We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Cairns”
Review of Palm Royale Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palm Royale Cairns
Ranked #32 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Main Beach, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best value in Cairns”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Excellent value for money. Friendly staff. Large clean rooms, comfortable beds, quiet environs. Big safe swimming pools Pub just across the road with great inexpensive meals. I cant say a bad word!

I travel to Sydney, Canberra, Melbourne and Adelaide on a weekly basis and nothing beats this! The Cairns weather helps ;-)

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are the choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    196
    123
    50
    35
See reviews for
89
168
45
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold coast
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Certainly not a 4 star resort but it is cheap. We stayed for 6 nights at $70 a night. The only other hotel available for the time was $170 a night. The rooms are very clean but the beds were the most uncomfortable that I have ever slept in and the pillows were way past their use by date. We were booked for an executive room but on our arrival were told they had overbooked so were putting us in a regular room but would give us 2 for the price of 1 breakfasts for each day of our stay. I thought that sounded good until our first breakfast. It cost $22 per adult. As we were only 1 adult and 2 kids they let me use the 2 kids as the other adult. But seriously, the breakfast was not great. It was cold and tasteless. We only used it once and decided we could get better value eating somewhere else. The pool is awesome. The kids had a ball in it. Definitely need a Car to stay here though its about 10 min drive out of town. Small shopping centre across the road which is handy with a Coles and a food court and a red rooster. Great value for money we would stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Österreich
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

You know - to be a 4 star hotel there has to be more. clean corridors, a adjustable aircon (and much more silent). The rooms are so noisy - you cant sleep without earplugs. The Staff was ok. And the rooms could definitly be more clean. so if you have another chance in cairns. i would recommend it to you,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eulinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you are looking for somewhere cheap and clean this is for you. We got two rooms side by side for husband and I and two teenagers - staff were only too happy to ensure next to each other. We paid less for these two rooms here than we would have for one on the Cairns Esplande were we would have been cramped togehter with no privacy. Pools were very clean and right next to rooms- ours faced the pool with small balcony area to sit, the entranceto the room facing a busy road that we could not hear at all. I was surprised how quiet it was. Bed very comfortable and room very clean but outdated. If you dont mind being out of town a bit and have a car this place is very affordable. Would not suit those looking for some luxury or a romantic break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ddelane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurworth-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

stopped here 4 nights got a great deal off hotwire only booked one night through them and then the hotel offered the same rate with the additional nights which was good of them. rooms were nice size and had a decent bathroom. 2 large pools were also a bonus. only down point was the hotel wasn't within walking distance of the town centre and the bus service didnt run very often.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

If you want a quiet winter getaway this is great value for money. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and if you dont want to stay right in town then this place is handily opposite a shopping centre and you can also take a bus into town from there. Also available is a shuttle bus from and to the airport for a reasonable price. The pools are clean. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Not 5 star but really good for the price. I enjoyed my stay and would go again if I get the opportunity to go to Cairns again.

Room Tip: If you want to do a lot of visiting I would suggest you hire a car as the hotel is out of the city c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

After getting a pool view room for 50 dollars a night, I didn't really expect much from this resort. However I was pleasantly surprised as I got to my room. It was very clean, the pool was only a few metres away from the room, and I had a king size bed that was very comfortable and I had a great sleep! Staff were also professional.

I guess the downsides of the hotel are the location, it is a bit far away from things and isn't in the safest spot in Cairns. A car is pretty handy. Also no wifi was a bit of a bummer but I guess it is 'boutique'. Otherwise much better than expected!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.9 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
465 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#18 of 64 in Cairns
481 reviews
2.2 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
111 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Royale Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Royale Cairns

Property: Palm Royale Cairns
Address: 7 - 11 Chester Court, Cairns, Queensland 1870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Royale Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Royale Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Cairns Hotel Cairns
Palm Royale Hotel Cairns
Cairns Palm Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing