We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good clean hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good clean hotel in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Shangri La Cairns is a good clean hotel in a good location. It is not luxury compared to what you find in bigger cities, but it is nice and clean in an excellent location by the Marina. Hotel restaurant is good with a nice bar with 2 for 1 at Happy Hour. If you are headed to Cairns this is a good, clean, safe option with all the amenities.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Many thanks for the fabulous endorsement of our location. We are most certainly blessed with our position - right on the waterfront with unbeatable views of the Trinity Bay, Marlin Marina and surrounding mountain ranges.

Thanks also for the comments about our restaurant, North Food & Wine as well as Bā8, our lounge bar. They are both great venues and certainly deserve a visit whilst in Cairns.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,095
    815
    328
    117
    69
See reviews for
435
1,232
135
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed two nights, solo, to relax during a weekend off (working locally). Pricey ($179 per night) but comfortable room - had a city view room. Wireless internet access was "free" (ie. built into the price. Valet parking extra.

Great, friendly reception staff.

Room Tip: Suggest avoid "bay view" rooms as that is the noisy side of the Pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzJohnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you to the writer for your comments. It is great to hear they enjoyed their weekend escape with us and we look forward to seeing them back again soon.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

I had a suite with the marina view in September 2011. The lay-out was great, the only problem is the long walk to get to the room. The view is priceless. The room is comforatble, as is the bed, the bathroom needs an upgrade as actually does the whole suite [carpet stained, curtains don't close etc.]. The staff make up for the shortcomings [very friendly and helpful in every way] and I understand that the hotel is planning a refurbishment soon.
The breakfast is fantastic, the pool area superb, it is an oasis!
The position is the best, right on the marina and a few steps from the downtown.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Many thanks to the reviewer for taking the time to share their comments with the Trip Advisor community.

To give everyone a quick update, we are currently in the process of finalising the plans for a renovation and at this stage, anticipate beginning early in the new year. During the project, the Hotel lobby, restaurant and all of our guest rooms (in particular, the bathrooms) will be getting an overhaul giving the Hotel a more contemporary chic look and feel.

Thank you also for the kind words referencing our staff and their commitment to customer service and guest satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming the writer back to Shangri-La again soon.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

it was our first time staying in Cairns. Was greated by friendly and professonal people.
We loved everything about this hotel. The friendly staff, the price of the rooms, the views, the rooms, and all the other bits of the hotel. Pool, gym.
The main thing we liked abut the hotel was the friendlyness of the staff who worked there.
Always polite and happy to help.
Location is very good. In walking distance to everything we required.
We loved staying there and next time we are in Cairns, we will stay there for sure.
We will recommend it to everyone as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Another great review! It is so encouraging to hear the excellent comments coming through regarding our staff and the level of customer service they are providing. Our team work very hard and are committed to providing our guests a memorable experience so it great to see them getting the recognition they deserve.

I thank the writer for sharing their comments and am delighted they will be recommending our Hotel to friends and family. We look forward to welcoming them back again soon.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

This is my favourite hotel in Australia - we have stayed at many hotels but nothing can compare with the excellent quality and service from the Shangri-La Cairns. Our experience from walking in the door of the hotel until the time we left the service from all staff was EXCELLENT. The location is fantastic and I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody wanting a memorable experience.

WE WILL DEFITINELY BE BACK!!!! THANK YOU SHANGRI-LA CAIRNS

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Wow – what can I say?! Thank you so much for your excellent comments. I am very pleased to hear you had a memorable stay. We appreciate your recommendation of our Hotel and look forward to seeing you back again soon.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
321 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Arrived to the hotel by our own car at 1.55pm and were immediately met by the doorman who took our keys and the valet parked the car (extra cost for valet $15 o/night). I completed the Check in online to make it quicker when we got to the hotel but we had to wait 20 minutes to find out if the room was ready. We were "upgraded" from the executive suite to the 1 bedroom apartment - same priced rooms. My requests for a room with a marina view, king size bed and non-smoking were all met. Our room 4004 - was located at the other side of the hotel which meant going in one elevator, walking along a long corridor to the next elevator before coming out on to our floor! Unfortunately, we had to repeat this procedure each time we left our room and returned. Our room was very spacious, clean and great views. At night we had a bit of noise from a nightclub (take your earplugs if a light sleeper). We had use of the Horizon Club facilities which I recommend. Complimentary drinks and nibbles from 5-7pm. We had breakfast here every morning which was good although not a huge range if you are wanting a big smorgasbord - which we didn't. Good for toast, cereal, fruit, bacon & eggs & pastries. All in all we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it for location and customer service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freya691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you to the author for your feedback and your overall recommendation to others.
I am pleased you enjoyed the room and do note your comments regarding the corridors. As you can appreciate, our Hotel has been designed to take full advantage of the beautiful Marina views we have on offer. This may mean that some guests may need to walk to some rooms but I think you would agree, the views are certainly worth it!
In regards to your comments about the noise, we are working closely with our neighbours to overcome this and regular decibel readings are taken to ensure they operate within the restrictions laid out by the Queensland Office of Liquor, Gaming and Racing. We are also in the process of finalising an upgrade to the soundproofing to the glass windows and doors of the affected rooms to help further reduce noise levels for the comfort of our guests.

I thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we do hope to see you back here in Cairns soon.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

I stayed one night in Sept before my dive trip in the Great Barrier Reef, and returned for two additional nights after my dive trip. Service is great in the hotel, from the reception desk to the bell hops. In fact, amazingly the bell hop and reception greeted me by name when I returned! The hotel is located right next to the esplande, and is within walking distance to everything. The marina room views are the quietest.... as noted by previous travelers the noise from the bars on the bay side is annoying! Rooms are a little dated, although very clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Delighted to hear that the writer enjoyed their two stays with us. Thank you for recognising the efforts of our team, your comments are very encouraging.

To address the comment relating to the noise - I can assure all readers that although we have a variety of restaurants and bars on our doorstep, all have noise restrictions and curfews in place as dictated by the Queensland Office of Liquor, Gaming and Racing (QLGR). We work closely with our neighbours and regular decibel readings are taken to ensure they are compliant to the limitations set out by QLGR.

Thank you again and we do hope to welcome the writer back when next they visit our region.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing