We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Cairns B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Excellent place in centre of Cairns near waterfront. Secure car parking, wonderful self contained apartments. Rooms clean and spacious and quiet and reception ladies were so very helpful at all times. Would recommend this establishment highly.

Room Tip: 3rd Floor is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your very positive review, which we really appreciate. We are only sorry that the weather was not better for you! Thank you for recommending us to others. We look forward to the next time you come to stay with us.

With kind regards,

Frances Kelly
Reservations
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    105
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
55
169
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at Il Palazzo in March 2013 for 3 nights before and 1 night after taking the Savannahlander train adventure from Cairns. We had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool. This place is wonderful! The location is great: easy walking distance to the wharf (for access to the Great Barrier Reef), to the lagoon (free swimming in a stunning setting), to restaurants (lots of choice), and the train station and busses (don't miss the Botanical Garden). We were delighted to find our room was super-quiet, in spite of its central location in the "city." The room is more like an apartment than a hotel room. It was excellent value: spacious (big living-room space, good-sized bedroom, large en-suite bathroom, basic kitchen) and clean. The kitchen area is well equipped and the bathroom features a washer and dryer, both of which work well. Il Palazzo also offers parking facilities, but we didn't use them because we didn't have a car. The hosts are very friendly and accommodating. We especially appreciated their willingness to store our "excess" luggage during the 4 days we were off on our train trip. The only negative about Il Palazzo was the wifi wasn't free, but that's a very small thing compared to all the wonderful aspects of this place.

Room Tip: 3rd floor overlooking pool was great, quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Mary,

Thank you so much for your very positive review on TripAdvisor, which is really appreciated. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Il Palazzo so much.

We have taken note of your comment about the free wi-fi and we anticipate that this will be available in due course.

We do hope that you have returned home with many happy memories of Cairns and, aside from telling your friends about us, that you will return to visit us again some day.

With kindest regards,
Frances Kelly
Reservations
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was so happy I stayed here while in Cairns. It felt like I had my own apartment and was living in the heart of Cairns, it was personal to me and I was so glad I wasn't staying at one of the big hotels and the rooms here are so spacious. I wish I had someone staying with me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco321Ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi Marco,

Thank you very much for your most positive review on TripAdvisor, which we really appreciate. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time in Cairns. We hope that you will come and stay with us again and next time bring someone with you!! Also, please tell your friends!

With kind regards,

Frances Kelly
Reception
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

we stayed 6 days, specially if you plan to be there longer it is good, washing machine is available also dryer. rooms are big, you have a balcony, sofa, dining table, small kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. furniture is older and the style is not really nice, but who cares for a holiday. we did not stay there too much, cairns has a few things to offer...
reception staff is very friendly and helpful
we would come back

Room Tip: we had a room to the main street, which was good. not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanghaimarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilpalazzo, Front Office Manager at Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Il Palazzo and hope very much that you will return some day. Now that we have direct flights to Cairns, maybe you can encourage your friends and family to visit also.

With kind regards,

Frances Kelly
Reservations
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Room on 3rd floor overlooking the pool. Very spacious with all facilities available. (Wi Fi not free and best in reception) Free car parking right in the centre of town. Very clean and comfortable with very helpful, friendly staff/owners and an incredibly warm (under utilised) pool. A real home from home. No wonder some people live here all the time.

Room Tip: Rely on Donovan to supply a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianW0061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location was great, right in the middle of town. And the staff was so nice. The owners work the front desk and they were very helpful. Unfortunately, the rooms were disappointing. I felt like I was walking into an 80's movie set. All the furniture looked like it was from the 80's and showed the wear and tear as well. Talk about blast from the past! The room had a strong musky odor. We thought this would go away after leaving the windows open for a day, but it never went away. Also, the coach smelled bad, like sour cheese, which we avoided for the entire stay. Overall, I wanted to like this hotel, but with the poor condition, I can't recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmcx80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I travelled by myself with my 2 children (3 & 6) and I will most definitely stay here again. The proprietors could not do enough to make our stay safe and comfortable. It is in an ideal location - close to all amenities - Woolies very close by (for those who wish to cater within the apartment) - many, many restuarants close by for those who do not wish to self cater. The pool and BBQ area within the complex are excellent, the Cairns Lagoon is basically across the road (to the rear of the apartments) - Cairns Central shopping centre is about 8 minutes walk. There is everything that you need within the apartment (washer and dryer!!!!). The children and I loved it - loved it! I experienced a couple of hiccups with my travel arrangements (my fault) which were remedied by Donovan and his experienced staff without delay and always with a smile. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Apartments to the rear of the complex overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
1.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Property: Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Address: 62 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Palazzo is a stylish boutique hotel situated in the heart of Cairns. Its prime location means that guests are central to the bustling business district, Casino, Conference Centre, Reef Fleet Terminal, markets and shops. The exciting Esplanade with swimming Lagoon and boardwalk, a plethora of cosmopolitan restaurants and major international hotels are within easy walking distance.Il Palazzo is a modern boutique apartment hotel with stunning neoclassical European inspired architecture featuring cream and terracotta decor, impressive stone sculptures and classical fine wrought iron work throughout.There are 38 fully self-contained one bedroom apartments, each with air-conditioning, a fully equipped kitchen and laundry, a large shady balcony, mini bar, Austar TV, CD/DVD, telephone, in-room safe and daily servicing. We have recently undertaken a partial refurbishment with new carpets, bedcovers, flatscreen TVs and DVDs. Il Palazzo has one of the best locations in Cairns and features a beautiful Mediterranean style courtyard with a landscaped heated swimming pool. There is a roof top sundeck, BBQ area and gazebo. Business services are available as well as a tour desk, dry cleaning, FREE wireless internet and secure undercover parking.The staff take pride in offering guests a personal service and attention to detail is paramount.While visiting one of the most sought after destinations in the world -Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef - stay in a luxury apartment at Il Palazzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Palazzo Boutique Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing