We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It looks horrible.”
Review of Cairns Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We got in after a long day of flying. The room is old. All of the metal is rusting. The paint on the ceiling is bubbling. The toilet won't stop leaking and filling back up. It's annoying. It's nice that there is a kitchenette in the room. There is a very weak signal of wifi on the upper floor. However, if you sit in the right place, you get an ok signal. The wifi is very slow. If you have an Ethernet cord, bring it. There is a port in the room. Overall, check your other options before staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingMan12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us.
On this occasion, it appears we did not exceed your expectations as we try to do with all our guests.
Please note that Complimentary WiFi is available in the reception area should you visit us again...
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

955 - 961 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

The staff were friendly, the rooms were ok.
The price was high, it wasn't very clean.
The mattress was awful. There were weird noises coming from the street that sounded like they were coming from the room next doors, it may have been due to renovations. I know that if you book ahead you can get a much better room for the same price elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilia07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us.
It appears that we fell short of meeting your expectations on this occasion and for this, I apologize.
However, I am pleased to read that you found our team members friendly and the hotel well-located.
I do look forward to the possiblity of welcoming you back should your travels bring you to Cairns.
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights during the ironman triathlon festival. Staff were happy for us to check in early despite not having arranged prior. Room was clean, quiet and comfortable and in this price bracket was more than satisfactory given it's ideal location right on the esplanade. We had a standard room but still had mountain and partial water views which were wonderful. The balcony was a bonus, an ideal place to relax in the evenings to enjoy the sunsets. The room was serviced daily and apart from a bit of sketchy tv reception, we couldn't fault any aspect of the stay. The staff were the point of difference for me as without exception they were fantastic and a credit to thr hotel. Would highly recommend to anyone looking in this price bracket.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Johnnygypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to post your review following your recent stay with us.
My team and I thoroughly enjoyed looking after the many triathletes that stayed with us during the Cairns Adventure Festival - it was a fantastic time to be visiting the tropics.
I'm thrilled to read your complimentary review and am thrilled that your experienced some great customer service during your time with us - it is what we pride ourselves on and am glad that on most occasions, we "get it right".
We look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit Cairns.
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The staff were outstanding at this hotel, couldn't have had a better experience.
The hotel was on the main road of Cairns, at the furthest end away..but still within walking distance from restaurants and bars.
Reasonably priced, clean and friendly staff, couldn't have wanted more!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your kind review focusing on our friendly team members - we pride ourselves on ensuring guests remember us for our friendliness especially.
We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back shoudl your travels bring you to our part of the world again...!
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Room was great , loved the view. Great position. The standard of the toiletries could do with a rethink and a minibar would be good.
On the whole the staff were great and the room was clean and tidy, I will be staying here again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

And we look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit.
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Were told by Paolo, the manager that this was the first hotel in Cairns. The staff were lovely and helpful. We had one of the refurbished rooms w/ refrigerator and hot pot for making coffee (coffee supplies included) Borrowed a hairdryer from reception. There are no in room safes. The hotel provided toiletries but I must say they weren't great. The hotel advertises free WiFi but it was down while we were there. However, Paolo let me access e-mail from his computer to check on my elderly mother. They have a great little pool but it is "on the street". Brochures for various activities in the lobby and the staff are great w/ making bookings or suggestions. Also be sure to ask what's going on at the Tanks, music/art venue at the Botanical Gardens. Hotel is easy walk down the Esplanade to restaurants, the Night Market etc. We actually walked to the Botanical Gardens, about a 40 minute walk. Cairns is expensive; food in restaurants, activities etc. We did thoroughly enjoy our stay in Cairns..in part due to the staff at the hotel and the location of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms. Some rooms have microwaves in addition to refrigerators thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pachappa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Ladies - thank you for taking time to post your comments following your recent stay with us.
We will certainly look into our amenities into the future.
I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that my team and I played a part in enjoying your time in our part of the world.
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at the cairns plaza over the easter weekend ,it was a nice room with seperate lounge and bedroom , the staff were very helpful and friendly and good value for money $95.00 per night , breakfast is not included but the room has facilities with a microwave and all equipment to cook . it is close to shops and walking distance to the RSL which has good food , i cant say the same for the staff there, they are very abrupt and a little disinterested in serving you . the room at the plaza overlooked the water and it was lovely seeing all the birdlife flying in to roust at dusk. this was not the first time i have stayed there ,and will not be my last . to get to the airport a mini bus line called Sun Palm will transfer you for $7.50 a head door to door they also transfer to your hotel from the airport for $ 10.00 per head all in all a lovely stay

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for a sea view room 507 is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desley l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your response following your recent stay.
It is always great to receive such positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit Cairns.
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
634 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.7 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#15 of 63 in Cairns
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Plaza Hotel

Address: 145 The Esplanade Cairns | Cnr. The Esplanade & Minnie St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: $85 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cairns Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 1/2 star Hotel located about 2 blocks from center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cairns Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing