We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good rooms for the price.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coral Tree Inn
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good rooms for the price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff. They have a bbq facilities under a bali gazebo which was nice. The rooms were comfortable and adequate. The corridors were a bit noisy as they're tiled, but other than that the hotel satisfied all our needs. It is a short walk to the esplanade and centre of town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear wanderer127,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's great to hear that you experienced our helpful, friendly and attentive staff and I have passed on your comments to our team. We are all delighted to note that you enjoyed the comfort, the location and the barbecue facilities during your short stay; all at an affordable price.

Thank you and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    192
    108
    22
    11
See reviews for
78
215
41
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Shower was a lucky dip, most times water was just warm enough, same with the wifi conection, very hit & miss. Our bed was 2 singles pushed together which separated shortly after. We had to jamm the bed between furniture to slow the divide. You need the aircon working overnight as it is quite warm but this one sounded like running water(strange). The walls are paper thin so you can easily hear your neighbours and vice versa. Staff were friendly and place was reasonably clean

Room Tip: Avoid room 106, read my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Leigh J,

We were gravely concerned to read about the issues you have raised, and so very glad you've expressed them, as it has allowed us to thoroughly investigate each issue. I am very sorry to learn that your experience with us fell below your expectations.

My team and I once again apologise that we couldn't deliver a better stay experience for you. We hope there will be an opportunity in the future to extend the true and warm Coral Tree Inn hospitality experience that we always strive to deliver.

Warm regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Recently spent three nights at this hotel, room 113. Massive bathroom (for disabled..even though we are not disabled), was great! Ground floor, lovely little verandah overlooking pool. No power point in bathroom (which was weird), but reception were more than helpful and were there within 5 minutes after my request with an extension lead. A good central location, a short walk to the RSL for a lovely meal, and short walk to the Esplanade (3 blocks). Very good value and would recommend for a short break.

Room Tip: Room 113, massive bathroom, no stairs to carry luggage up, and close to reception, verandah overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Kath K,

Thank you so much for choosing Coral Tree Inn.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed central location of the hotel. At Coral Tree Inn, we believe that it is all about creating the perfect guest experience. We often have special rates available and I hope that we can welcome you back again soon. Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us.

Warm regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

The room we stayed in had a king size bed the zip together type so yes it had a ridge down the middle. We found the bed too hard for our personal taste. The room was clean as was the good sized bathroom. We didn't hear any noise from the main road that the hotel is situated on but we could hear very clearly other guests leading us to believe that there isn't much sound proofing. The staff were friendly. The breakfast was included with our room price and was adequate. It is an easy walk in to the esplanade.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ThomKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear ThomKatz,

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts and experiences of your recent stay at the Coral Tree Inn.

It is important that we receive feedback so that we can use it to monitor and rectify shortfalls highlighted to us. We are looking into ways that can minimize the noise levels as comfort of our guests is our highest mission.

I do hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is really a 3 star hotel, the location is good and close to most things. It is very noisy as the corridors are not carpeted such that departing guests with their loud luggage woke us in the mornings. Staff are friendly and very helpful and their English is mostly very good. The pool is freezing in winter as the sun does not reach it much. The hotel needs some vending machines for snacks. Rooms are adequate with largish TVs with a reasonable selection of channels. Our shower curtain was way too short and water went all over the bathroom. The shower water is warm in the mornings and at night but hot in the middle of the day. The bbq facilities are good. Overall it is okay, but next time I will spend extra and go upmarket.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Peter L,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Coral Tree Inn, we really appreciate receiving your feedback and insights.

Whilst we are pleased to learn that you were happy with the staff and room, we are very sorry that your overall stay experience fell below your expectations.

I do hope we get the opportunity to speak to one another in the future, and that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back, at which time we will spare no effort in providing you with the perfect stay.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed in Cairns in July 2014, as only a getaway point to the Great Barrier Reef, where we stayed upon a liveaboard for 5 days. However, we enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Coral Tree Inn. The rooms were large, which was a nice treat for the 3 of us. I also liked the common area BBQ cooktop and the large tables near the pool. It was a nice place to sit and relax. The hotel also offers free wifi, but it has a limited amount of MBs that you can use. I also enjoyed the kitchen amenities the room had: small refrigerator, microwave, toaster, dishes, cutlery, etc. While the hotel is not located directly on the beach, close to all the restaurants/nightlife, Cairns is not a big city and it was an easy 10 minute or less walk to anywhere we wanted to go, including the train station to get to Kuranda.

The only small complaint I had is that there is currently a circus across the street in the park. We consistently heard very loud animal noises at the most random time, which we got a good laugh at. But if you're a picky traveler prone to complaining, this will probably annoy you.

We already recommended the Coral Tree Inn to some friends we met while traveling and would certainly be back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Nicole H,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed your experience and found our location, amenities and services to be so perfect. It is our top priority to ensure that all our guests leave feeling well looked after and we are delighted to read that you were happy with your choice of hotel and even recommended us to others.

We feel lucky that we get to see the beautiful animals each year when the circus is in town; however I have to agree that they were quite loud this year. But again most of us are just happy to see these creatures play right across the hotel! :)

Once again many thanks for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is one of those situations where I'd like to be able to add another half star. What I liked about this place was some of the room features - a desk, a bathroom hook for my toiletries bag, a fan as well as air con, good pillows, wide screen tv, room safe, ironing board, hair dryer, proper clothes hangers, real soap, complementary toothbrush and what looked like reasonable quality shampoo, and plenty of hot water in the shower. It is also very unusual to find an entry door that can be fixed in the open position while you get your bags out and I really appreciated this. Everything was very clean and looked recently painted.

I'm not a big fan of ceramic floor tiles though and also not a fan of two beds pushed together with an uncomfortable crack down the middle. However the deal breaker for me was the incredible screeching plumbing system (hot tap I think) in the next room, and my own. I was woken (and kept awake) two times by the guests next door who had a marathon 2 hour stint in their bathroom one night then were at it again early the next morning. Earplugs were of no use, it was so intrusive.

The hotel has a pool, a a guest barbecue area and a comfortable reception area with the usual travel info and a few books for those staying a while. Interestingly I spotted a German edition of "Fifty Shades of Grey", however there was nothing I could see to take to my room to read, other than travel brochures. A newspaper or magazine would have been great. There is a restaurant open for breakfast and briefly for dinner, with indoor and outdoor dining options. Take care to check the closing time for dinner. The information in my room said it was open from 6pm to 8pm but when I arrived at 7.32pm they had already stopped taking orders. I returned to my room but couldn't get the phone to work. After mucking around with it and trying to look up instructions I eventually called reception, who apparently have to unlock it when you want to make a call. The hotel is not in an area with many shops or eateries nearby and I could only find one place that was open on a Monday night - Dominoes. Don't walk to it alone through the unlit park opposite - it's a safer option to go the long way.

Staff are pleasant but there is only one person on reception so be prepared to wait. Minor issues - my desk lamp appeared to need a new bulb, but wasn't fixed before I checked out 26 hours after mentioning it. Fortunately I had little paperwork to do during this visit. The fridge contains only 6 tiny serves of long life milk but the teacups are tiny anyway. You might like to notice and remedy the milk situation before you need caffeine in the morning - the shop near the dodgy park had only two containers of 1 litre fresh milk available. Way too much but at least fresh milk. I fail to understand why most hotels don't provide decent sized mugs to allow a proper cup of tea/coffee. My room had no convenient power points for the jug so it was necessary to shift around the trays in the bathroom to safely place the jug. None of these things are a big deal but it's all part of the experience.

Room Tip: My room on the eastern side had good curtains, but still couldn't block the bright glow of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zappagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear zappagirl,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

We value your feedback and rest assured we have taken these comments on board.
We hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#17 of 68 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Tree Inn

Property: Coral Tree Inn
Address: 166 - 172 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Tree Inn is a newly refurbished 4 star resort-style hotel located right in the heart of Cairns City, across from Munro Martin Park and close to all the shops, restaurants, theatre, art galleries and casino. The Hotel features two types of excellent accommodation including newly refurbished standard rooms and self-contained suite rooms. Family rooms and disabled rooms are available on request. Also featured in this hotel are: outdoor saltwater pool, complimentary barbeque facilities with its own dining area, restaurant, conference room, business centre, as well as Massage & Relaxation Centre amongst luscious tropically landscaped gardens. Coral Tree Inn is independently owned and managed, our friendly staff offering consistent and personalised professional services; we bring your rest closer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Coral Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Tree Hotel Cairns
Coral Tree Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing