We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
215 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I booked a one bedroom suite but changed to a sea view room on check in. I loved being on the 7th floor with views over the ocean and would recommend to others.

What I don't understand is why the rooms are so empty? Given that the rooms are very large where is the nice comfortable lounge? It looked like the room was partly furnished.

The first day the room was very basically cleaned, days 2-4 were cleaned by someone else and beautifully done...I would employ them.

Dinner ...don't ask it was really terrible for the price paid. I would not recommend eating at the hotel...sorry I would love to say differently but it was horrible. Staff were fantastic and made the experience worthwhile.

The bus...great but make sure you know where the drop off and pick up point is so you don't miss it.

Overall....great except for the food.

Room Tip: Eat elsewhere and put a a lounge in the room. One chair is a bit lean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic_Traveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    596
    223
    50
    15
See reviews for
277
549
115
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
280 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

A nicely appointed hotel conveniently located near the Esplanade. The view of the bay from our balcony was wonderful. The room was very comfortable and the restaurant and bar were excellent. We stayed two days in all. I had never stayed in a Mercure property before, but will look them up in other cities as this was a very positive experience.Check in and out was very efficient.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlanticTyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Large but older styled room with a very comfortable king bed. Only problem was the bathroom was very small and very dated. Pressure in the shower was very poor. Room and property were clean and well maintained.

A little but out of the city centre, but the free hourly shuttle bus made up for that.

Would stay again if the shower pressure was better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King Island, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

although not in the centre of cairns it is only a short 10/15 minute walk along the esplanade to the centre, or the hotel runs a shuttle bus.the room i had was a garden view room which was large,very clean and comfortable all one needs to relax and unwind .check in was quick and easy with friendly helpful staff.the hotel serves a good breakfast in the dining room.there is a bit of noise from aircraft taking off from the airport but this would be the same for any of the hotels along the esplanade.the noise is not excessive and i only noticed it twice.if your in cairns this hotel is well worth considering.rates are very reasonable compared to some of the same rated hotels in the area

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyOldFella1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Was very happy with my stay at this hotel. After my boyfriend and I had been staying in hostels most of the time as we were travelling up the east coast we decided to spend our last few days of our travels in a hotel. The beds were very comfortable and you could choose what type of pillow you wanted so I got a really soft feather one. I slept so well in this hotel and had lovely sea views from our balcony. Some may complain that it's a little far from town but there is a complimentary shuttle bus that leaves on the hour every hour. If you miss the bus there is a beautiful 25 min walk along the seafront that leads you straight into town, so I never really saw it as a problem. Also the staff here were very pleasant and will be recommending this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheekyclaudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
1.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Property: Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing