We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
391 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 477 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Arrived late in the evening and feeling somewhat jaded after a two day train journey but our mood immediately picked up when realised what a convenient location we had for the next three days and the exceptionally warm, efficient and courteous reception we received.
We were fortunate to be upgraded to a suite which was one of the largest and most luxurious rooms we have ever stayed in during our many well travelled years. All the big and little extras were there including large plasma televisions in both our lounge and super-sized bedroom, magnificent views over the marina, L'Occitaine toileteries, etc.etc.
The location is also superb - just a one minute walk to the reef boat terminal, five to the CBD and some of Cairns' most popular dining spots are right in the complex over looking the harbour and we certainly didn't not experience any noise problems.
Our only regret is that we had to leave but considering that was for Bloomfield Lodge, it wasn't too bad :)

Room Tip: Book a marina deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    713
    299
    98
    61
See reviews for
376
1,077
124
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Upon arrival our room was not ready. We had travelled 20+ hours with children. We had booked well in advance to assure comfortable sleeping arrangements as we are family of 5 with young children. We were told their roll-away beds would be made up by the time we returned from dinner... We returned, no beds! We rang reception and they said someone would be up in 10 minutes...30 minutes later, no one. Next phone call, I was told 10 minutes... 15 minutes later, no one. Next phone call to reception produced some one in 5 minutes with beds... 15 minutes later beds were made. Two nights later, we were subjected to very loud thumping music for several hours from the bar at Marina which the hotel overlooks. Overall... in three nights, not a lot of sleep happening. Not what you expect in any hotel, but most certainly not this one and at this price. Staff went through all the motions, but no real empathy and no solutions. Poor.

Room Tip: Try the Hilton instead if in Cairns. Port Douglas is a much nicer town, we will stay there in futur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CstockerBoldre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

My husband and I were celebrating my birthday at the hotel. We have booked a marina room and expected no complimentary upgrade could be offered. Guess what, they kindly upgraded us to an executive suite! This is a room with the biggest balcony that we have ever stayed! The view was unbeatable!

The location of the hotel is excellent (Maybe the best out there). You could go to the reef terminal and access to the restaurants and shopping centres in several minutes!

And we had ordered in-room dining! If you order one adult meal, you could have one free kid-meal! This is a very good deal! Even cheaper than eating outside. We determined to eat inside after a day adventure at the great barrier reef to take advantage to enjoy the lovely room and great balcony view =D

Also thanks to Anna Purdy, the reservations agent for arranging the complimentary fruit plate and sparkling wine for our celebration.

One thing the hotel needs to improve is the unstable internet access and the troublesome login every time!

Oops..and the freezer was not working. We put icecream inside and all melted after hours.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TATA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Yes, I've been back here again with my husband and son, and can confirm that it is still the very best location in Cairns. We used the horizon club again. The room worked quite well for 2 adults and a child but our son did have to sleep on a lounge made into a bed (not a sofabed). He said it was comfortable, and seemed to sleep well.
It rained torrentially during the nights and we loved the sound of the rain on the awning below our room. We had no trouble with noise from the venues below. The quality of the rooms, the service, evening drinks and the breakfast remained excellent.
We looked around Cairns a bit this time and there is no other hotel with comparable views and location. There are some apartments above the marina that look well-positioned (The Harbourlights Complex) but, if you want a full service hotel experience, you can't go past the Shangri-la. The only downer was that the room service food seemed like it was aimed at American tourists. It was... hearty...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiesinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Old, stale hotel. 4 star at best. Television is not flat screen. No iPod clock/recharged.
DO NOT STAY ON MARINA SIDE AS IT HAS A PUB PLAYING THUMPING MUSIC PAST MIDNIGHT. Get a room facing the pool which is nice. Great staff helps the hotel overcome it's age problem.
Ps It's located in a shopping centre.

Room Tip: Scream and shout
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poshladdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

arrived exhausted...early arrivals lounge with showers, hot drinks, free internet...customer service excellent...best location in Cairns...

Room Tip: thomas cook's buy 3 get one free deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rougepierretc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We booked on very short notice after leaving another hotel which we weren't happy with..

Even though the hotel has been around for quite some years, it is kept in great condition. The rooms are nice, spacious and comfortable.

The location is unbeatable, right on the water with loads of fabulous restaurants around.

One thing which really struck us was how helpful and friendly the staff are. We felt very welcome.

Would definitely recommend...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birdie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 1,887 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
0.3 mi away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing