We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay over all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay over all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the shangri-la cairns from 22 - 25 October 2012. We stayed in a sea view room which had an amazing view. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! The rooms were comfortable. The location of the hotel was central to everything.

I noticed that a few things were not up to a 5 star standard. For example left over food from a previous guest was left in the fridge and medication from a previous guest left on the bed side table.

Overall it was a lovely hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear ty l,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your stay with us. I am delighted to know that overall you had a most pleasant stay however I do apologise for the issues you outlined above. This has been discussed with our Executive Housekeeper and the team to ensure such issues do not occur again.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you back the next time you are visiting Cairns.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,095
    815
    327
    117
    69
See reviews for
434
1,232
135
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Recently stayed 2 nights. Check in was quick and easy and staff helpful and friendly. Rooms spacious but in need of an upgrade as they are showing their age. Location was good. Parking was an additional cost.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajjbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear ajjbaker,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we do hope to see you back again soon.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the horizon club to enjoy the full experience of the shangri la in Cairns, The room was beautiful , overlooking the harbour with both indoor and a generous outdoorbalcony sitting area and included a open view through the bathroom to the front of the room. The Horizon club itself , though small by the standard of other shangri la's is well appointed with a nice outlook. The hotel location is terrific to walk to most things in the middle of Cairns , but this is nly relevant if you feel the need to leave this well appointed hotel. Worth booking into if your not planning to spent your trip exploring the local regions , becaue the beauty is in the facilities you pay for and can enjoy all day.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afisher63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear afisher63,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding our Horizon Club. It certainly is worth that little bit extra but when you factor in the benefits such as evening canapés and drinks plus breakfast each morning it is excellent value for money.

We do hope to see you both back here at the Shangri-La soon.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randwick, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed just one night booked through net on special deal with breakfast. On arrival we were asked if we wanted to upgrade to a bay view room for an extra $10 - which we did. The front desk staff were great - offering us a choice of rooms and making recommendations as to which one to take.

The room was clean, bright and sunny with a lovely view. We slept the night with the balcony door open and light breeze coming through. It was lovely to wake up to the sun.

Bathroom was huge with triangular tub and shower. The wooden vanity was a little aged - but nothing to really complain about.

We opted for a package that included breakfast for an extra $25 and it was well worth it. Fresh made to order French Toast was great.

All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hangingoutwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear hangingoutwithkids,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience here at the Shangri-La with fellow readers. I am so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us albeit only for one night.

We hope to see you back again soon and hopefully next time round you will be with us for a few days to relax and enjoy.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for a great hotel with all the usual things (pool, good sized rooms, restaurant, bar, travel desk etc) then this property is definitely worth checking out. The location is also excellent - close enough to the main strip & cbd to easily walk to but also set away so can look back over (ask for sea view room).
We have not been able to fault a thing & we've stayed here 9 nights, which by now you'd think the cracks may start to show.
Only 'issue' we had was on 1st night where we rang for ice to our room & it took 3 calls & over 3/4 hour to arrive & no apology. Since then though there's been no delay in service.
Well worth it & will be looking at their other proprieties in future travel if this is any indication.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear BBud68,

I am delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and I thank you for choosing the Shangri-La as your home away from home whilst you were visiting our beautiful region.

We do hope we have the chance to welcome you back again soon.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We paid the little bit extra to stay in a Horizon Club room for our 6 night stay in Cairns and it was worth every last cent and more. Our experience has been that a "5 Star" hotel in Australia usually equates to a 4 star type service anywhere else - particularly Thailand or Malaysia. However with the upgrade to the Horizon club it certainly put the Shangri La on par with the level of service you would expect from resorts on some of those Asian Islands.

Brilliant service, clean rooms and that little extra mile on all the little things all add up to a really brilliant experience - and we met at least 2 or 3 couples on our stay who came back for the same reasons we did so you know they are consistently delivering this great service. Thanks Shangri-La!

Room Tip: Marina View Horizon Club Rooms are spacious and have brilliant views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomethingOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear SomethingOrange,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your trip to Cairns and managed to find your “Shangri-La” with us here in Cairns. We receive much feedback about our Horizon Club accommodation and I thank you for your endorsement as well.

We hope to see you back again sometime in the not too distant future…

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Been travelling here regularly for years and the staff make it feel like my home away from home. Wifi is included and regularly upgraded when possible. Even had a free bottle of wine on arrival on my 5th and 10th stays etc. makes you feel valued. Close to good food as well.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank s4057102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear s4057102,

We are delighted to have you as one of our valued regular guests. As you mentioned, we do have a frequent guest program in place as we recognise the importance of making sure our regular guests such as yourself, feel appreciated - you all certainly are! We look forward to seeing you back again very soon.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing