We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    575
    220
    50
    13
See reviews for
267
531
110
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This hotel was a bit far from the centre of Cairns with only a few restaurants close by. The hotel was clean and staff pleasant. They allowed us to leave our car on their property while we left Cairns for a couple of days. There were 2 double beds for 4 people and we only received 2 towels each day, had to request more. Internet is available in the rooms but costly, I do not understand why it is not made free to guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familytravellers512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Hello familytravellers512,

Feedback is the building blocks for a great hotel. Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing the Mercure Cairns Harbourside.

The Hotel offers a free shuttle bus service to the City Centre each hour from 10am through till 10pm; help saves the legs from walking.

Hope you family travels were pleasant while away from home.

Kind Regards,

Nick Pelucchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed for 10 days, had a few issues with the front desk and admin re our booking but has now been resolved. Hope no-one else has to go through same embarrassment.
We were on 7th floor, very spacious high-ceilinged room, view from very large balcony was spectacular!!! Cleanliness and age of furniture and fittings left a lot to be desired. Needs a BIG reno.
The noise from the machinery building the new pool was somewhat annoying through the day when we wanted to have a quiet nap. Also building noise from nearby houses, JACKHAMMER ON CONCRETE FOR ONE WHOLE DAY!!!!!
The food in the dining room was great. Buffet breakfasts plentiful and lots of variety. Dinner at night was exceptional, beautifully presented, tasty, plentiful and lots of choice. The young (and older!!) waiting staff were very helpful, chatty, patient and only too happy to please.
The daily shuttle bus to town, every hour on the hour to 10 pm, was a great bonus.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite (room 706) with a large balcony that went around corner, this time of year the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malton468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear malton 468,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor post following your recent stay at Mercure Cairns Harbourside - it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by the pool refurbishment works during your stay, particularly as there were external works to the hotel being conducted on the same day, however as I am sure you appreciate the latter are out of the hotel's control.

I will share your comments with the Food and Beverage Teams as I sure they will act as motivation for each individual to continue providing the high levels of guest service that our guests have become accustomed to.

I hope to welcome you back to Mercure Cairns Harbourside in the near future,

Best Regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was a convenient base whilst we visited the reef, Kuranda and the botanical gardens. The hotel was around 20 minutes walk from the town centre, so we tended to take their free shuttle bus to get into town, and then stroll back after dinner, shopping etc this was fine as it is an easy walk along the seafront boardwalk. The botanical gardens are outside town, but walkable from the hotel.
Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, all spot on and as booked.
We had breakfast in the hotel each morning and there was a good selection of hot and cold to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrewinDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hello TrewinDorset,

Lovely to hear you were able to utilize the shuttle bus into town, walking back is a great option.

We very much hope to see you again

Kind Regards,

Nick Pelucchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#6 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
1.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Property: Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing