We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Cairns”
Review of Coral Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coral Tree Inn
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great value in Cairns”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

I found this hotel to be well run, very clean and spacious with excellent facilities. An ironing board, iron and hair dryer were in the room - no extra charge. Free wifi was also provided. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The Esplanade was a quick 5 minute walk away. Close to shops and transport. Only 10 minutes from the airport.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear nettiemr,

Thank you for your fantastic review of the Coral Tree Inn.

Reading such glowing comments about the hotel, service and comfort makes everyone in our team immensely proud. My team was very happy to read your comments about being helpful and friendly, they do strive to exceed our guests’ expectations at every opportunity whilst not being too overbearing. I am also very happy that you enjoyed all the little extras that we provide to ensure all our guests have a memorable experience.

My team and I look forward to your return and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    211
    122
    23
    11
See reviews for
86
234
45
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Coral Tree Inn. If you're looking for a 5-star hotel, this isn't going to be the place for you, but we found it to be quaint, comfortable and very clean. Each room has a little balcony with a table and chairs overlooking the outdoor pool area - it was a nice place to sit outside in the evening. While the rooms were incredibly clean, the pool looked a bit dingy and uninviting. If you want to swim, there's a beautiful public pool in Cairns a short walk away that I think would be a better option. Great front desk staff - very friendly and helpful and I was really impressed with they way they handled a complaint we had on our first night. We had a bit of a problem when we checked in as our room absolutely REEKED of cigarette smoke. We went downstairs to ask to switch to a different room - the gentleman at the desk was incredibly apologetic and polite and told us that they were fully booked that night and would not be able to move us to a new room until the next day. We had plans for a tour the next day, so they offered to move our luggage for us as soon as a new room was ready. When we came back from the tour, our bags had been moved to a new room and it was a lot nicer. Also, as an apology for the inconvenience of not being able to move us immediately, we were given free codes for wifi for the duration of our stay, which was really very nice. I think the whole situation was handled very well and I give the staff kudos for their professionalism. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JV427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear JV427,

Thank you for reviewing the Coral Tree Inn.

I am happy that you found the hotel’s location convenient. I’m glad that our team member was prompt in resolving the issue during your stay, we do pride ourselves on delivering only the best and most personalized service to our guests.

I am very happy to read your recommendation and sincerely appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
258 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

A small disappointingly appointed room for such a highly rated hotel. It was terribly squashed for a twin room, dingy and very dated and I've actually stayed in better hostels. Well over due for refurbishment.

Perhaps other rooms have been refurbished, which is how this hotel gets such a high rating, because our room wasn't even three star! Very basic, and the best thing I can say for it, it was clean, but in that tired kind of way!

The rest of the establishment appeared nice, (much, much better) although I wasn't there long enough to avail myself of the pool and BarBQ area. Quite noisy, though, due to other guests, although no street noise to contend with.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a refurbished room… or ask them to show you which ones rates a 8 on Trip Advisor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jqqls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Jqqls,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I was really sorry to read of your disappointment following your stay with us.

Being a smaller boutique hotel, Coral Tree Inn is very different in its style to that of the other hotels in Cairns. Since refurbishing the hotel and all guest rooms a few years back, we have found that many of our guests have enjoyed our tropical style of property and service levels that we are able to provide as a result many of which have shared their positive experiences and recommendations with others on TripAdvisor. Through talking and listening to our guests, we do try and ensure that our guest room amenities and facilities match expectations, but I am sorry that this was not the case for you.

Once again, my sincere apologies for your disappointment and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Lovely little hotel in Cairns. Rooms well appointed with all amenities for self catering if needed. Within an easy walk of resturants and bars, this hotel is ideal for a few days in Cairns. The staff were very helpful and cheery and the breakfast was good value for money. The only slight down sides were the lack of a lift and the corridors were a bit noisy when people were moving about early in the morning. However the newly refurbished rooms were good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGee1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear BGee1414,

Thank you for your lovely review of the Coral Tree Inn.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Our location is a real asset to the hotel, with the lovely views of the park opposite, as well as its close proximity to shops and restaurants. I will definitely pass on your kind words to the hotel team, we constantly aim to exceed guests expectations.

Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards,

Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and we're absolutely thrilled we picked this hotel. It's very close to everything, rooms are spacious and clean, beds are comfy, receptionists are extremely helpful and friendly, it's perfect really, especially for the price !! We got a deal on booking.com for 3 nights $250. We hadn't planned on spending it by the pool so it wasn't a problem for us but just incase you are, it's not very nice. It's almost dirty looking, it was out of order on our first day so perhaps it had something to do with that but there was a smell coming from it?!! But don't let that turn you off! It's a fab hotel otherwise !

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashlovestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Ashlovestravelling,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback following your recent visit to Cairns.

I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel’s central location to be convenient.

I appreciate your honest and constructive feedback. Unfortunately we encountered a problem with the swimming pool’s filter and pump equipment few weeks back however I’m happy to inform you that this issue has now been resolved.

Thanks again for your review and I hope to be able to welcome you back the next time you visit Cairns and enjoy a nice dip in our salt water pool.

Kind regards,

Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Great location for Cairns, we unfortunately had a rear room facing the car park with a palm tree view. The room is clean but basic and could do with a little tlc here and there. The staff were fantastic though and the service overall couldn't have been better. The hotel has a small pool but is clean however becomes quite shaded later on in the afternoon. If you are looking for cheaper accommodation with a great location then this is the hotel for you. Only a 5 minute walk from Cairns so location is it's best asset.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Nicky C,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

Whilst it was pleasing to read that you enjoyed the hotel’s central location, service and our staff it was disappointing to read the room did not entirely meet your expectations and I shall discuss this with my team.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,

Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed here on a flying visit to Cairns in December 2013.

Couldn't of asked for a better place to stay.

Friendly staff and comfortable, clean rooms.

Pool area substantial for a relaxing dip before setting off into Cairns for a look round and enjoying the local delights.

Finishing off a fabulous trip to Australia.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lass1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand C, General Manager at Coral Tree Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Lass1910,

Thank you for your insights on Trip Advisor about your recent visit to the Coral Tree Inn. It is great to see that you have been able to enjoy your stay with us. Your comments about the room and the team members encountered are certainly much appreciated. We most certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Anand Churi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#15 of 64 in Cairns
752 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Tree Inn

Property: Coral Tree Inn
Address: 166 - 172 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Tree Inn is a newly refurbished 4 star resort-style hotel located right in the heart of Cairns City, across from Munro Martin Park and close to all the shops, restaurants, theatre, art galleries and casino. The Hotel features two types of excellent accommodation including newly refurbished standard rooms and self-contained suite rooms. Family rooms and disabled rooms are available on request. Also featured in this hotel are: outdoor saltwater pool, complimentary barbeque facilities with its own dining area, restaurant, conference room, business centre, as well as Massage & Relaxation Centre amongst luscious tropically landscaped gardens. Coral Tree Inn is independently owned and managed, our friendly staff offering consistent and personalised professional services; we bring your rest closer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Tree Hotel Cairns
Coral Tree Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing