We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick trip with family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coral Tree Inn
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quick trip with family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

This motel is great value for money. Located in a quiet street several blocks back from the city centre with ample free street parking this is a good place to stay.

The rooms are old fashioned but are clean and there is a pool and barbecue for guest use. Rates can include a breakfast package with a selection of cold and hot items. This is very convenient when travelling with family or starting the day early as the kitchen opens at 6.30 till 9.30 am. It also provides dinners and room service at night.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 4boysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear 4boysdad,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Coral Tree Inn through TripAdvisor.

We are all delighted to note that you enjoyed the comfort, the location and the barbecue facilities during your short stay; all at an affordable price.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Cairns.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    179
    102
    20
    11
See reviews for
76
197
38
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Well situated, within walking distance of most areas, Very friendly and helpful staff.
Only six onsite parking spaces but all local parking is free and readily available. Rooms are clean and spacious, but can be noisy with people in the same corridors slamming doors. Breakfast? forget it, very poor and limited; it's only ten minutes stroll to the front where good food at a lower price is available.

Room Tip: the rooms upstairs are quieter and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barisobel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear ausbeastie,

Thank you for your feedback, it is important to us so that we can continue to improve our services and facilities to all our guests.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here and found our hotel to be so centrally located. I am delighted to read such a positive response and thank you for appreciating our staff.

It is very unfortunate that you had to compromise with the noise levels in the night caused by other guests staying in the hotel. A night staff is always available in the premises outside the reception hours who can be contacted to notify such incidents.
We feel sorry if this has caused any inconvenience during your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Coral Tree Inn.
Please do not hesitate to contact me or one of our staff members if you wish to come back and stay with us

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Front desk very helpfull meet 3 who where on at differant times while we stayed there couldnt have been more helpfull.
Now for housekeeping that needs to be allot better,
when you enter room its smells ,lack of ventilation .
Maybe if door was left open at some times it might help or fan in bathroom as there was mould in shower, also floors not clean near bins as well. Very disappointing .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear 12Heather,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about our hotel.

I will pass on your appreciation to our staff, I know this type of feedback to our team members is very important and makes them feel that they do make a difference to our guest’s experience.

Generally we do not have problems with our rooms, however this year we have had a lot of nonseasonal rain causing mould issues and dampness throughout the region. I have addressed these issues with my Executive Housekeeper to review all the guest rooms and to ensure that these areas are addressed and resolved.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The room we stayed in is of a slightly lower quality than an Ibis hotel. Strangely the room was very dump, despite AC+ fan. The staff was very nice. Breakfast was included in the price, it included toast bread, jam and some fruit. The dining place looked a bit dirty and it was off-putting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NolaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear NolaBee,

Thank you for staying at the Coral Tree Inn.
Although it is disappointing to know that we delivered below your expectations, we truly appreciate receiving your feedback as this makes us aware of the areas in our service and facilities that need improvement.

We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay here.

I trust we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the near future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I liked this hotel. The staff were really lovely and nothing was too much trouble. There isn't a lift so ask for a ground floor room if you would struggle with heavy suitcases. The room itself was quite spacious with quite a large bed and a balcony overlooking the pool. There was a fridge and just about adequate storage space. We were provided with a free toothbrush and paste which was a nice touch. Toiletries and towels were provided daily and rooms cleaned to a very high standard. There was free wifi, and as other reviewers have mentioned it's not great, but I did not find it great in any hotel, and a lot of them charge for it. It was sufficient for what you need when on holiday. The pool was lovely and open from 6.30 in the morning which was great. Breakfast is available, it's nothing spectacular but adequate if you need something to eat before embarking on a trip. Most people having breakfast were there before 7.30. There were wading and drying facilities available at a very reasonable cost and also barbecue facilities for use which seemed to be very popular. Overall I thought this was a really good hotel, a short walk from bars and restaurants and definitely somewhere I would stay again if in Cairns.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you would struggle with suitcases as there is no lift. First floor room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Christine M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review on your recent visit to the Coral Tree Inn and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will make sure that your comments are shared with all the staff members here.
The positive ratings you gave us on Trip Advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I booked a mystery deal on Wotif and was very surprised to find Coral Tree Inn as a 4 star central hotel. Being local, this hotel is definitely not 4 star OR central. The location was the biggest let down - not the best area of Cairns - especially with the park next door. Was quite worried about my car getting broken into. I was expecting this mystery hotel to be near the Pier somewhere as it was saying only 5 minutes to the Reef Fleet Terminal?!! More like 25 minutes! Anyway apart from that the room was clean and the staff were very lovely and polite. I would have been happy if the mystery room was advertised as budget friendly / 3 star. There was nothing wrong with Coral Tree Inn, but it isn't somewhere I would ever book. Sorry! I certainly wont be booking a Wotif mystery deal again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Renee P,

Thank you for staying at the Coral Tree Inn, and for sharing your views through Trip Advisor.

Although it is disappointing to know that the hotel’s location did not suit you unlike all other guests who find it to be central, it's great to hear that you experienced our helpful, friendly and attentive staff and I have passed on your comments to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrien Springs, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very comfortable and quiet. Beds were excellent for sleeping and staff was very helpful. Walk to downtown was not too bad. Did not try the pool, but it looked very nice and clean. Daily service was prompt and well done.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Ruth G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Coral Tree Inn.

I was pleased to hear that your stay was comfortable and quiet. As you mentioned we are very centrally located with most of the shops and restaurants within a short walking distance from the hotel.

I will share your wonderful comments with my team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#4 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 877 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 68 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#20 of 68 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Tree Inn

Property: Coral Tree Inn
Address: 166 - 172 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Tree Inn is a newly refurbished 4 star resort-style hotel located right in the heart of Cairns City, across from Munro Martin Park and close to all the shops, restaurants, theatre, art galleries and casino. The Hotel features two types of excellent accommodation including newly refurbished standard rooms and self-contained suite rooms. Family rooms and disabled rooms are available on request. Also featured in this hotel are: outdoor saltwater pool, complimentary barbeque facilities with its own dining area, restaurant, conference room, business centre, as well as Massage & Relaxation Centre amongst luscious tropically landscaped gardens. Coral Tree Inn is independently owned and managed, our friendly staff offering consistent and personalised professional services; we bring your rest closer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Coral Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Tree Hotel Cairns
Coral Tree Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing