We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$151
$134
Pullman
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$94
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Park Regis City Quays(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$97
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Balinese Motel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$88
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascade Gardens(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$185
$180
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$81
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Il Centro Apartment Suites(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$130
$126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Inn(Cairns)
$65
$62
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,756)
Filter reviews
2,756 results
Traveler rating
1,232
925
378
137
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,232
925
378
137
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorizon clubclub roomnorth restauranthorizon roomone bedroom suitethe great barrier reefpool bartour deskan upgradereef terminalshopping centrebit datedfantastic locationbuffet breakfastcanapesbalconyconcierge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,865 - 1,870 of 2,756 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This lovely hotel will soon take on an amazing transformation. The property had been bought by Shanghai-la and will soon undergo a huge refurbishment. Until then, the hotel still offers great service, good rooms with modern facilities, friendly staff and one of the best locations in Cairns.
Located across from the harbour and surrounded by parkland, so much is within walking distance. The Great Barrier Reef is easily accessible by boat. The property sits atop an esplanade of some great restaurants and bars so you will never go hungry or thirsty. It's an ideal property for couples or families.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HasantiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Hasanti,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back to Shangri-La sometime in the near future…

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights in late August with wife. Hotel is located in one of the nicer areas of Cairns, near good restaurants on pier. Sea rooms are very spacious with balcony and lovely bay view. Outdoor pool area is a very pleasant space but number of lounging spots was somewhat limited, even in off season. Staff were very helpful whenever required, overall a very enjoyable experience and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nash_Bridges_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Nash_Bridges_1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your stay with us. I am delighted to know you both enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back again soon…

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I concluded our honeymoon at the Shangri La, Cairns. We were well looked after and appreciated a bottle of red wine. We were disappointed to be allocated a twin bed instead of the King originally requested, but this was all resolved the following day. Our Bay view room was wonderful, despite the inappropriate noise coming from the pubs below at night. I also want to take this opportunity to mention Ba8. I believe they are part of the hotel and my wife and I had a beautiful dining experience. We ordered the seafood platter and it was amazing, especially the lobster. We need to make a special mention for Illy (the manager). She has a heart of absolute gold and we were amazed by her service and how she took care of us. We really hope this reaches her and can once again express our thanks and gratitude. A great way to round of our honeymoon in Far North Queensland.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Michael H,

Firstly a big congratulations to you both on your recent marriage! It is the perfect time of year to Honeymoon in our beautiful region...

We do apologise for the error with the initial room allocation but great to know all was resolved rather quickly.

Thank you so much for your very kind words regarding Illy. She is most certainly a fantastic asset to our team and I will ensure that she does get your comments!

Congratulations once again and we do hope to welcome you both back sometime soon – perhaps for your 1st anniversary!

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We 're usually not that fussy but when we paid 350 a NIGHT for a week in a Horizon "suite" we were not overly impressed (compared to other similar-priced hotels). Good points first: amazing views of Cairns Marina on the huge balcony; a great location for exploring Cairns; and excellent breakfast and evening drinks and canapes with friendly staff. Issues: don't come here if you actually want to sleep before midnight. The noise of the bars and restaurant strip on the Esplanade below sometimes felt like we were IN the bar (we were on the first floor directly above a restaurant); then if you manage to finally fall asleep be prepared for the nightly 1am wakeup call from drunk backpackers or locals on the street below the hotel. Also the room looks impressive with its floor to ceiling windows but then you sit on the world's most uncomfortable once-beige now patchy stained couch; so then you try to relax on the rockhard oversized wood benches on the deck with no cushions - and realise there will be nowhere to really sink in and relax with a drink for your weeklong stay.This sounds like whinging but these gripes do make a difference if you stay for a week. We came back sleep deprived and exhausted!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RealityDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear RealityDreamer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay with us.

I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss with you further and as such, please do feel free to email me direct at George.wee@shangri-la.com.

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Overall, a great stay, room was of a good size with a small private balcony. Location is excellent and the breakfasts were terrific. The chef made excellent pancakes. Only negative was the pool. Wonderful to sit by but too cold to swim in (September). One of the few people who'd did swim wore a wetsuit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dugongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Dugongs,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent trip to Cairns. Thank you in particular for your comments regarding our chef’s pancakes!

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are here in Cairns.

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews