We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired”
Review of Palm Royale Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palm Royale Cairns
Ranked #31 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tired”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Palm Royale was very affordable. Can't complain of the cost. A long way from the action if you do not have a vehicle. The resort is quite tired and in need of some basic repair and a good paint job. The bed was the worst I have slept in. Very strange that they still have
Analogue TV and not Digital. I questioned one of the guys on reception and got some story that they had a contract with a supplier for Analogue. If that is the case a simple set top box could be supplied for each room. They do have a lift in each block. That is good except the one in our block had a terrible odor. A good clean would have helped. Good daily service and our room was kept clean. Mostly street parking.

Room Tip: Not the best location and a bit tired but good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARRY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    195
    122
    50
    35
See reviews for
88
168
44
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Don't let the price fool you. One of the cheapest properties in Cairns but great value for money. The resort is designed around two gorgeous swimming pools and the landscaped gardens create a true tropical oasis. The rooms are comfortable and clean if not a little worn. Our room comfortably slept three with a lovely view of the lagoon pool. I would be very happy to stay again. We had a rental car which made getting to the hotel and in and out of the city easy but I believe there are also good public transport links and a hotel airport shuttle.

Room Tip: Request a pool view room overlooking the lagoon on the third level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EndlessDiscovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damian l, General Manager at Palm Royale Cairns, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Traveller

Thank you for your recent feedback. I am especially happy to hear that you felt like you got value for money. I will pass on your comments to my team and I hope to receive you back at Palm Royale in the future.
Wishing you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Palm Royale Cairns for 4 nights. The hotel was so out of town (5 to 10 klm) and we did not chance it by walking into town due to the police signs on the hotel sliding doors and being advised against it. We suffered from sleep deprivation because of it, no alarm was required as the flock of white cockatoos are more than happy to wake you up with their sqwarking every morning. The pool and surrounding grounds were lovely, however the rooms were quite basic. We had an extra loud airconditioning system that made it hard to sleep at night, it sounded like a plane taking off. Lucky there was a ceiling fan, even though it looked like it was about to take off as well. The walls had dead mosquito remains on them and our bathroom door did not close at all, just as well that I was travelling with a close friend and not a stranger. Overall the staff was lovely, however the hotel needs to be modernised and renovated where necessary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damian l, General Manager at Palm Royale Cairns, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Traveller
Thank you for providing us with some feedback about your stay. Guest feedback is very important to us as we can use this as a platform to move forward. I will be discussing your comments with my team so we can serve our guests better in the future.
Warm regards and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here for six days while attending to family business in Cairns. We had a great stay in this well priced no frills resort.
Pros:
Two lovely pools
Tropical gardens surrounding rooms
Large very clean room, we had a pool view and balcony which was very pleasant to sit on in the afternoon
King Size bed
Good Size bathroom
Daily housekeeping
Very friendly, efficient staff
In house breakfast available
right next door to shopping centre
Good supply of complementary tea/coffee
Shuttle bus available
Elevator
3 guest laundries

Could be cons but did not worry us, especially with the great prices they charge:
Air con pretty noisy
Out of the main part of town so you need a car
Not a lot of parking so you may have to park on the street at night
Buildings getting a bit run down but does not affect your room or stay

All things considered this is a great place to stay especially for the price. We will stay here again when we next come to Cairns.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fayvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damian l, General Manager at Palm Royale Cairns, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Traveller

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our resort and will return. I will discuss your comments with my team in order to serve our guests better in the future. Once again thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments.
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is very out of town. So much so you really could not walk it, and we were told on several occasions not to walk anywhere after 9:00. The area did not feel that unsafe,but I listen to the locals. Once we rented a car, the location was great, away from the downtown party scene. Rooms were decent and front desk friendly. There is a Red Rooster across the street and a shopping plaza too, but everything shuts down at 9, so if your plane gets in late, plan on buying cup-of-soup from the front desk. Internet is pricey, $5 an hour, but typical for Australia. Pool looks great, but it was too cold to swim. Parking is free.

Room Tip: These are motel style with outdoor entry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Loved this hotel. Always has a room available even in school holidays. Asked for the best room available last night and spent $75 on a double room balcony overlooking the pool everything clean and beds comfy. Very happy with this one we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damian l, General Manager at Palm Royale Cairns, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Laura
Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor. I happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and felt we offered value for money. I will pass on your comments to the team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Friend booked on Internet and not being savvy had not checked location. So that was surprise. We bought the 3-day bus pass but found the timetable limited so hired car. As it was raining a bit we also made day trips rather than lounge by pool as had been our plan. Whole building is rather shabby and reception entrance appears dominated by sad 'shop' and a large drinks machine. The staff are terrific - Sonsri and Mark could not have been more pleasant, helpful and welcoming. My room was OK but my friend's smelled damp. I was overlooking the cafe which meant being woken early by noise from staff and guests. The noise of other guests coming up from poolside or balconies was a bit irritating in the later evening but all up I slept we'll on my very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tassiejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damian l, General Manager at Palm Royale Cairns, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Traveller

Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that the resort and location did not meet your expectations. Our amenities shop has recently been added and has received lots of positive comments, again I am sorry you felt it wasn't up to standard.
As always I will discuss your comments with my team in order to serve our guests better in the future and I will certainly pass on your kind words about Sonsri and Mark. Once again thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
2.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#25 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cairns Tropical Garden Motel
2.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Royale Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Royale Cairns

Property: Palm Royale Cairns
Address: 7 - 11 Chester Court, Cairns, Queensland 1870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Royale Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Royale Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Cairns Hotel Cairns
Palm Royale Hotel Cairns
Cairns Palm Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing