We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Brilliant location, spacious suite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairns Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Rangiora
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, spacious suite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We were really impressed with the hotel. The location was fantastic, the suite was spacious and clean. We had a balcony and view out to the esplanade and easy access to the boardwalk. Didn't use the pool but it looked inviting. Receptionist was really helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend. Only shame is they don't have 2 bedroom units to bring the family.

Room Tip: Balcony room with views to the esplanade and water - great to wake up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tiffany902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
So glad you appear to have enjoyed your stay with us on all accounts.
I'm happy to advise that some of our Ocean View Suites actually interconnect with a Standard Room - Hey Presto, a quasi 2-bedroom Apartment....!!!
Please let us know if we can be of assistance with this when next you visit Cairns.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    443
    146
    39
    13
See reviews for
236
422
90
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Beach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Dear Cairns Plaza,

Thank you for a wonderful night's sleep, our room was beautiful, spacious, clean and stylish.
The bed is the most comfortable I have ever slept in. We will be back.

Many thanks and Kind Regards,

Sandal Hayes

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sandalatmission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Sandal
Thank you for taking time to post your review following your recent stay with us...the best we could hope for is that you will be back; we look forward to having you back soon.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Good accommodation, certain staff where helpful, but others not so much. One trip booked through reception was not correct and caused confusion on the day we wanted to go. We booked for a double and ended up with single beds pushed together, not at all comfortable. The bathroom was also extremely small and had no hair dryer! Cleaning service was excellent though.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Lois W
Thank you for your review.
It pains me to read that some of the crew did not meet your expectations - we are always thriving to do just that.
Further apologies for the apparent mix up with your tour - the front desk crew are local professionals who are usually right up to speed with the various tours and do their best to try to match individuals' requirements with the options available...
Some of our rooms do not have hair dryers in them; however, we have units available for guess to take to their rooms from reception.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Great views of Trinity Bay and just a stroll across the road to the board walk. Friendly staff. Room cleaned daily. Close enough to walk to the shops, restaurants and the Marina. Can be a little noisy from the park and road at times if you want to leave the balcony doors open, but nice and quiet when they are closed. We had trouble with the air conditioner not working at first but staff very quickly got a tradesman in to fix it as soon as we notified them. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb2517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Deb2517
Thank you for your review.
The best message and highest praise we could hope for is that you would happily stay with us again; we will happily have you stay with us when next you visit....!!!
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here. I love the location and ocean views. The room has been refurbished since my last stay which was really nice. The staff have always been friendly and helpfull. If I did have one suggestion it would be to eliminate the outer door of the two suites. The people in the next room tended to keep their door open and it was a bit noisy. Having said that there was no problems after 10.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Geoff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Hi Geoff from Rockhampton
Thank you for your review.
Your suggestion of eliminating the outer door for the "adjoining" suite and Standard Room has been noted and I do apologize for any inconvenience caused by the noise from the other room - on the flip side, though, having that outer door means it's a great set of rooms for a family.
We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back when next you visit...!
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 day stay. The room was very clean and updated and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is just perfect for a quiet stay, not in the heart of the action but a short walk to it all. Excellent value for the money, it exceeded our expectations. Loved the fact that we were able to do a load of laundry. Would definitely stay there again should we ever get the chance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank PatJack777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review - the highest praise we can receive is knowing that you'd choose to come back and stay with us...!
I trust you enjoyed the rest of your travels.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

I stayed at Cairns Plaza Hotel for 1 night and was quite happy with the place.
Located a few blocks from the Lagoon area, it is still quite central but far enough away from the restaurants and bars so that noise is not an issue.

I had booked a standard room and when I switched the air conditioner on there was a loud clicking noise - no problem, I called reception and they upgraded me to the 1 bedroom room next door.
Both rooms had been updated with a new modern look and fit out. It really makes the rooms appealing. The 1 bedroom room had a kitchenette which would be great if staying for a few days. The polished wood floors look great too but I did notice it made foot traffic in the hallways a bit louder.

Otherwise I enjoyed my stay and will consider this place next time I'm in Cairns.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaJim34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your review.
I'm glad we were able to look after you despite the noisy A/C.
We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back when next you visit Cairns.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.7 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.6 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#8 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Plaza Hotel

Property: Cairns Plaza Hotel
Address: 145 The Esplanade Cairns | Cnr. The Esplanade & Minnie St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cairns Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 1/2 star Hotel located about 2 blocks from center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cairns Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing