We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Cairns B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“convenient and friendly”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights , was very convenient 3 shops up from the night markets and close to all the eateries. Very helpful and friendly staff.. Pool was ok for a quick cool off .Parking was great under the building. Its not 5 star but good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2012kaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, which we always appreciate as this is so helpful for people looking to stay in a central location in Cairns. We are so pleased that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly as this is something that we place great emphasis upon. We are of course fortunate to be able to offer a pool that is heated in winter, which is fairly unusual in Cairns but of great benefit, particularly to elderly people. Free parking in the centre of a city is of course a great bonus! We do not claim to be 5 star but we are pleased to be able to offer 4 star clean and comfortable accommodation in a great location. We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Il Palazzo at some time in the future.

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    113
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
57
178
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

There are so many factors which make "Il Palazzo" the perfect choice when looking for accommodation in Cairns. The management, the reception staff, the cleaning staff, the cleanliness, the location of the Hotel and there are plenty more. Nothing is more than 3 or 4 blocks away, this includes food, activities and shops, plus of course the Lagoon and Muddy's. Staying at Il Palazzo for us is like coming home, its inviting, friendly, warm and above all comfortable for the kids. The kids love everything about the Hotel, from the pool to all the staff. They even love the lift (it's a kids thing). Il Palazzo is nothing short of perfect for families and even couples, its quiet and its location is second to none. All this (plus heaps more) make it the best value accommodation option when in Cairns. Thank You. Best Regards, Rob & Maria and the boys. (Alessandro & Daniele). See you again soon.

Room Tip: Whether you ask for a room facing the pool or not, whether on level 1, 2 or 3 - all rooms are comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Rob and Maria,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review for Il Palazzo, which is really appreciated. This is a great help to people looking for somewhere central to stay in Cairns. From what you have said, we presume that we must be doing something right as you have stayed with us so many times! We always look forward to your visits and to watching the boys growing up and in response we might say that you are the perfect guests!
Wishing you all a very Happy Christmas and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We chose the no service option. There was a long list of extra charges for toilet paper, dish and laundry soap etc. The price was very reasonable and the location was good. The front desk was helpful when the regular staff were present. The front is unassuming and the rooms are dated and somewhat awkwardly laid out. The Wi-Fi was laborious to access but worked readonbly well. Certainly not a conventional inn or B&B...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CVHBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Indeed, the prices are very reasonable for an inner city apartment in such a great location, particularly if, like yourself, you chose to have no daily servicing. We have been aware that the Wi-Fi has been somewhat laborious to access at times and we are currently in the process of replacing the whole system so that we will be able to offer easy access to free Wi-Fi to all guests in their rooms. We are delighted to hear that you found the front office staff to be very helpful to you. We place great emphasis on offering our guests assistance to ensure that their stay is as comfortable as possible.

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have stayed in many apartments but this one in Cairns is in an excellent location. Its safe for my family and has a secure car park. Easy walking distance to shops, banks, supermarkets, the beach and restaurants. The apartment was clean and tidy, but the carpet could have done with a scrub. Just be careful of the smoke alarm, could cost you a $1000 is accidently set off. We like to self cater, so simple meals are not a problem. We would be more then happy to return another day. Thanks Donovan.

Room Tip: We preferred the back rooms for afternoon shade from the beating sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Darby,

Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor - this is so helpful for people thinking of coming to stay at Il Palazzo. We are very lucky to be able to offer such a great location to our guests and we are pleased that you found the apartment to be clean and tidy. We place great emphasis on our standard of cleanliness and apologise for the stained carpet. We do have the carpets cleaned regularly as soon as occupancy permits. Thank you for bringing to our attention the matter of the fire alarm. We do like to draw our guests attention to the costs incurred and in doing so, we have found there to be far fewer alarms going off. Consequently, there is less disturbance to other guests and we are doing our utmost to ensure a safe environment for the peace of mind of guests.
We look forward to your return visit Darby and Donovan sends his best regards to you.

With kind regards
Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great accommodation which is close to the night markets, restaurants and shops.The apartment is clean and well presented, airy and spacious and the area surprisingly quiet given the proximity to the main esplanade strip and restaurants. The bathroom is a little dated with shower curtain and spotty mirror but is spacious plus having a washing machine and dryer makes the stay hassle free. Nice to have cupboard space to hang clothing. Undercover secure parking for anyone bringing their own vehicle is also a plus. Is also wonderful to be able to walk to restaurants like the Raw Prawn ( although a little expensive served lovely food and the Turka also served great meals and lovely setting .( Some others we tried were rather overpriced for the quality of food!)
The staff are friendly and courteous, and only too willing to assist with any enquiry and to suggest interesting events and places to go. Tariff is also very reasonable. Air conditioner very quiet!!! Really enjoyed the stay and would not only return if visiting again but will recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverina Leadli... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We always appreciate receiving such a positive review from our guests and thank you for taking the time to submit one. We are aware that the bathrooms are somewhat dated and we are currently in the planning stages of a refurbishment in this area.

We are delighted that you had such a good experience at Il Palazzo and do hope when you next visit Cairns that you will choose to stay with us again.

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

On entering the front entrance of Il Palazzo you are met by St David in all his finery, so this gives the atmosphere of the place ( Mediteranian ) Centrally located to all the delights Cairns has to offer from Night Markets to a numerous chose of Eateries that stay open late for a change., or a wonder along the water front.
We stayed three nights and although the place was period it had all the comforts needed including friendly service that would fix up any problems at the time they needed fixing.
Would suggest that the third floor be better for breezes. WiFi $5 per 24 hours from the owners was best value.....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your great review - the statue of David is quite a drawcard - especially with young children as you can no doubt imagine! We are lucky to be in such a terrific location with so much that Cairns has to offer within walking distance. We are currently in the process of installing free Wi-Fi for our guests. We do hope to see you here again and in the meantime, we would appreciate you recommending us to anyone you know who may be visiting Cairns.

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were a walk in, late in the afternoon, and the lady (owner I presume), was very nice, she showed us to our room to explain a few things, and made special arrangements for our car, as it was too high to fit in the secure car park. Great location, walking distance to everything, and I must do is the massage at the night markets just next door. Lovely pool and BBQ, small complex with a classic Mediterranean façade. The service was second to none at a very affordable rate for a family. The air-conditioning could possibly do with an update, however that can be forgiven!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carzys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review that you posted for Il Palazzo - this is always very much appreciated! We are so pleased that the hotel suited you so well and that you found everything to your liking. Certainly the convenience and cost is a big factor, particularly for families. We place great emphasis on customer service at Il Palazzo and attention to detail is paramount. The air-conditioners are due for replacement in some of the rooms and we apologise if this was not as effective as you would have liked. Since you are not too far away, we do hope that you will choose to stay with us again next time you visit Cairns and in the meantime, we would appreciate it if you would recommend us to your family and friends.

With kind regards,
Frances Kelly, Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Property: Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Address: 62 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Palazzo is a stylish boutique hotel situated in the heart of Cairns. Its prime location means that guests are central to the bustling business district, Casino, Conference Centre, Reef Fleet Terminal, markets and shops. The exciting Esplanade with swimming Lagoon and boardwalk, a plethora of cosmopolitan restaurants and major international hotels are within easy walking distance.Il Palazzo is a modern boutique apartment hotel with stunning neoclassical European inspired architecture featuring cream and terracotta decor, impressive stone sculptures and classical fine wrought iron work throughout.There are 38 fully self-contained one bedroom apartments, each with air-conditioning, a fully equipped kitchen and laundry, a large shady balcony, mini bar, Austar TV, CD/DVD, telephone, in-room safe and daily servicing. We have recently undertaken a partial refurbishment with new carpets, bedcovers, flatscreen TVs and DVDs. Il Palazzo has one of the best locations in Cairns and features a beautiful Mediterranean style courtyard with a landscaped heated swimming pool. There is a roof top sundeck, BBQ area and gazebo. Business services are available as well as a tour desk, dry cleaning, FREE wireless internet and secure undercover parking.The staff take pride in offering guests a personal service and attention to detail is paramount.While visiting one of the most sought after destinations in the world -Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef - stay in a luxury apartment at Il Palazzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Palazzo Boutique Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing