We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Cairns Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. Great, spacious room with a big balcony. We did not book the ocean view, but I thought we had a great view anyway! We were still able to see part of the ocean, it just wasn't a full ocean view.

The hotel is within an easy walking distance to the Esplanade and the restaurants and shops. There is a nice pool (no jacuzzi) and the laundry machines were useful (pretty old, but they work).

The front desk is staffed 24 hours, which was nice since we had a very early morning flight on our way out.

Small quibbles: there was an odd smell from the drain in the bathroom floor, and overall, the hotel felt a bit dated. Also, the free internet is mainly accessible from the pool and hotel lobby area, so if you were counting on it being in the room--nope! Overall though, great value.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear JL
Thank you for your review.
I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and appreciated our great value proposition.
I must apologize for the inconvenience of the smells in your bathroom - our maintenance person is currently working on eliminating these.
I'm happy to confirm that we currently offer a Complimentary WiFi service in the Reception Area of the hotel (on the Ground Floor) and we are looking at extending this to all of the rooms in the near future.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    508
    162
    47
    13
See reviews for
268
482
103
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lance Field, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Room was large with a spare single bed. Uncomfortable to watch tv. Bathroom was very dated and in bad need of updating. Bath had rust in it and shower curtain allowed water to leak on to floor. View of the neighbours next door which were very noisy. Parking was a problem. Breakfast was brilliant and included in the price. Staff were excellent and very helpful. Overall it was OK as we were only there to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Bev H
Thank you for posting your review.
I'm glad you enjoyed your Breakfast and that our team members looked after you.
Unfortunately, it appears that you were assigned an older-style room for your stay which hasn't left you with a great memory of your stay with us.
I trust you will be able to visit us again in the near future to experience one of our newer-styled rooms.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2014

The room was very basic and dated, but fine as we were only in it to sleep. The bathroom really needed to be upgraded as the bath tub was covered in rust, and the shower curtain wasn't overly clean. The sheets on the bed were very itchy, maybe not cleaned properly or with the wrong chemicals as I'm not usually sensitive to anything.

However, the breakfast package included with the room was excellent. For $10, you could ordered as much of anything you wanted off the menu, and the food was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Naomi M
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.
It appears that you were assigned to an older-style room for your stay.
Please note that our linen is commercially laundered for all of our rooms; perhaps some of the washing detergents in use were a little harsh for your skin...???
I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast.
We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to experience one of our newly modelled rooms soon.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

The hotel is definitely dated in terms of decor, but clean and comfortable enough. I had an ocean view suite, which I would recommend. Lovely to sit on the balcony and enjoy the activity on the esplanade and the gorgeous setting. Friendly, helpful staff. Drawbacks: wifi only works well in lobby and restaurant, not at poolside as advertised. Kitchenette had only microwave; the addition of a toaster would help a lot in food preparation options.

Room Tip: Ocean view suite recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rockland1792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Rockland1792
Thank you for your review.
I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay - our Ocean View Suites, with their balconies, offer a truly great spot from which one can watch the world go by....!!!!!
Unfortunately, we're unable to provide toasters in our rooms as these can activate the fire alarms.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor Harbor, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Unfortunately our room was very shabby and in need of renovation. We paid $159 with booking.com for a ocean view studio room (205). The view was great, the room was poor. The bath was stained and actually rusty. There was no TV in the bedroom, only in the living room. Would not recommend this hotel until it has been renovated. Maybe we got an old room??? Do booking.com get the bad rooms?? From our experience, I can't agree with the other good reviews, they must have had a much better room! Staff was good and friendly and breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has been renovated recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Walt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear WaltK
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.
It appears that you have stayed in one of our older-style suites and that your stay was not up to your expectations.
As you can appreciate, we have a limited number of remodelled rooms and once these have been allocated, we then utilize the rest of our older-style rooms.
I trust we will be able to welcome you back soon to experience one of our newer rooms in the not too distant future.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Hotel room had everything we needed exceptional value for a family of four sharing a room, central location everything was within 5-10 min walking distance, nice and clean and we found all the staff very accommodating even odd requests made by the children they smiled and did their best not to disappoint together with free internet made it a really good stay. Well done to all concerned real value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your review.
Also, thank you for highlighting our Value Proposition; certainly an important aspect of family travel planning is getting value for money - I'm glad you agree with us as that is what we always strive to do....!
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We were really impressed with the hotel. The location was fantastic, the suite was spacious and clean. We had a balcony and view out to the esplanade and easy access to the boardwalk. Didn't use the pool but it looked inviting. Receptionist was really helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend. Only shame is they don't have 2 bedroom units to bring the family.

Room Tip: Balcony room with views to the esplanade and water - great to wake up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tiffany902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
So glad you appear to have enjoyed your stay with us on all accounts.
I'm happy to advise that some of our Ocean View Suites actually interconnect with a Standard Room - Hey Presto, a quasi 2-bedroom Apartment....!!!
Please let us know if we can be of assistance with this when next you visit Cairns.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.6 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Plaza Hotel

Property: Cairns Plaza Hotel
Address: 145 The Esplanade Cairns | Cnr. The Esplanade & Minnie St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cairns Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 1/2 star Hotel located about 2 blocks from center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cairns Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing