We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location, Great Staff, Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Great Staff, Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a holiday with seven friends. We are all friends from Sydney who have worked together in the past, have families and went away for a fishing trip to escape the daily grind. We had an absolutely brilliant stay and cannot praise the hotel and staff enough. Karin on the tour desk was outstanding and arranged a brilliant fishing trip for us which we boarded at the rear of the hotel within a five minute walk. There are a number of great restaurants adjacent to the hotel on the pier including Dundee's which was worth the visit.

The guys all agreed that one of the highlights of the trip was the seafood dinner prepared for us by the team from the Shangri-La hotel restaurant. Damian the Manager and Aaron the head chef couldn't do enough for us. For a small fee they prepared four magnificent seafood dishes for us using the catch we brought back from the trip that day. We ate the freshest and most outstanding seafood meal, overlooking the water and agreed that the occasion would be remembered for a very long time. Aaron the head chef even took the time to explain how the fish was cooked and how to do it ourselves. We will remember this trip for a long time and the team at the Shangri-La are to be congratulated.

I should also mention that the accommodation package was very reasonable and the ocean views outstanding. We will definitely be back again and the guys are all keen to bring their young families for a visit during the school holidays. And if you are planning a fishing trip I urge you to contact the tour desk and speak to Karin and get her to arrange the trip and the dinner for you with the kitchen in advance.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Captain_Shack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    803
    322
    112
    68
See reviews for
426
1,209
134
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was my 3rd stay at Shangri-La Cairns. We stayed in the Horizon Club Marina View Room on two separate nights. Both rooms had excellent views, they were spacious with a separate bedroom/ lounge area & a long balcony.
On our first stay we arrived late at 11pm & found the toilet wouldn't flush (not nice after a long flight!) we didn't complain because we were only staying the one night but mentioned it on check out. Apart from this everything was excellent.
On our second stay our room wasn't ready till 2pm on the dot (which is the guaranteed checkin time- we had arrived half an hour early). We needed to put our toddler to bed & they said that the baby cot would be ready when we went up to our room. It wasn't there so we called reception & they assured us it would come straight away, 15 minutes later (& thats a long time with a whinging toddler) we called again & it arrived 5 minutes after that.
We had breakfast included in our rate- they have a good nespresso machine so the coffee is great!
Valet parking is very convenient & not overly expensive. The concierge's were excellent.
The location is excellent with bars & restaurants just outside, the esplanade water area a short walk & shopping areas close by too.
We would stay here again- the views, location & comfort are a perfect way to start & end your holiday in Cairns.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tlussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We just finished an 8 night stay here in a superior ocean view room.

I'd say that this was a very good 4 star but not really 5 star standard just because the room was nice (good size, clean) but nothing special (two singles pushed together with a king mattress over the top so not the most comfy and some issues with the water pipes causing a few sleeping issues due to the noise) .

The staff however were extremely friendly and very attentive and the location was spot on - views out over the ocean and main marina and quick access out of Cairns to all the nearby attractions. Also some nice restaurants literally a few feet away on the boardwalk .

Room service for dinner was really good value and pretty tasty but the brekky was overpriced ($45 per person) but it was very nice to have this on our balcony overlooking the marina.

Car valet service was good value and the staff were lovely.

I would stay again but not at full price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasmine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broulee, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just fantastic, leaving a bag of $100 dollar notes for me is the only improvement I can see that would have made the stay more enjoyable.. Great service , great staff service, amenities great.
First rate in all areas and I will return for sure.


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Rayvest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

very clean hotel with efficient and friendly staff
the size of the room was sufficient and the balcony overlooking the marina had a terrific view of both the marina and the sea
breakfast was good value
recommend it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank lofty6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

What at stay at the Shangri-La. Everyone at this Hotel was attentive, and just so willing to help. The service was excellent and I would rate this my number one hotel experience. Rooms where spacious, well appointed, clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: Doona is actually wrapped in too sheets, so after two days of finding the doona too hot, we discover...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Shane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

From the minute we stepped out of the taxi into the foyer we felt right at home at the Shangri-La.
Our flight arrived early and we at reception just after 9am. Fiona in reception said seeing as you room is not ready why don't you have a complimentary breakfast on us and I will call you when it is ready. We went up to the Horizon Club and had our breakfast and then went for a walk. Fiona rang us about an hour later. If you can afford the extra money the Horizon Club is the way to go. Full cooked breakfast and complimentary drinks and nibbles from 5pm - 7pm including spirits and access to quality coffee and fruit juices throughout the day.

We had a lovely loom overlooking the marina. Yes bathroom area is a little dated but establishment is in for a full refurbish next year and the rooms are clean and tidy, beds are comfortable and they have every amenity.

The location is perfect. A couple of minute stroll to uptown restaurants on the Marina are at your door as are boats doing cruises and fishing trips.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Shangri La in Cairn and would most definitely stay here again when we visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noddy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
4.0 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing