We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant value”
Review of Palm Royale Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Royale Cairns
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel is in real need of an update but for the price it's perfect. The staff were really friendly & happy to help. The pool area is gorgeous! We stayed here during Easter but it was still really quiet, we hardly saw anyone & had both pools to ourselves!
Our room was standard but comfortable & clean, the maid came in each day.
The centre is 20 minutes away by bus, we bought a weekly pass for $20. The hotel is across the road from a shopping centre which has everything you could need, including free wifi!
The hotel itself does have wifi you can buy access to & the signal can be picked up inside reception and around the pool area, it's not cheap though.
I'd recommend asking for a pool view room, our room was at the very end of the hotel & it felt a bit out of it.
The tv is outdated, it only has about 5 channels and the price of the movies are ridiculous but there again we didn't need it.
We really enjoyed our stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damian l, General Manager at Palm Royale Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hi there

Thank you for your latest review. I will be discussing your comments with my team.
If you are ever in Cairns again we would love to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
There are newer reviews for Palm Royale Cairns
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 495 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

The good:
Rooms are very nice, the family room is large and comfortable and most balconys seem to overlook the two very large pools.
Both the family and king room were clean and well presented.
Loved the large pool and waterfall very nice area around the pool. Shopping centre, tavern, bottle shop straight across the road. Central to either south side or north side.
Great price....

The Bad:
Resort is a few years old and outside starting to deteriorate but it does give it feature for the style of resort.
TVs are small :( No Austar and expensive inhouse movie hire.
Bit of a walk to the rooms but I am lazy lol.

Definitely stay here again for sure.....

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Clinton A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damian l, General Manager at Palm Royale Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Clinton
Thank you so much for your review. I always like to discuss Trip Advisor reviews with my team and will be doing so with yours.
I appreciate your feedback as this really does help us moving forward.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Palm Royale should you be in Cairns again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I guess that the hotel was built about 20 years ago to a very ambitious design. Some of the decor is getting a bit worn and the breakfast was not very fresh but otherwise the standard of accommodation was very good. It was very inexpensive by comparison with other hotels.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms appear to open onto one of the two swimming pools but make sure that you get one t...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StEllesmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damian l, General Manager at Palm Royale Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor report. We will be addressing your feedback as a team so we can move the property forward. Feedback is very important to us as it is a clear indication of how our guests view our product.
Once again thank you for your feedback and I wish you safe travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Staying here for 6 nights. Good value for the price but just a tad out of town.
Great ac in room good king size bed and nice pools.
Place is a bit run down. They have old small box tvs without digital and expect you to pay $15.95 to hire a movie.
They seem to put more effort into the old colonial homestead which is nearby and is owned by same people.
Hire a car or pay $25 for weekly bus pass which is the hotel courtesy shuttle which leaves the city at latest 9pm.
This should be free.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buddy1842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is located about 6 KM from the city center but very well connected through shuttle services operated by the hotel which run at convenient/tourist friendly timing. The rooms are spacious, clean and functional. The swimming pool is huge and clean. Good thing about the hotel is the availability of a Guest room after check out time and they allow the usage of the pools after check out and provide free towel as well. The staff are very friendly and customer focused. Good place to stay at such a low cost

Room Tip: Ask for a room nearer to the elevators
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vbala2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel actually has 2 pools. The beautiful rock pool and a huge lap pool.
The rooms are very clean and the staff very helpful.
The Hotel is enormous.
There is a small car park but most cars have to be parked on the street.
As usual with Australian hotels, No Internet.
When are the accommodation places in this country going to catch up with the rest of the world and supply free internet.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheriiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damian l, General Manager at Palm Royale Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Hi
Thank you for your recent post. I will pass on you feedback to my team.
We do currently have limited internet access at the resort accessible in the main foyer and breakfast café. We are in the process of upgrading which will allow us to provide our guests with Wi-Fi access throughout the resort. This will take some time but will hopefully be up and running next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

The only bad comment would be that the place needs a tidy up. Dont get me wrong it is very clean just has plaster missing in noticable spots. for the price i would not go past it and the pools are great. overall i am happy and would stay here again. p.s. take the stairs we grew that little bit older waiting for the lift.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkyeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.9 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 64 in Cairns
500 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
504 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Comfort Inn Cairns City
#34 of 64 in Cairns
233 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#43 of 64 in Cairns
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Royale Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Royale Cairns

Address: 7 - 11 Chester Court, Cairns, Queensland 1870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $58 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Royale Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Royale Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Cairns Hotel Cairns
Palm Royale Hotel Cairns
Cairns Palm Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing