. We like a pre-dinner G&T or Campari and Soda and this was not available.

We were delighted with our room, which was spacious and comfortable with a large bed, a lounge and very large enclosed/roofed balcony ovelooking the harbour. The furniture on the balcony looked nice but was not comfortable and considering it was raining for most of our stay we would have appreciated comfortable loungers here. There was internet access in the room but it was not free and was quite expensive if you simply want to send a few emails!

Later we went to find the restaurant and again were dissappointed as it felt as though it was not part of the hotel but simply another of the boardwalk restaurants. We did eat there once and the food was good but not special. The following night we ate at one of the other boardwalk options and had a fabulous meal.

We were also dissapointed with the bar which had unusual seating, either perched on a high chair or in a large sofa almost outside the hotel (or so it felt). We did not bother to have a drink here as like the rest of the public areas it was very cold.

We did have a small window of good weather and we tried the pool. This is in the centre of the hotel and semi rooftop. It was excellent.

The litmus test, would we stay here again? Maybe, but I will have a good look at other hotels in Cairns first.

  • Liked — Comfort, space and room
  • Disliked — Cold public areas, too minimalist
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2008

Booked for 2 nights here thru wotif and got a great deal on one of the more deluxe style rooms. Really comfortable modern rooms with a lovely harbour view.
Free car parking and fantastic restaurants onsite. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly- this quality of customer service is very rare.
Great location to the terminal that departs for the reef. Less than a minute walk away.
Would thoroughly recommend this place, tho try to book thru a discount site as the rackrack is really high.
Deserves the fantastic reputation that it has.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nissabellaCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigeria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2008

I had checked the hotel website for rooms but the rates were extremely high, i went through hotels.com and got a much more reasonable deal, infact it was hard to believe i had to double chekc to make sure it was the same hotel, having got there, the hotel is in a nice location and also very well maintained, the location is top, all the reef tours leave right across the hotel so you are free to take your pic as to which want you want to go with and ofcourse there is a very friendly tour desk which also help with all tours, although we found other places around the hotel offering better rates on some of the activities... Overall it was a very good experience, the room was spacious as well as the bathroom, we were close to the pool, i did notice some ants around but i guess you can't not expect that in such a tropical place, we even had a small balcony with a table outside, everytthing we needed was just a short walk away, the casino, the shops, restaurants etc although i was quite happy with the restauirants connected to the hotel especially the italian one and also the hotel restaurant which served very nice steak....

Overall a very good and comfortable experience, would highly reccommend to anyone although make sure you cross check your rates....!

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 9jatravellah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing