We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
mullingar
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Luxury”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

we spent our last night in Cairns in this hotel before travelling back to Sydney the following morning - the room was nice - the location was a bit far out but the hotel offers a bus into town that will also collect later which is good - the bar was lovely - wine bar only from all we saw but it was very nice - very quiet and had peaceful sleep - lovely swimming pool

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivienne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    654
    234
    52
    18
See reviews for
295
604
127
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jermyn, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights while visiting Cairns. Our room was spacious and clean. The view from our balcony was very pretty and overlooked the bay. The staff was very helpful and made several re-confirmation calls to tour companies and transport for us. The pool was clean and refreshing, but was virtually unused by others during our stay. We ate in the restaurant two nights and found the service and food very good. Although the hotel is on the Esplande, it is about a 15 minute walk to downtown Cairns, but there is a free shuttle service to the city center that runs hourly.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAtrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooktown
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Every thing was very good and to a high standard with the execption of the bar staff which we find to be very slow and of a poor quality in comparassion with the very good services throughout the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank gillman_je
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi gillman_je,

I'm really sorry about your experience in the bar. I have passed this onto Troy my F&B Manager to discuss with his team.

I thank you for proving the hotel with your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.


Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Excellent hotel. Lovely large well presented room with a balcony and ocean view. A well stocked hospitality tray. Extremely comfortable bed. Good breakfast options. Would have loved to have stayed here longer.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaclovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi vaclovers,

Thank you very much for your recent review especially from a Senior Contributor, we would have loved to have you stay longer.....

I hope you had a safe trip home and we look forward to welcoming you back to our shores.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here while overnighting in Cairns and it was lovely!

The staff at the reception were friendly, even that late in the evening (9pm) and she checked me in quickly and without a fuss.

The room was great! Large, comfortable and I even got a great view of the bay! The bed was super comfortable and I slept really well.

The only problem was the hot water took a while to heat up in the morning (4am) but I wasn't too fussed because I had a lovely hot shower before going to bed.

It's close to the airport too taking only 10 minutes to get there and back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_El_QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi Miss_El_QLD,

Wow, 170 contributions, we feel honoured that you have taken the time out to write about our hotel it means a lot.

Thank you for your comments; I have discussed the water issue with my Chief Engineer who is onto it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,


Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Not knowing much about Cairns, we chose Mercure because it was located on the Esplanade (which we had been told was the place to stay); the price was reasonable; and we have used Mercure hotels before and know them to be of good quality. Reception staff were most welcoming and were more than happy to help us with reservations for day tours, etc. The restaurant and bar staff were fabulous too. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and made us feel like VIPs. The rooms were spotless each day and we had an ocean view, which was lovely. The hotel is perhaps a little far from the main shopping district, but we did not mind too much as we like walking, and we were woken by a drunken argument in the park across the road on one night, but that was only once. I'd be happy to stay there again if I return to Cairns in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Seadew33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi seadew33,

Thank you choosing our hotel on your first experience to Cairns; I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your time in the region.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henlow Beds
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We spent three nights at this hotel, which was chosen by Austravel for us. The room was very large with good facilities, and the service everywhere was excellent. Wifi also worked well and was reasonably priced. Restaurants and bar were all good, as was the food. The breakfast was amazing, with good fruit and although we had the continental, the full English looked very good. About twenty minute walk to centre but free shuttle bus on the hour was very convenient.Would definitely love to go again to Cairns and stay at that hotel.

Room Tip: Views at the back are better with a sea view, but our room at the front had a nice mountain view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi David F,

I really appreciate the feedback and we would definitely love to have you back at the hotel.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,094 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Property: Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing