We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It did the job” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Royale Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Royale Cairns
Ranked #33 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It did the job”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were looking for an affordable place to stay before and after a 3 day scuba diving trip out to the reef. It did the job, nothing more. The room's were basic, the place needs a refurbishment and it's not walking distance from the main area of shops and restaurants so you should factor in taxi costs of up to $20 in each direction. Whilst the pool area was very pretty, the water is absolutely freezing to the point of unpleasantness. This might be great during the stinking heat of the middle of summer... but not in the temperate winter months.

This was also the start of our honeymoon, and whilst the staff were friendly, they made no attempt to make it special for us... in fact, they joked about a 'honeymoon treat' being in our room but there was nothing. A tad crass.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AussieRachG80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    192
    119
    50
    35
See reviews for
86
163
44
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Palm Royale for the last five days of September and it was a very pleasant stay. Staff were very friendly and always willing to assist you in every possible way. Although not located in Cairns CBD it was a 10min drive by a Shuttle bus which runs every so often.
Room was ample and apparently all rooms have view to either one of the two pools available for guests.
I would most certainly stay away, hotel is neat and well maintained, only one minor thing was the small stained marks on the bed linen which we did not complain about.
I certainly would recommend as it is good value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms have view over the pool, no need to worry. Balcony is a plus considering that the palm tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JamesAlbert2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were it or expecting such a big room and bed. Clean Gorgous bathroom. And a balcony area connected to pool garden. Felt like one of the big resorts Defently not like a budget one. For the 70 dollars we paid we will come back. The area it's in is a little away from cairns there is a shopping centre with woollies just across the road. We went out at night for a walk and lots of teens where out in groups looking a lIttle concerning. We guessed that the area might be housing commission. In the resort itself you feel save so and you don't realise during the day the it's just a normal area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Germaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed two nights, it was a very short walk to the venue I was officiating at. Room was great, facing the pool, away from the road so no issues with traffic noise.
Very comfortable and clean.
The shopping centre next door, negated the need to pay, I believe $21 for breakfast? The two for one vouchers making it half price, but it was not advertised or promoted very well, apart from "full cooked english". Gave it a miss.
There are regular buses from the shopping centre to town, the cab fair was $25 from the airport, their shuttle is $10 each.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daj59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We only spent one night there but enjoyed the facilities onsite. Buffet breakfast is great value and as a guest we received extra discount. It's only 5 minute drive from city central. Parking onsite is a bit hectic when they're busy but there was ample off-street parking right outside. Staff very attentive and friendly - the only complaint is the TV didn't work but as we were there one night only it was no big deal. The building is looking a little tired in places but the room itself was clean, comfortable and well set out.

Room Tip: We chose the executive room, king size bed + single bed. Balcony overlooking pool (not lap pool) ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mym M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damian l, General Manager at Palm Royale Cairns, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Traveller
Thank you for your recent post. I will be discussing your feedback with the team and appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments.
Wishing you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had booked for 7 nights, stayed for 6. The room was ok, it was clean & tidy, nice outlook onto the pool area. We had had an early start & were looking forward to a sleep on arrival, however the traffic was so noisey, we couldnt sleep. One night I put a radio on to distract the busy road noise. I had asked to be moved to the other side of the complex but were denied the request. There is no onsite food or bar, however across the road is a shopping centre, handy to buy fresh foods, Yum King Prawns, there is also a bar & nice food next to the shopping complex. I dont know if there was room service???

Room Tip: Get a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Firstly I would like to thank the fabulous staff at the Palm Royale. My mother was in a wheelchair and most of my interaction was with the respectful cleaning staff..they were bright , happy and professional. The managing staff were also fantastic. The room was comfortable and they moved us to a pool view with no worries when we checked in . The balcony was great to sit on, and the pools were fabulous. For the cheap price I could not believe how good it was. Any one complaining here must have rocks in their head. You do need to rent a car.

Room Tip: high floor over the pool so you can see the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
2.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cairns Tropical Garden Motel
2.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#25 of 65 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Royale Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Royale Cairns

Property: Palm Royale Cairns
Address: 7 - 11 Chester Court, Cairns, Queensland 1870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Royale Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Palm Royale Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Cairns Hotel Cairns
Palm Royale Hotel Cairns
Cairns Palm Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing