We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, large unit in great location close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Cairns B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, large unit in great location close to everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great accomodation with very friendly and helpful hosts. Would definitely return when next in Cairns. Loved Cairns - great holiday destination. Port Douglas only an hour drive with beautiful scenery all the way ... loved Trinity Beach and Palm Cove. Mossman Gorge in the Daintree is spectacular and especially enjoyable as everything is run by lovely Aboriginal people. Really special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarinAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    109
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
56
173
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We loved the central location of this hotel. The rooms were in good condition, and it was great to have a kitchen, fridge, and washing machine. The pool/deck/BBQ area was nice, and one afternoon we spent a peacefully tanning (or sunburning) on the roof, which was really fun.

The downsides: we booked online over a discount website, and discovered during our stay that that meant NO room-cleaning, fresh towels, or anything. As we were here for a week, this was really inconvenient and ridiculous. Fortunately we didn't have any young children with us, or I'm sure the floors would have been in a deplorable condition when we left. We had three people in our room, and the pull-out couch was very uncomfortable. But that's nothing new with hotels-- we just recommend putting the mattress on the floor if you want an ok night of sleep.

Aside from the above inconveniences, this was a very pretty, well-situated hotel with great access to restaurants/shopping/the esplanade/etc. We're glad to have chosen it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

My family of 4 stayed in two x 1bedroom apartments and had a great time. The apartments were very comfortable and well situated to the esplanade, woolworths/safeway for groceries, shopping, the transit centre and restaurants. Take a tip, request apartments overlooking the pool, rather than the street. My wife and I enjoyed morning coffee and evening drinks on the sunroof, overlooking the esplanade - absolutely wonderful. We swam in the pool every morning, day and evening, water was great.

The staff were terrific and made us feel very welcome - thank you. The internet in the lounge area is the best internet deal in town and had no problems checking emails on the ipad. All up, we enjoyed our stay, felt the value was excellent and had a super 6 days in Cairns.

Room Tip: Recommend apartments overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I chose Il Palazzo for my trip to Cairns for a conference because they had a special deal on through Expedia, stay 3 get 5 nights! I also chose to stay here because it looked quaint, not your everyday hotel. I was greeted by the very friendly manager and shown my apartment. It was clean and very well appointed with a lounge, kitchenette, good sized bedroom and bathroom with a small laundry! The courtyard and the swimming pool are all lovely and the hotel is very well located. I wasn't aware that with the special deal I wasn't going to have my room serviced daily and although I don't mind that terribly, I did want new towels every couple of days as Cairns is the kind of place you shower more than once a day! The manager seemed surprised that I didn't know that, I think they could have mentioned it at check-in. That was the only little glitch, and I managed to wash and dry my towels seeing as I had the facilities, so all was fine! There is a supermarket just down the road and some great little restaurants nearby (I really liked Matsuri Japanese restaurant). You can completely self-cater here, so that can really help balance the budget. The rooms are airconditioned.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the pool area (which seems to be used infrequently) and the other rooms overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed for 4 days at Il Palazzo whilst attending a conference at the convention centre. The apartments are located in the CBD and are an easy walking distance to restaurants and shops.
The apartments are very clean and large enough for an extended stay. The staff are friendly and very accommodating. I would recommend these apartments

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We just got back from a 5 night stay in Cairns at the Il Palazzo and we had a great time. The location is great and the staff were so helpful. They helped us book several activities and were great sources of information about the area and highlights to see.
The apartment had all the amenities we could want- the kitchenette allowed us to cook a few meals whilst we were there, and we made good use of the BBQ and pool as well. We had booked through a promo deal so the apartment was not serviced (which we actually prefer) so be aware of this if you book a promotional deal and servicing is important as, like a previous reviewer mentioned, this was not actually specified when we booked our trip (we booked through expedia).
Overall, this was a great place to stay and I'd definitely return and recommend it to my friends

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

These apartments are excellently located in Cairns CBD, within walking distance to most attractions in the city and just steps from restaurants shops etc.The apartment was clean and well appointed with all you need, including washer and dryer and staff were friendly and helpful.We had a very pleasant and relaxing stay and would recommend....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadies P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.4 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Property: Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Address: 62 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Palazzo is a stylish boutique hotel situated in the heart of Cairns. Its prime location means that guests are central to the bustling business district, Casino, Conference Centre, Reef Fleet Terminal, markets and shops. The exciting Esplanade with swimming Lagoon and boardwalk, a plethora of cosmopolitan restaurants and major international hotels are within easy walking distance.Il Palazzo is a modern boutique apartment hotel with stunning neoclassical European inspired architecture featuring cream and terracotta decor, impressive stone sculptures and classical fine wrought iron work throughout.There are 38 fully self-contained one bedroom apartments, each with air-conditioning, a fully equipped kitchen and laundry, a large shady balcony, mini bar, Austar TV, CD/DVD, telephone, in-room safe and daily servicing. We have recently undertaken a partial refurbishment with new carpets, bedcovers, flatscreen TVs and DVDs. Il Palazzo has one of the best locations in Cairns and features a beautiful Mediterranean style courtyard with a landscaped heated swimming pool. There is a roof top sundeck, BBQ area and gazebo. Business services are available as well as a tour desk, dry cleaning, FREE wireless internet and secure undercover parking.The staff take pride in offering guests a personal service and attention to detail is paramount.While visiting one of the most sought after destinations in the world -Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef - stay in a luxury apartment at Il Palazzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Palazzo Boutique Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing