We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Away for the "tactiness"!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Away for the "tactiness"!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed them all!! Location proved to be a bonus as it is about 2km up the Esplanade from the tacky parts of Cairns and we had ocean view rooms. Staff were great and very helpful!! Breakfasts very good and good value. Dinner ok but needs improvement. Beware the hotel shuttle into town gets crowed in the evening and there is no queing system, so be ready to scramble on the way in and on the way back to the hotel. Would stay again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzVenture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    623
    229
    52
    18
See reviews for
284
576
122
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

A clean and nice hotel facing the beach. There is free shuttle hourly to the city center, it will be good to schedule half-hourly during peak like shortly after check in time and in the late afternoon to early evening.
The service desk staffs are friendly and helpful, pity them that they will need to be the driver of the free shuttle and coping with the front desk request. Thanks.

Overall, a good and nice hotel to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel many times for both work and personal visits to Cairns and what keeps me coming back is the friendly and helpful staff.
My husband and I were recently married in Cairns and we recommended the Mecure to our guests for their accommodation as the vast majority travelled to Cairns. Nothing was a problem for the wonderful staff especially housekeeping who were happy to work around our constant visitors / wedding preparations. All of the guests who stayed at the Mecure for our wedding had nothing but positive things to say about the hotel.
I have seen some reviews concerning cleanliness and maintenance issues and I must say that in all the nights I've stayed there (at least thirty) I've never had concerns with either of these.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicE178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, AB
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Clean, modern, well equipped rooms, which I guess is all you can ask for.

But you can get this elsewhere in cairns for less money. Location is too far from down town. Good enough if you use the hotel as a base, but not the best to explore cairns itself. Minibar was empty, and had to pay or Internet. Free parking though.

Hotel also failed to process my payment on the pre-auth they took, resulting in the initial charge pending on my Visa for a week, as well as the actual payment being deducted. Not the end of the word. Just annoying and unprofessional.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank scottyjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear scottyjc,

Thank you for your recent comments on Tripadvisor, I am happy to hear that we were able to meet some of your expectations however unable to win you over to consider your next stay at the hotel. I understand that we are a little way out of the CBD however we often have guests stay with us because of the quiet surroundings and the outlook over the Esplanade.

With regards to pre authorisation this is something we are discussing with the banks to allow the instant release of funds as this does make it inconvenient for our guests.

I thank you for feedback and again I would like to take this opportunity to apologies for not meeting your expectations on this occasion.

Kind regards,


Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here on our way out of Queensland, because of its proximity to airport. Too far to walk to downtown, used our car rather than shuttle, parking did not seem to be an issue and was free. We had a HUGE room facing the waterfront (lovely view), the problem here was the TV which was tiny, bed at one end of the HUGE room and small tv at the other, with one sitting chair and one desk chair, TV impossible to see from the bed. Why does an international hotel chain think that an undersized tv is okay for a superior room? A big room needs some furniture. The balcony had 2 chairs and no table. We did enjoy the Nespresso machine and the front desk staff very helpful when we wanted to leave our bags after checkout. Quiet, but would look for somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: ask for harbour front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albertst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear albertst,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor and giving me the opportunity to investigate and respond.

I have viewed the privilege room that you booked, I agree that the TV in this particular room is too small and I have order a larger screen, our rooms on this floor do vary with this being one of the largest in the hotel.

I thank you for this feedback as this has not been mentioned previously since we replaced with new TV's. With regards to the furniture, we are often mindful not to clutter our rooms however we do have an option if guests would like an additional item we can organise something from our conference department.

Once again I thank you for your feedback and hope you provide us with an opportunity to look after you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

OK Hotel which could do better!!!
In Sea View room but all I could see of the sea was between the palm tree leaves which obsured the entire view really.
Interconnecting door between rooms rattling when other occupants opened something or other in their room. Had to Jam with paper to stop rattle. Reported to housekeeping but nothing seemed to be done. Original piece of paper still in door jam.
Half lights in room not working, these did get replaced when reported.
Disappointed in cold hot food at breakfasts. I was always down early for breakfasts so expected the hot section to be at least HOT!. Cold bacon, tomatoes etc. Scrambled eggs very watery. Complained via our tour manager. Suprise suprise, the next breakfast steam was rising from the baine-marie which held the breakfast items.

Room Tip: Ask for room in front block overlooking sea. Rear block rooms of hotel obsured by front block or pal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the_baron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Property: Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing