We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A True Gem !!!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I travelled with my wife to my first ever :Shangri la: experience at cairns this summer from the 16th of December 2012 for 3 nights.We travelled through some nice australian destinations to reach here.
If cairns is the crown of Australia then i bet Shangrila certainly has to be the jewel in it.
I will have to find suitable adjectives to describe my experience , if i fail to express it - then probably there ain't many available in the english dictionary. A hospitality of genuine class greeted us , true quality of service at the front desk. I am sorry if i am missing a couple of names here but i would like to compliment -Windy and Nora both were very helpful.We had pre- booked a Marina view room. If ever there was a saying that went by "a room with a view" the author must have checked in here for sure. The view of the cairns Marina couldn't be any better than from here. Awesome- that's the word- the room extends itself to a small balcony with a cofee table to laze around and enjoy the sun sets.The room was pretty much good by its standards, the bathroom was spacoius and clean.The beds were comfortable and so were the sofas.
The icing on the cake was the great location of this property . Shangri la execudes a charm of its own -its a fabulous property sprawling in acres and sits right on top of the cairns Marina.
A beautiful hotel. A very special thanks to Mr. George Wee , the General Manager sir for your hand signed birthday greetings for my wife and those rosy red apples yes sir ,we have had our most enjoyable and memorable stay at your hotel. I would like to congartulate your whole team for their tireless efforts and service. You are a hallmark of "True Hospitality". I expect the entire Australian hotel industry to learn from you what hospitality is.The polite behavoiur of each and every staff of your hotel is mark worthy .An outstanding quality of service from the school of Shangrila. I am happy to be a part of the Golden Circle now, thanks and many congratulations .

Room Tip: The Horizon club
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashish-baid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    843
    344
    121
    74
See reviews for
459
1,281
139
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you are visiting Cairns this is a good option. The location is very good, service was professional and timely. The hotel is in a building by the marina where there are several restaurants around the corner where you can eat without having to drive.
The breakfast buffet at the hotel is good and the rates, while on the higher side, are accurate for the property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marplalatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear marplalatino,

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime soon…

Gurpreet Gulati
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The location of this hotel in Cairns is very good.The staff are friendly,polite , helpful and the service was very good.The swimming pool is very good.The food in the evening at the North restaurant was very good.The rooms are ok but in need of some TLC especialy the shower and bathroom.This hotel lacks that usual Shangri La hotel prescence that you see in the Shangri la hotels in Asia,Thialand and Malaysia which is real shame as it is in a superb location.
The worst bit was the buffet breakfast which was poor.A nice touch that they cooked you fresh eggs,pancakes etc but the bacon etc in the hot buffet was not at all good to say the least.The fresh fruit ie pineapple was obviously prepared way in advance and going brown - so not good.Certainly needs a shake up in this department with some one checking the quality of the food there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colinpennyfu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear colinpennyfu2,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay with us. In particular I thank you for your feedback regarding the breakfast and please be rest assured that your comments have been addressed with our Executive Chef for his action. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with high quality food hence why your feedback is concerning.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Shangri-La the next time you are visiting Cairns.

Gurpreet Gulati
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Best hotel ever we stay in. Got there early and got offered upgrade. The room was overlooking the marina. The breakfast, canaps and drinks was awesome. Staff very friendly and very helpful. I ripped my dress and asked for a safety pin and they gave me two sewing kit which included a pin was very happy with this service and overall. Will definitely be back next year. Thank you again :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang_C_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Ang_C_79,

Thank you indeed for taking the time to share your experiences following your recent stay with us. We hope to see you again very soon…

Gurpreet Gulati
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

got there early , room not ready was offered upgrade for 40 dollars , took it found ourselves on the top floor adjacent to The Royal Suite over looking marina, huge room comfy bed, huge tv, wall to wall windows amazing views up grade also allowed us to join the Curzon club free drinks & canaps 5 till 7 pm , worth every penny ate at hotel restaurant very good, the door into the Royal siute between our rooms was open sp peeped in their , what a room , no idea of cost so crept out.
pool huge with seperate childrens area, only there one night awaiting flight to Brisbane but would stay longer next time

Room Tip: room next to Royal Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear peter k,

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the Marina views the next time you visit our beautiful region.

Gurpreet Gulati
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed at the Shangri-La during a brief overnight stay. We had two Horizon Club rooms which were terrible!! First of all the walk just to get to the room was insane!! Then we discovered they were right above a bar therefore loud music and the typical bar noise was so disturbing. Our Aunt moved rooms but we stayed because the only other option was a room with two single beds. We had to keep the tv on just to drown out the noise. Then we discovered the air conditioning control was broken so we were miserably warm all night. I'm so happy we only had to endure one night!!! Not at all impressed!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Jessica O,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us.

Obviously I am disappointed to read your comments as our aim is to delight our guests each and every time. I would genuinely welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay further and invite you to please contact me direct at george.wee@shangri-la.com.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from a lovely long weekend in Cairns, thanks to the Shangri-la.
We booked a Horizon Club room after reading favourable reviews here and we weren't disappointed.
On arrival, our room was ready early (around 10.30am). First big tick. Katrina checked us in at the front desk and noted we were staying as an early birthday celebration for my 40th. That night, on returning from canapés and dinner we found fruit, chocolates and cards from the staff and General Manager in our room - a personal touch I will never forget. Thank you.

Our room was very spacious and clean, with a beautiful view of the marina and hills beyond. The bathroom was huge with a separate shower and toilet and a bath complete with bath salts. L'Occitane toiletries were a lovely touch; there were even toothbrushes supplied. There is a view out to the balcony from the bathroom, as well as from the very comfortable king sized bed. The bookmarks and water left for us each night as part of the turn-down service were a lovely touch.
The room also had a large desk and sitting area, and a huge TV. There was a wide selection of in-house movies as well.

The Horizon Club drinks and canapés were a perfect way to start an evening; the food was delicious and the service staff attentive and unobtrusive. The daily breakfast was the same; great service and delicious food.

We absolutely loved the hotel and the service and will definitely be back. Thank you.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Mary S,

I am delighted to know you had a most memorable stay with us to celebrate your very special occasion!

Thank you for your lovely words regarding our staff and in particular, your comments regarding Katrina. She is a great team member always looking for ways to ensure our guests have a great time whilst they are with us.

We look forward to seeing you back again very soon!

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing