We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank gillman_je
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,385)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 653 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank WaKeL
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed in this hotel 3 days this month (2-5 Jan). It was a bit far from city centre, but there is a very useful free hotel bus service every hour to get there. The best thing was the great ocean and explanade view from our balcony, at the 6 floor. The sore point was the breakfast, the quality of food was medium-low compared to the average of breakfasts we had in our trip to australia. Anyway the room was large, clean and equipped with all the comforts. Another lack was the free wi-fi, it was only on payment, nowadays I find it ridiculous.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkjadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Ikjadvisor,

Thank you for your recent response on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at the Mercure Cairns Harbourside. I am glad to hear overall of your thoughts that you enjoyed the hotel however there are a few items that I need to follow up with the team. I apologies that we were not able to meet your expectations regarding the breakfast, I have passed this information onto our Executive Chef to discuss with his team.

Once again thank you for your response and we look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind regards,
Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Very limited crockery and cutlery. Room slept 4 but only supplied 2 cups, glasses, teaspoons, towels etc. Very few power points for the needs of a familys technology charging needs! Lovely comfy beds which made a flat laptop battery all worth it.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Julie H,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, it is important that we receive feedback so that we can continue to improve our services and facilities to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here many times, many years ago. So it was almost a homecoming. Spacious well maintained room, spotlessly clean, a comfortable bed, superb balcony view, quiet, everything works very well! Including the plumbing, airconditioning and the smooth fast elevators. The staff are quite outstanding .... reception, bar and restaurant. A warm friendly welcome, happy smiles, they are all polite and thoughtful. Some places in Cairns could take a lesson from them.
A pity some parents don't discipline their annoying little brats .... the bar and foyer are not childrens' play areas. The no smoking signs at the hotel entrance steps. ...... some people just can't read!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Mick35,

Thank you very much for your recent comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Harbourside Cairns. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards,
Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I stayed here for two nights, a couple nights apart. The hotel consists of a couple different towers. My first stay was in a "standard" room. This room is very dated, somewhat unclean and torn up, and is at best a two star hotel room. Definitely not what you typically find at an Accor hotel, and I cannot recommend staying here.

The second night I stayed in a different tower, and this room was more in line with what I'd expect, and I'd stay here again. It was spacious, had more contemporary furnishings, and was newer and cleaner.

The hotel is far from the action in Cairns. While they do run a shuttle, at times, it is overbooked which can delay your return. If you're in the mood for a bit of a walk, walking down the Esplanade to Cairns is quite nice.

Room Tip: Do not book standard rooms, they are terrible (old, outdated, dirty, of 2* quality).
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zracoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2014

Dear Zracoon,

Thanks for the review.

I do apologise you didn't experience the greatest of stays. I do hope you return in the future.

Kind Regards,

Thomas Kelly
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I had a one-night stay at this hotel in Jan 2014. The check in was efficient and very friendly. I arrived early and my room wasn't available yet, so they gave me an equivalent room that was available to enable me to check in early, which was very welcome after an early morning flight.

The room was spacious and clean, with necessities provided. Not "luxurious" as such, but at the price I paid (<$100), it was better than expected. Bathroom was somewhat outdated, but very functional in any event.

The hotel is not located in the centre of town, so if going to the centre expect a walk of about 20 minutes (at comfortable slow pace) or take advantage of the free shuttle which runs every hour. I walked into town and back - it is a very pleasant stroll along the esplanade.

The only minor gripe was the noise level - I was able to hear plumbing noises, people talking outside rooms next door and a variety of other small noises. Didn't disturb me, but may be an issue for someone who is a very light sleeper. There might be quieter areas of the hotel that would be more suitable for those disturbed by minor noise.

Good, comfortable, hotel overall and was good value at the price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyte_of_fancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Flyte_of_fancy,

Thank you for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor Review following your recent stay at Mercure Cairns Harbourside. I am glad to hear overall of your thoughts that you enjoyed the hotel.

Once again thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
4.3 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $100 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Blue Mango Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing