We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great deal”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

It was a great deal for two night stay for work. Great location in Cairns. I had a garden room which was massive, but had a damp smell to it when you entered but it didn't effect my stay. Walking distance to to pretty much everything in Cairns.

Room Tip: The marina side for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Adam M,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and it is great to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again very soon when you head north!

Nic O’Donnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,116
    830
    338
    119
    70
See reviews for
444
1,260
136
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have now stayed at Shangri-La Hotel 5 times and always come away relaxed, well fed and impressed with the service.

Our latest stay was for 6 nights and we chose to splurge and get a one bedroom corner suite in the north tower, room 4004. As people have said it is a fair walk down long corridors and then a separate lift to the 4th floor. However we avoided this by going through the pool area rather than using the corridors.

The suite overlooked the beautiful Marina and Trinity Bay, sweeping balconies, comfortable outdoor seating, lovely bed and clean - we watched the sun come up over the hills each morning and the boats get ready for the day on the Marina. We must admit the room is starting to look a little tried and needs updating - it would not take much work and this would be 5 star quality one again. Usual cosmetic things like scuff marks, chipped paint, worn furniture and older style bathroom. These imperfections did not concern us however it may leave some disappointed.

We took advantage of the Horizon Club having well prepared breakfasts there every morning and evening drinks between 5pm-7pm - several scotch and dry drinks before we went out for dinner in Cairns. Rianna from Shangri-La was a fantastic host and was always more than too pleased to help with a smile.

The pool area is great, fresh towels supplied and the bar food excellent - we spent quite a few days relaxing around the pool. We also used the gym every morning downstairs in the Pier Shopping Centre, no charge for Shangri-La guests.

Overall we would still highly recommend this over all other hotels in Cairns, however be prepared that things are not quite as bright, new and shiny compared to the big city 5 star hotels. However the location, service and price quickly remind you why it is still a must stay when staying in Cairns.

Room Tip: Always choose a Horizon club room facing the Marina - these are modern, spacious and have exceptiona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Dale B,

I would like to thank you for taking the opportunity to write such wonderful feedback of your experience with our hotel and our colleagues. In particular to see Rianna mentioned is great, and it is no surprise to me that she was able to leave a lasting impression on you with her service. It will give me great pride and pleasure to be able to take this feedback and share it with Rianna and the entire team.

We hope that you will find your way back to Cairns for another visit and we will look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La whenever that may be…

Nic O’Donnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Fabulous Hotel for Cairns - my husband and I had a room which overlooked the marina and was very clean and comfortable. There was fresh fruit in the room and complementary bottled water every day. The h'ordeves and complemenary drinks between 5 and 7 were a great addition to our package. The breakfast choice was also 5* . Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina - they are the more modern rooms which come at a supplement bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGetterGolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Gregson19,

We are absolutely delighted that you had a most enjoyable experience during your stay with us and look forward to the next opportunity we have to welcome you back to Shangri-La…

Nic O’Donnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohuna, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My Partner & I stayed here for 2 nights. Our room was very well presented and over looked the marina. Check in was easy and great service. Valet parking is always great. Fresh fruit in room on arrival and welcome letter in room. 2 flat screen TV's. Comfortable King size bed. Free WIFI was also offered and was easy to setup and good speed/coverage. Location is fantastic, great restaurants along the waters edge. Definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradandmatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Bradandmatty,

Many thanks indeed for your great review. I am delighted to know you both had a most enjoyable stay and made the most of the complimentary wi-fi! We hope to see you again very soon…

Nic O’Donnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

All of these reviewers with high marks must have been upgraded to the club level rooms or something because our stay was incredibly disappointing. We chose this hotel because it was one of the few 5* properties in Cairns and ultimately because it was a Shangri-La. Shameful to even think it carries the Shangri-La name.

Check-in was fine and the front desk was friendly enough. Lobby is nicely decorated. However the hotel we walked through is very sad looking. We were on one of the lower levels with a view of the pool. The hallways were dreary and our room was pretty pathetic. Décor was basically absent, the furniture and walls were covered with scuffs and stains, and the bathroom was the worst we have ever experienced in any hotel! It was odd shaped and there was black gunk surrounding the tub and shower. The colors were not a pleasant sight and everything just look aged and used and abused.

Worst of all was the housekeeping service. They literally would half-make our bed. The end corners wouldn’t be tucked in and the pillows weren’t neatly placed - like they just tossed them on there. We found tissues underneath the desk that they must have left behind. It was bad. I’ve said this before, but when the room isn’t nice and luxurious, housekeeping won’t treat it like it is. This still stands as the worst experience we’ve had a hotel. And to think we were excited to be staying at a Shangri-La. Btw, we stay at only 4*+ hotels when we travel.

It’s hard to believe that this is classified as a 5* property. If they want to be honest, they should claim that their club level rooms are 5* and their regular rooms are 2* because we feel like we were cheated. We stayed here exactly a year ago and thinking about it still gets me riled up. Location was decent though, and that’s about it. Classic case of bait and switch.

Room Tip: Just go ahead and upgrade, you'll be miserable without it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Huy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Rosemary T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us back in October last year. It is evident from your comments that we failed to meet your expectations which is very disappointing. Our team are continuously working hard to improve guest satisfaction and are doing a great job, as is evident from our recent reviews.

I would very much welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience in more detail and as such, invite you to contact me direct via email – nic.odonnell@shangri-la.com.

Nic O’Donnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The room was huge with a queen size bed & another single bed -more than adequate for my wife & myself. The complimentary wi-fi was fast. Like other Shangri-La's, they provide bedroom slippers & tooth brush,but you have to ask for them. Being a Golden Circle member,the fruit platter was a nice gesture - maybe the hotel will consider complimentary breakfast too. I think you should allow the guest to take the towels from the room when they go to the reef instead of renting it out.
Location-wise, the hotel is directly opposite the Reef Fleet Terminal,where all the cairns reef tour operators are based. Even if you haven't booked a tour beforehand, you can just go the terminal & buy a tour. If you go straight down the road, you will reach the shopping centre - not much there.Better to turn right & go to the esplanade - lots of restaurants,pubs. The night market has a Chinese flavour to it - cheap food,shops,massage.

Room Tip: The corridors are very long. Get a room nearer the lifts. Rooms with a view of the marina costs $20...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yew Kay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Yew Kay Y,

Thank you indeed for your lovely review and I am delighted to read your wife and yourself had an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you back again should you find yourself headed to our beautiful region once more…

Nic O’Donnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights. Our room was very well presented and had a great courtyard. Excellent big screen and lots of in house movies. Good wifi in all area's and excellent shopping in the complex itself. Some fantastic restaurants and bars also as part of the Pier area which meant you can get to them quickly and without getting wet if it is raining, which it did a bit of. Highly recommend to travellers looking for quality and style. Would stay again anytime.

Room Tip: Rooms between 1020 and 1050 are nice and quiet along way from the main enterance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Richard A,

Thank you indeed for the terrific review and for the lovely words. We are pleased that we exceeded expectations and assisted in making your holiday both enjoyable and comfortable.

Nic O’Donnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing