We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, sadly desperately dated”
Review of Cairns Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

What a pity. This hotel, with a little refurbishment, would be a great family hotel.
Directly across from Muddies playground and easy walking distance to the Esplanade, the lobby and restaurant are fine for its price. Little issue with the limited parking nit we were lucky to grab a spot. The staff were friendly enough but lacked that "polish".
We stayed in a family room, which unlike other hotels we've stayed in, was very spacious in size. However the kitchenette and bathroom haven't been touched since maybe the 1980's which would be fine if they were kept in good condition. The bathroom was rusty, there was evidence of previous leaks, the kitchenette falling apart and my husband wouldn't let the kids on the balcony due to cracks in the floor.
Yes the price is great for budget accommodation but a cheap makeover on the room's amenities would have made my rating a lot higher, especially considering a hotel just up the road offered a wonderful experience for not that much more money.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aks0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking time to post your review following your recent stay with us.
It appears that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
I'm glad to advise that a refurbishment program of all rooms is about to re-commence and do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,117)
There are newer reviews for Cairns Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

900 - 906 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Had been staying at other more expensive supposedly upmarket hotels on frequent business and personal trips to Cairns, but now choose to only stay at Cairns Plaza if I can. Staff are great, it is like coming home. Rooms are always clean and upgraded rooms are great. Best thing - the food is great in the restaurant and you get an breakfast that is cooked for you and has not been sitting in a bain marie for hours. Paolo and staff are brilliant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janneneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you so much for posting your review following your most recent stay with us.
The fact that you're so comfortable in returning time after time to our hotel is the highest praise my team and I could ever hope for from our guests - thank you and we look forward to continuing to welcome you to your "home away from home".
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed with my husband and 5yr old daughter in July 2013 in a 1 bedroom ocean facing apartment. Though it is a little bit dated we chose this hotel because:
1) it provided us with space to sleep in different rooms
2) it was opposite Muddy's playground
3) included WIFI
4) included parking
5) close enough to city centre to walk in and out
6) breakfast included at $10/person
7) affordability for all of these features plus water views.

We were in a room that hadn't been refurbished but it did provide a flexible space to live in for a few days which is important when travelling with a young child. There was room in the living/lounge area to play plenty of games; and space to have a quiet retreat on the balcony. The little kitchenette is great; particularly the full size bar fridge. It would be good for the room to have a chopping board and good cutting knife - both of which we have suggested to the hotel.

All the staff were friendly and helpful. Particular note needs to be made to the breakfast crew - chef and waitstaff - the young lady was friendly and prompt each day and the chef made breakfast to order (from a menu). For our little one, they were happy to take a different order each day which wasn't on the menu and nothing was too much trouble. We really appreciated it. A selection of Queensland newspapers was also available to read.

Good little hotel, in a great location particularly if travelling with young children.

Room Tip: Try and book an ocean view - as well as the water you will have views of the hotel's pool and th...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqstar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your recent post following your stay with us.
Thank you also for highlighting our finest attributes and trust you enjoyed your stay with us.
I've noted the suggestions for specific items in the kitchenettes and again thank you for your suggestions.
I look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a nice, quiet hotel. It is pretty inexpensive, and the staff were great and very helpful. We ate breakfast one morning and the food was good and it didn't cost us very much. Not the greatest looking hotel but it was still nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

We look forward to welcoming you back....!
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We booked an ocean view suite for 2 nights and loved it. We booked online and found the rate for the ocean view suite - exceptional compared to others. The room was stylishly modern, spacious, exceptionally clean and both the separate bedroom and lounge room had ocean views. The sunrises were AMAZING from our room. The room had a kitchenette and a bath! Paulo and his staff were the most friendly, welcoming, professional and helpful staff we encountered during our trip to QLD. Cannot thank them enough. We'll be going back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Similicious67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Look, this has got a rating of two for two reasons, a warm welcome and a clean room. It stops there! The hotel is located on the Esplanade in Cairns. It is slightly set back from the road but in view of the sea if you have a front facing room. On arrival the foyer is functional without being particularly welcoming. We had asked for rooms on the same floor but ended up with rooms above each other. On entering the room the first thing that was apparent was that it was old and in need of some significant refurbishment. The bathroom was dated and enamel was peeled off the floor of the bath. The door needed a coat of varnish and there was a pervasive smell of urine. The room had a double and single bed in it and again was in need of some significant decoration. The windows led out onto a balcony with views of the hotel opposite and the sea. The balcony fence however was very low and would be a danger to young children. We decided not to eat in the restaurant, which was empty when we left and when we returned. Luckily we were only staying one night, if we had been staying longer then we would have looked for somewhere else. Not a good experience, and definitely not recommended. There is wifi in the foyer, but it does not reach the rooms on the higher floors.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Valo2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for taking time to post your review following your recent stay.
It appears that on this occasion we fell short of meeting guest expecations - a pervasive urine smell is not great to put up with - its a shame we weren't able to accommodate a room move.
I am glad to read that your dealing with team members were pleasant and do look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back should you venture to our part of the world again.
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We got in after a long day of flying. The room is old. All of the metal is rusting. The paint on the ceiling is bubbling. The toilet won't stop leaking and filling back up. It's annoying. It's nice that there is a kitchenette in the room. There is a very weak signal of wifi on the upper floor. However, if you sit in the right place, you get an ok signal. The wifi is very slow. If you have an Ethernet cord, bring it. There is a port in the room. Overall, check your other options before staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingMan12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us.
On this occasion, it appears we did not exceed your expectations as we try to do with all our guests.
Please note that Complimentary WiFi is available in the reception area should you visit us again...
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
601 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
561 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Plaza Hotel

Address: 145 The Esplanade Cairns | Cnr. The Esplanade & Minnie St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: $89 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cairns Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 1/2 star Hotel located about 2 blocks from center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing