We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shangri la -modern comfort , fantastic position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shangri la -modern comfort , fantastic position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed for three nights early June and had a great experience.
On arrival, having been to a lot of Asian hotels we thought the styling was a little austere. But, we fell in love. This hotel is in a great position for taking a stroll, the markets etc. We had an Horizon club room overlooking the Marina and as we are both early risers sitting on "the dock of the bay watching the sun coming up" (not down) was very special. The room was very pleasant , recently refurbished and with lots of room and the bathroom was terrific. A motorized blind could be placed over the glass wall between bedroom and bathroom but opened for an airy light filled feeling during the day. The staff were very attentive if something was needed. The view from our room (Horizon club over the Marina,)was a joy.When sitting on the patio, there was some ambient noise . We enjoyed this and it enticed us to go down to the bar and have a drink and get amongst it . If you love total quiet once the sliding glass doors were closed , total silence.
We were close to many restaurants -The Salt House is a Must go , North was great and if you enjoy a steak ,not my thing, but my partner loved it, the Watergrill and Bar - they also have seafood, fish and pasta amongst other stuff which looked delicious coming out, but it is all about the steaks, ribs (Wow) and great atmosphere.
The hotel was in a good. position. It is only a short stroll into the heart of he "CBD ", along the boardwalk and some many dining choices right there.

What could be improved on? The corridors are very long, OK that's a given, got
over that. However, we read on the net that we would be welcomed and checked in at the club lounge and for this to happen would have been good. It did not happen, and we had some trouble working out light switches etc.
Also breakfast is included in the price of a club room , however, and this is the fist time I have come across it , there is a surcharge of $10.00 if you want to have breakfast in the main restaurant, "North." as opposed to the club. I have never experienced this before, it has always been the customers choice where they choose to have breakfast given that it is already paid for, and I thought it was a little "cheap" of a hotel with the brand name Shangri La.
The pool was very nice but cold!! but I think the time of year may have had some thing to do with that. I hope they have more umbrellas available when warmer, only one,available.! I would recommend this hotel. I did not look at any other rooms but the refurbished Horizan club room was certainly up to standard as was the general amenity of he public spaces and the positive, helpful and caring attitude of the staff( They are an absolute credit to you)
On the net our room showed the patio with cushions on he wooden benches. They were not supplied and we moved the couch cushions outside because it was all about the view over the marina. If it is shown on the net then it should be there!
Would I go again? Definitely!

Room Tip: Horizon recently refurbished and great view over the Marina.Also lots of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,095
    816
    329
    118
    69
See reviews for
436
1,234
135
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed in a Horizon Club suite for both business and leisure. Check-in was slow and the room wasn't ready. I appreciated the waiting area, however. It was a relief to be able to sit after a lot of travel. The staff was helpful and friendly. I loved the large windows and glass shower, but was a bit disappointed the room didn't have a sound system aside from the television and had no outlet for an mp3 player or iphone, ipod, etc.. The stores below were convenient. I rather enjoyed the labyrinthine halls and simple decor, but the cleaning staff was awful! I quickly learned they didn't always make the bed, didn't pick up and didn't always empty the garbage. More than once, I had to call them or find someone to bring fresh towels, etc.. For doing work, the Internet was sometimes iffy, though the music from the restaurant below didn't come through much. I might recommend it to families with kids, but you might wish to bring towels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJ665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Mission Beach, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is in a lovely location, easy to walk places around the city, comfortable and spacious rooms. We had a standard room with view to the city, which was very pleasant. Lots of facilities, shops and eateries in this complex. We stay in Cairns quite often and never new about the choice of restaurants at this location.

Room Tip: All the rooms have balconies with views, so it depends whether you want a sea view, which is more ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Sonia B,

Thank you for your lovely review and so pleased to know you had a most enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are up in Cairns.

Nic O’Donnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have stayed at the Shangrila La Cairns twice now, and both times enjoyed the stay. The decor was in need of bringing into the 2013's but was tidy and relatively presentable. Rooms were very comfortable, one stay was on the city side, and another stay in a garden room. Swimming pools were lovely and very enjoyable. My only concerns were that the corridors within the hotel were very long and confusing to find your room, some signage would have been very helpful, and the service at the pool bar was well below par for a 'top end' hotel, and easy to rectify. Apart from that the location was great with access directly to the restaurants on the boardwalk, and and easy few minutes walk into the shopping areas. Reception service was professional, but perhaps a little too much so as some personal acumen would have given a 10/10. All good otherwise and would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosa026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Rosa026,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay with us back in November.

I appreciate your feedback on the signage throughout the hotel and we will certainly look into what we can do to make it easier for guests to navigate around the property. I have also spoken to our Food & Beverage Manager regarding the service at the Pool bar and the next time you visit you should see some improvements in the service.

We do look forward to the next opportunity we have to welcome you back the next time you are visiting Cairns.

Nic O’Donnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was my first destination in a week and a half stay in northern QLD. On arrival to Shangri-La i was greeted by friendly staff who struck up conversation. I was in a room big enough for myself and probably three more people, thanks to an upgrade deal offered! Had a lovely view over the esplanade and sea view. The room was well presented and housecleaning maintained a fantastic standard including turn down service!
Had the privilege to meet more friendly staff, happy to assist how they could while serving complimentary drinks and canapes or the morning buffet breakfast. On leaving was very impressed how professional the staff were, service with a smile!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kath_t86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear kath_t86,

We are absolutely delighted that you had such a memorable experience with us as the start to your Tropical North Queensland holiday. I want to thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with your fellow travellers and for also allowing me the opportunity to share more great feedback with the dedicated team we are so lucky to have.

I hope that your travels will bring you back to Cairns and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever that may be...

Nic O’Donnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Cook, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed for 8 nights in a marina view suite. I found the staff to be very warm and great hosts. Felt right at home. Loved the little things, like turn down service for the bed, bed slippers, news paper each morning. I took the horizon club offer and enjoyed the evening drinks and canapes with the other guests. I found the breakfasts the same choices each day, so after a few days was a bit boring in choices.
The room was great and the extra for the view was worth it. What stood out for me was the staff, they were absoluteley fantastic, from managers right through to the cleaners, loved them all.
Will definateley return for another stay. Cost wise was abit pricey, but definateley got the royal treatment and made me feel very special.

Room Tip: The Rooms facing the marina have amazing views, my favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Frank M,

I am delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable 8 night stay with us. Thank you indeed for your lovely endorsement of our Horizon Club Rooms - they are definitely worth the little bit extra.

Thank you also for your feedback regarding the breakfast selections. I have spoken to our Executive Chef who is looking into the current breakfast offerings to ensure there sufficient variety from day to day. This is certainly something that will be appreciated by all of our guests, especially those on longer stays.

We look forward to welcoming you back again when you next find yourself visiting the Tropical North.

Nic O’Donnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed 3 nights on a business trip. This is not a usual Shangri-La Hotel , which i have stayed in many in Asia, it was a Radisson and then sold off to Shangri-La so the style is totally NON Shangri-la..... hence why charge Shangri-la prices??? Since USD is now on a par with AUD so i paid about AUD 180 / night and breakfast which i did not take is another AUD 30 each, so overall it is a lot to pay for Cairns. Partly due to the very overvalued AUD, which i have ingrained in my mind as worth about USD 60 cents, so definitely AUD is hugely overvalued.

Have to day the lobby and rooms are good conditions but worn due to age and design is outdated. As said this is built as a resort not a business hotel and also not a Shangri-la so it shows. It maybe better for this to be changed to another brand, perhaps Shangri-la resort or something...

The personnel are very friendly and service in general are very good. The room hardware are old fashioned including the phone, and the elevator going to your floor and then a long walk to outside and then inside again, is kind of a strange design.

i may want to try a more business friendly hotel for my next trip, i think Cairns is too much a vacation town and it will have to get used to "how to be business friendly" someday

Room Tip: strange design so elevator takes you to the floor and then you go through automatic swinging door to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Youngleungtung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurpreet G, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Youngleungtung,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent trip to Cairns.

We are disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations and do hope we have the opportunity to restore your confidence in Shangri-La the next time you find yourself visiting Cairns.

Gurpreet Gulati
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing