We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in quite location”
Review of Palm Royale Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palm Royale Cairns
Ranked #32 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
County Clare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel in quite location”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights.. No wifi unless you pay five dollars per hour and no restaurant in hotel. Too far to walk to the city.. Other than that two great pools king size beds and nice quite location great value for what we paid.. All in all would definitely come back if stating in cairns again

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Irishlad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    196
    123
    50
    35
See reviews for
89
168
45
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
219 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in February and found to be very restful with no road noise even though it is located on a main road. The pool area is fantastic as it is surrounded by tall buildings therefore no excess wind, just a gentle breeze from an archway onto it. The rooms were clean and serviced every day. Ther is only one problem it is a little out of the centre so a car or taxi is required.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the pool area ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griff888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

the hotel itself is fairly nice though a bit run down in places. i never actually made it in either pool, but they seem very nice, at least aesthetically. the staff is very friendly and accommodating and breakfast is decent. my complaints would be that the hotel is located in the suburbs and the area seems a bit sketchy. this wouldn't be that terrible if there was anything to do at the hotel, but there is no restaurant, no bar, and any drinking has to be done in your room. i guess it's a good value for the money, but if you want to do anything in town, you are going to spend more in buses or taxis getting back and forth.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and i stay in this hotel everytime we visit cairns. Price is very reasonable and it is close enough to everything. Rooms could use a little renovation but you get for what you pay for i guess. We will actually book in a couple of rooms on january when my family will be visiting australia

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutogski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We always stop in Cairns as flights arrive late and this is one of our favorites. Next door is a local mini mall with a great selection of food. Shop for some good wine cheese bread fruit and hang out at the pool with the kids. Rooms are basic. AirCon can be noisy, toilet shower leaks but the staff are accommodating in changing rooms. Used to have free airport shuttle which was a real plus to its location as it is far from busy centre. May look for other options closer to city on next visit.

Room Tip: AirCon can be noisy, toilet shower leaks but the staff are accommodating in changing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slingstoned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDLAXSINLHRKIXTAKEAPICK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Palm Royal Cairns was great for me, as I was looking for an inexpensive place to base myself out of for 9 days, whilst I worked in Cairns. I managed to find a pretty good rate online for a King Pool Facing Room.

The Palm Royal, like myself, is looking a little worn and dated. The rooms (I stayed in two over my stay) need a little attention (new T.V.s with DIGITAL channels are a good start), but are adequate, CLEAN, and quiet. The king bed was a little soft for me, but that really is personal choice. I didn't pay too much attention to the pools, but they looked really refreshing. One lap pool for swimming, and one resort style pool for swanning. I made use of the self-serve laundry, very reasonable and CLEAN @ $3/wash and $3/dry. The irons in both rooms I stayed in were immaculate! Not important if you are there for vacation, but important if you are there for work. Ironing board in one room was total rubbish, though.I didn't take advantage of the $15 breakfast, as I was out of there at 0430 most days. Sounded like great value, though. The reception staff were great! Nothing was a problem. Always ready to help. Genuine!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowManyHotelsCanAMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damian l, General Manager at Palm Royale Cairns, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Traveller
Thank you for your recent post. I will discuss your valuable feedback with my team.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is probably one of the best places I have stayed in my 8 week travels so far. I can't believe what you get for the price - a huge ensuite room which is cleaned daily, a choice of three swimming pools, pretty resort like feeling, laundries, friendly staff, incredible buffet breakfast (only $15) and the list goes on. Its a little bit away from the hustle and bustle of Cairns and if you don't have a car they offer a shuttle bus. Woolworths is in walking distance as is a gym and other shops. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room facing the pool as its quieter than the ones facing the road. I think t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherrynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damian l, General Manager at Palm Royale Cairns, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Traveller

Thank you for your recent post. It was a pleasure to read that you felt you got amazing value. I will pass this on to the team.
Wishing you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.9 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
465 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#18 of 64 in Cairns
481 reviews
2.2 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
111 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Royale Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Royale Cairns

Property: Palm Royale Cairns
Address: 7 - 11 Chester Court, Cairns, Queensland 1870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Royale Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Royale Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Cairns Hotel Cairns
Palm Royale Hotel Cairns
Cairns Palm Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing