We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”
Review of Coral Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coral Tree Inn
Ranked #21 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed March 24, 2009

We stayed here for 1 night which was really ok. We didn't expect too much having read the reviews and seen the pictures and were positively surprised. The rooms were pretty basic but clean. Although the breakfast buffet had the typical charme of a youth hostel's breakfast it was good and sufficient. Good location.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miri27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 530 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2009

Our expectations of this hotel were far greater than what we experienced upon our arrival, as per reviews and brochures. The rooms in the Inn are very small, and very dated, with painted cinder blocks, ac that barely works, abundant little critters (bugs and geckos), and a balcony that had a security screen on it which opened onto a residential dwelling. I would be wary of using the pool. I know it is close to a rainforest, and bugs and geckos are to be expected, but on our entire trip through Australia, this place was the only one where we saw them.

We ended up leaving this hotel before staying one night, and checked into the Shangri-La which we got for a great price. I know, totally different accomodation classification.

Further, the location of the hotel is not as good as the claim to be in the centre of the city. It is a 15-20 walk to the main street which has all the restaurants and shopping, and access to the beach.

The Coral Tree Inn is a low-budget accomodation option, which could be good for student backpackers, or those on a low budget, with low expectations. It does have a kitchen in which you can prepare your own meals. Apparently some of their suites are better, but I didn't look at them. The front desk staff were very nice, as a positive.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelcanuck29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

We just arrived on the plane for our honeymoon in Cairns and were expecting to go this this wonderful place (as per the brochures/internet) . Instead we got to the Coral Tree Inn to find this small room with painted besser blocks, a tv with 3 channels, an aircon that barely worked and no lifts. We were so disappointed we felt like just going home. Would definitely not recommed this to anyone - even if it is cheap!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DalbyHoneymooners_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2009

My wife and I stopped first in Cairns as the first part of our vacation and could nt wish for a better start.The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly and advised us on the best tours available and were happy to book them for us.The facillities were very good and although no bar ,drinks were available from reception area.All in all it was a great start to our Oz adventure and were totally relaxed in our week there.
S.Brown U.K.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STEVIEBHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2009

We stayed at the Coral Tree Inn for one night while in transit. The rooms were basic, nice and clean. The walls were painted cinder blocks so it gave the room a very industrial feel. But overall it was comfortable. There was a small patio that faced another complex so it really wasn't someplace you wanted to hang out. It's about a 5 to 10 minute walk to downtown though it was pretty dead on a Sunday night. Look for Flying Foxes (Fruit Bats) flying around the trees. We saw a tree on the main strip full of them. We saw more bats here then we saw at the Bat house in Cape Trib (which only has one bat).

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

I booked this hotel through a website, and got a great deal on it, thank goodness, because I would have been upset to have paid full price for this motel. My boyfriend and sister were going diving and white water rafting around Cairns and used the Coral Tree Inn as a place to sleep 3 adults. If we would have actually been spending time in Cairns city, we would have found a better place to stay. But since all we were doing was sleeping, it was adequate. But I don't like hearing excuses for unclean places. A couple times as we were returning/leaving other guests were complaining about the ants. The response was always an excuse about how we were in a wet area and there was nothing they could do. After leaving my coffee mug full of coffee in my room all day (cleaning crew not taking it away or replacing with a fresh glass) we understood the quality of the hotel was just at a lower level. It was dirty. The cleaning staff did not clean the room well, all they did was make the beds. There is also very little privacy. Since all the balconies open on to the general area of the hotel, if you have your drapes open everyone can see in your room.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank campchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

I stayed one night at the Coral Tree Inn in September and felt I got my moneys worth. There is no elevator here and with a bad knee I did have some trouble getting my bags to the second floor. The hotel was booked so I was unable to switch rooms. The room was basic but comfortable and the cooling system was able to cool down the room quickly.

The front desk is very knowledgable on the local area and was able to point me to a good area for dinner and arranged a taxi for the next day. The hotel does have a baggage room so should you need to keep your luggage their after you check out, you can.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtnrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#15 of 63 in Cairns
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 63 in Cairns
514 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#17 of 63 in Cairns
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Tree Inn

Address: 166 - 172 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $78 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Tree Inn is a newly refurbished 4 star resort-style hotel located right in the heart of Cairns City, across from Munro Martin Park and close to all the shops, restaurants, theatre, art galleries and casino. The Hotel features two types of excellent accommodation including newly refurbished standard rooms and self-contained suite rooms. Family rooms and disabled rooms are available on request. Also featured in this hotel are: outdoor saltwater pool, complimentary barbeque facilities with its own dining area, restaurant, conference room, business centre, as well as Massage & Relaxation Centre amongst luscious tropically landscaped gardens. Coral Tree Inn is independently owned and managed, our friendly staff offering consistent and personalised professional services; we bring your rest closer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Coral Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Tree Hotel Cairns
Coral Tree Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing