We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value 15 min-walking from downtown”
Review of Coral Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coral Tree Inn
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed October 24, 2007

Stayed 4 nights. Room very clean, comfortable, quiet, safe. Very good value. Walking to downtown takes 15 minutes to the night market and main shopping. The Esplanade is very close. Public park in front the hotel.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank LannyFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
There are newer reviews for Coral Tree Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 504 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2007

This a very good value for Cairns. We stayed 3 nights in April 2007. It's pretty much your ordinary motel,
but I found the enclosed courtyard and pool quite attractive, and we had a ground floor room just off of it. I never
noticed whether they had an elevator, though, so I wouldn't have liked being upstairs if not. The room is
cinder block which might be off-putting to some but I didn't care. There was a fridge in the room which
was nice - you might want to bring some breakfast stuff since they charge $9 a person for the basic
cereal-and-toast breakfast that you get free at the B&B's. The front desk staff were not as overtly
friendly as we found most Australians but they were helpful whenever asked, and arranged our bookings
to all the tours we wanted (I think all hotel in Cairns do that). A bit of a walk to the central
shopping/eating area - maybe 10-15 minutes - but that just meant it was quiet at night. The front desk
isn't manned during late hours so you have to come and go through the security gate, but that was
easy enough. They have laundry facilities, coin-operated. We did have one little issue with the cleaner who
said she didn't make the beds because we had left things on them! Huh? On the whole I would probably stay here again.

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank NotTooFussySC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights after a GBR cruise Nov. 18 + 19. We got there early, 9:00 am and were not able to get in the room, but stored our luggage and took a tour to Kuranda that the desk booked for us. We booked direct with the hotel and they offered us a $20 AUD discount. Room was large with a double and single bed, tile floor, TV, AC, small bathroom with thin small towels. I had negotiated a 2 for 1 breakfast deal with them. Breakfast was continental, no big deal, cereal, toast, yogurt, fruit, and terrible hot brown water they call coffee. The breakfast room did not have adequate seating as there was a large group who all came and ate at the same time and took up all the tables. We walked into the center of town for dinner, about 10 minutes.
Perfectly fine to stay in for a place to sleep for a very good price. The staff at the desk were very friendly and helpful with tours and taxis.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susiesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2006

We stayed four nights at the Coral Tree Inn before a Great Barrier Reef cruise and then one night after. The hotel is definitely a “beach” type of property and located about a 5 minute walk from the central business district. The buildings are cinderblock. The rooms are clean and adequate with a refrigerator and hot pot for tea or coffee. The small pool is attractive with plantings. We utilized the laundry and cooked dinner our last night on the “barbie”—great fun! The beer and wine sold in the lobby was affordable. Staff was efficient and accommodating.

Cairns doesn’t have a beach—only mud flats and a man-made, shallow lagoon for water lovers. Cairns is definitely a tourist town where everyone sells expensive tours. And no one will tell you about public transportation. We spent $145 pp for an "OK" Daintree Cape Tribulation tour and $198 pp for a Kuranda Scenic Train, Skyrail, and Tjapukai Aboriginal Lunch and Show. The train ride was fun, the Skyrail fantastic, but Tjapukai was mediocre.

Stay in Port Douglas--Four Mile Beach is fabulous!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Teramo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2006

We stayed at this hotel in October 2005 and found it to be good value for money. Our room was small, basic and clean. A combination of ceiling fan and air conditioner kept us pleasantly cool. Lots of clean towels and soaps were delivered daily - I think by the end of our stay we had accumulated at least a dozen ltitle guest soaps! Staff were very friendly and helped us organise trips. We especially enjoyed the "tropical" pool which we had to ourselves most evenings.

If I were staying here again, I would pay the extra premium for an upgraded room. They appeared to be larger and had nicer balconies.

The location was excellent - quiet, with a very pleasant walk on level pavements to the town centre.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MirandaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2006

I was extremely dissatisfied with our stay at the Coral Tree Inn and Cairns. When we first arrived we were able to check in early and have a taxi and tour booked. Much to our disgust, the bathroom reaked of sewage and was so foul that we promptly requested a new room. In the 2nd room, the AirCon leaked liquid all over one of the beds and it was soaked. The front desk laughed at the situation instead of profusely apologizing or providing a discount/upgrade for our trouble. Our third room, the same set up as the previous two, was adequate. All three rooms lacked light and featured cinderblock walls, a wall unit AC (which turns off when you leave the room or remove the key), no remote control for the tv, a view of the dodgy alley behind the motel and a locked security screen over the "balcony". We would have gone to another hotel but were booked for the Skyrail and Kuranda Village shortly after checking in. The Kuranda Village was a tourist trap and waste of time. If you would like to see the rainforest, take the Skyrail both ways, but definitely skip the village and the train.

Altogether, Cairns was similar to Myrtle Beach/Atlantic City, except it doesn't even have a beach, and the Coral Tree Inn was awful. For $90 USD it was a rip-off and I would have been equally happy at Motel 6.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CubbieBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2006

I stayed here for 3 nights (extended to 5 days due to Cyclone Larry) in mid March 2006. The hotel was easy to find. They don't run a shuttle service to the airport but its less than $10 per run. Reception were helpful and could also do tour booking although I did not use any. The room was quite large and clean. It was fairly blandly decorated (green breeze blocks) but had a TV, small fridge etc. The shower was excellent. There was a small balcony with tables, chairs but I did not go out there much. The room has air con and a fan. I requested a double room but also came with an additional single bed, which may be useful for families. There was a small pool area. Breakfast was available at $9. The hotel is not too far from Cairns Central shopping/railway or esplanade - about 10 mins walk to each. During the cyclone, the hotel were able to easily extend my stay for a lower rate than the former booking. I would consider using again. It was not fantastic but perfectly adequate for my needs.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DaveGifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 64 in Cairns
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Tree Inn

Address: 166 - 172 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $78 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Tree Inn is a newly refurbished 4 star resort-style hotel located right in the heart of Cairns City, across from Munro Martin Park and close to all the shops, restaurants, theatre, art galleries and casino. The Hotel features two types of excellent accommodation including newly refurbished standard rooms and self-contained suite rooms. Family rooms and disabled rooms are available on request. Also featured in this hotel are: outdoor saltwater pool, complimentary barbeque facilities with its own dining area, restaurant, conference room, business centre, as well as Massage & Relaxation Centre amongst luscious tropically landscaped gardens. Coral Tree Inn is independently owned and managed, our friendly staff offering consistent and personalised professional services; we bring your rest closer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coral Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Tree Hotel Cairns
Coral Tree Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing