We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is this Cairn's best room?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Bingil Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Is this Cairn's best room?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our ongoing search for Cairn's best over-nighter continues but we may have a winner. The Horizon Club rooms at the Shangri-La are certainly up there with anywhere else in Cairns. They're bright, modern, high ceiling-ed, great views, quiet as a church, have great bathrooms and come with free nibbles, pre-dinner drinks and breakfast too. The only downside is the price (about $330pn).
Luckily for us our stay was a free upgrade (benefits of Golden Circle membership?) from a Deluxe Marina View room (which cost about $100 less).
However, if you're prepared to make the most of the pre-dinner snacks (instead of dinner? or at least instead of an entree?) and drinks and then take full advantage of the (very nice) breakfast it probably works out about the similar price for a couple as the Deluxe Marina View option; and is certainly better!
Thanks Shangri-La for the upgrade; we'll certainly be back and maybe next time we'll be paying for that Horizon Club room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missi0nary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Missi0nary,

I would like to think the answer to your question is ‘YES’! We are very proud of our Horizon Club Rooms and you certainly can’t beat those views over the Marlin Marina…

Many thanks for the excellent review and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are spending the night in Cairns - maybe you should stretch it out and stay for a few days next time round though!

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,095
    815
    327
    117
    69
See reviews for
434
1,232
135
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed one night to enjoy the opening of the Cairns festival. The bed was comfortable and the room was a good size and nicely presented. Bathroom had a large shower and corner spa. We had a great view of the fireworks from the chairs on the balcony. Check in took a bit long approx. 20 mins. Free wi-fi appreciated but found to be very unreliable in our room. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a long walk from the lift so if you ate going to be in and out ask for a room close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arantzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Arantzy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your stay over the weekend. You certainly would have had the prime position on your balcony from which to watch the spectacular fireworks show to mark the start of the Cairns Festival!

Thank you also for your feedback on the internet connection in the room - we have had the technicians look at the connectivity in the room in question and they have managed to rectify the issue.

We hope to have you back again very soon - perhaps for the Festival closing fireworks show!

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent four nights at this hotel. As past reviews noted, it is perfectly located to walk around the Esplanade, restaurants and shops. We paid extra for to be on the Horizon Club floor and it was totally worth it. The room was spacious and well-appointed, but best of all, there is a drop-dead view of the marina and a very comfortable balcony from which to enjoy it. It is located on the floor above the restaurants and, remarkably, when the sliding doors were closed, we could hear no noise from below.

The breakfast provided in the lounge each day was fine, but it would have been nice to have some variation from day to day. The afternoon offerings were excellent and varied. In all instances, the lounge staff was incredibly attentive and clearly interested in keeping the guests cared for.

A special thank you to Karn and Charlene at the reception desk who were very helpful in making restaurant recommendations for us and giving us directions. We could have easily driven Karn crazy as we tried to juggle days and times for two restaurants we wanted to visit, but he sorted it all out, got the reservations we wanted, ,and maintained his good humor throughout.

All in all, a wonderful choice if you stay in downtown Cairns.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamilton6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Hamilton6,

Thank you for your great review and we are so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. The Horizon Club is definitely the way to go and is great value when you look at the inclusions you get... plus the rooms have the best views in town!

Many thanks also for your kind words regarding Charlene and Kam – it is great to see them getting the recognition they deserve.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La the next time you find yourselves in our beautiful region…

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I arrived at the hotel hot, sweaty and tired after a 3 day charity ride from Townsville. Check in was quick and the staff helped me retrieve and repack my car so I could get to my room and relax.

The room was spacious and comfortable, overlooking the city/bay, and very quiet although the hotel was busy.

It was a short walk to the Cairns eateries as well as the stores to stock up before heading off for a few days break in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear GordonTownsville,

Glad to know you made it to the Shangri-La in one piece! I am sure the charity ride was a great success and hope you exceeded your fundraising targets.

Pleased to know you managed to relax and recuperate during your stay and we look forward to the welcoming you back the next time you are in Cairns…

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

After nevering stayng in Cairns before I deicided to stay at the Shangri-La as it look like it was in the middle of the action, and I wasn't wrong! This is a fantastic hotel for first time travellers to Cairns. It is right next to the Marina where all the boats head out to the reef as well as near the public swimming area (kind of like south bank in brisbane).
We stayed in a "sea view" room which was great as it got the afternoon sun, just right for a cold one before heading out to dinner. Below you are spoilt for choice on where to eat!
One note, that I would have liked the front desk staff to advise was that our room was right above the Sunday Session Pub (Sauce). Music was loud (but luckliy it was music I loved) but if you are travelling with children or elderly maybe just ask where abouts the "sea view" room is. This music did die down by 11pm though.
To be honest I don't think the Shangri-La would have a bad room, as it is set up like a massive triangle on the marina - city view, sea view and marina view rooms.
Everything is within walking distance in Carins and everyone is really friendly.
We can't wait to go back!!!!

Room Tip: If you are travelling with children or elderly and have booked a sea view room ask to be down the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pip_fanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear pip_fanto,

Thank you for your great review and for the endorsement on our excellent location. We truly are blessed with where we are – the views are the best in town and simply cannot be beat!

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon…

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLDH36D
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights on a 5 night trip to the cairns region. I'm going to try bullet points for this review
- Good location close to ferries, esplonade and restaurants
- Clean comfortable rooms with good views (went for sea view)
- Free wi-fi is great, so disappointing when other hotels charge.
- Had some good drinks during happy hour at the pool par, after claiming i didn't do cocktails because they were girly the bar-girl suggested i try a long island ice tea, i now agree with her there is nothing girly about that drink as the rest of the evening is a blur.
- All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful

Didn't use many of the hotels facilities as we were out and about all the time but would definitely stay again if returned to Cairns.

No real negatives I can think of.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLDH36D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear MLDH36D,

Many thanks for taking the time to submit your review following your recent stay. Great to know you had an enjoyable time with us (maybe not so the morning after the Long Island Iced Teas!) and we hope to see you again very soon!

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I have just spent a wonderful 7 nights at the Shangri-la Cairns. Our suite overlooking the marina was just great. The double glazing and black out curtains, not to mention the wonderful king sized bed meant that we slept well every night. The view of the marina from our balcony gave us a passing parade of boats coming and going.

I loved having access to the Horizon Club, for canapes and a sundowner each evening. A big thumbs up to the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Overlooking the marina is the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimfilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Mimfilip,

So pleased to know you had a great week with us. Thank you in particular for your great words regarding our staff – they are excellent and it is great to see them get the recognition they deserve.

We hope to see you again very soon….

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing