We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed for three night early April in ocean view Privilege room on 7th floor. Room very roomy and very well presented with high ceilings, good kitchen area, large living area and good size balcony with tables and chairs. Room included free wi-fi, complementary water, newspapers tea and coffee and espreeo coffee machine View over the parklands and ocean were excellent, we could see from the airport to the casino from balcony, the view of the evening with the lights was great. Service by the staff was excellent, nothing was a trouble to the bar and restaurant staff but cleaning could do to be improved a bit. Generally a great hotel and an enjoyable stay, would certainly return again and will recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Top floor in privilege room well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemaltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Lemaltan,

Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisro and allowing us the opportunity to respond to your feedback.

I am glad to hear overall of your thoughts that you enjoyed the hotel however there are a few items that I need to follow up with our team. I apologies that we were not able to meet your expectations regarding your cleanliness of your room. I have passed this information onto our Housekeeping Executive to discuss with her team.

Once again thank you for your response and I look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind regards,
Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    654
    234
    53
    18
See reviews for
295
604
127
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the end of our trip. Our room was big, clean and updated. I loved having a balcony with seating! We were even surprised with a complimentary bottle of champagne because it was our honeymoon. We took the free shuttle to and from town a few times, but the walk along the boardwalk is also nice and only takes about 20 minutes. The bar/restaurant staff was very friendly and great to chat with.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Megan A,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Harbourside Cairns. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your honeymoon.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Sincerely,
Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at the Mercure harbourside hotel on a holiday to Australia and Asia in March. This was one of my favourite hotels! We had a balcony, a beautiful sea view and a double bed each; all for a great price! Hotel staff were very friendly and went out of there way to help us; lending us umbrellas, giving great holiday tips and advice and printing our boarding passes for us! Everything was in order in this hotel and very professional! The free shuttle bus is a great service, although walking to the city centre isn't to far away.

Room Tip: request a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David912014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear David912014,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Harbourside Cairns. It is always a pleasure to receive great feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Sincerely,

Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
836 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Booking process and check in was hassle free. Booked via the accor.com website.
Location is very good. 10 min drive from airport. 5 min drive to the pier. Stayed over for two nights. Room very good size, albeit slightly outdated. But sufficiently good for a short stay.
The room we stayed in had a small kitchenette. Handy for any last minute cooking or a mid night snack.
Service wise they were very helpful. The hotel manager Pre-empted our coral reef trip and handed us two extra towels. Wi-Fi was available at a very nominal charge. Very old TV but not a big deal. Very helpful waiter at their restaurant. Swimming pool under renovating.
Would recommend it for sure, but will only give it 4 stars, due to slightly outdated room, which can be easily rectified with a few minor touches.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varun_mukthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Varun_mukthi,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Mercure Cairns Harbourside on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will definitely share your comments with the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Mercure Harbourside for 3 nights earlier this month. The hotel was really nice. We had an ocean view, which was gorgeous! The hourly shuttle to town was really convenient and a great feature. The pool was closed for renovation, based on some damage from a storm, but we probably weren't going to use it anyway, so we didn't mind. They also had offered a shuttle to their sister-hotel so people could use their pool, so that was nice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Melissa O,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisro, it is important that we receive feedback so that we can continue to improve our services and facilities to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,210 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Property: Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing