We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Excellent. Everything worked. Very comfy I thought and very clean. Apartment had sea and city views. Near to a Woolworths supermarkets. Across the road from bar & restaurant area. The OFFICIAL Cairns tourist office (ignore all the other 'i' signs) is right next door on the Esplanade and they can tell you everything and sell you the tickets too. Free parking was good. Remember room only gets serviced if you stay 8 nights - but that wasn't a problem. A really good base from which to explore Cairns area. Staff were good. Nice and smiley.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear BrendonDB,

Thanks for your kind review. Once again, it is terrific to hear that you found the staff good, nice and smiley. it certainly makes your stay more pleasant if the team are providing you with what you need, and in a friendly manner. Thanks for highlighting the availability of free secure parking.

I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    483
    165
    50
    26
See reviews for
259
432
71
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Good location with the courthouse pub downstairs and woolworths across the road from that.
Esplanade and marina across the road as well. Bus stop across the road as well to get to other areas in cairns. Price wasn't that bad for the room. Join the Mantra club for deals and discounts.
Room was a good size compared to some other mantra resorts I have stayed in. We had a city view, not sure its worth the extra money for the esplanade view. Like all Queensland hotels, a heated pool would be good, the water is always freezing. Staff where friendly and nice. Room was clean and tidy when we arrived. No issues checking in.

Room Tip: Bit of noise from the pub downstairs if you have the windows open. I would at least get a 1 bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freezy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Freezy11,

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you found the room clean and that our staff were friendly and nice. It is true that depending on the weather, the pool can get a bit cold for about 2 months per year. This year was exceptionally cool. The Cairns lagoon directly across the road from Mantra Esplanade gets a lot more sunshine and therefore swimming can be more comfortable there. For the other 10 months of the year, either option is good.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Highly priced but it is located right on the esplanade and close to the harbour for the reef tours etc. close to cafés and shops, no service to the room though daily, expensive wifi charges which should be free these days. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Room was clean and tidy just a bit over priced maybe 4 nights ended up costing $976

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Rob B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Mantra Esplanade. I am pleased to see that you found the team to be friendly and very helpful, the rooms clean and tidy, and the location central to everything. July, August, and September is the most expensive time to travel to Cairns, and hence the reason the room rates are relatively high to other times of the year. I would certainly recommend travelling in June, November, or December to enjoy the same lovely experience at lower room rates. Flights are generally more affordable in those months as well.
We have endeavoured to make our internet pricing more attractive this year with rates starting from $10 per day. There is also free use of a small internet kiosk in reception. I should add that most areas of the property allow access to the free Cairns Community WiFi.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed between the 3rd and 6th August. Booked a 1 bedroom city view. Room number 429 with both city and sea views. Check in was fast and friendly, the room was a little stale and furniture dated, however was all in working order. The 1 bedroom apartments are very spacious with good facilities. Close walk to heaps or restuarants, shops, marina and esplanade. Overall good value for money.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NickTrezise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Nick Trezise,

Thank you for quick summary of your stay at Mantra Esplanade. You have highlighted our regular positives which are location and friendly service. Having spent the last 12 months updating carpet and tiles in the vast majority of our rooms, we are now working on a package that will enable the various unit owners to update their furniture. I agree that in most rooms the furniture is solid, but certainly of an older style.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We loved the fact we were right in the middle of everything we wanted to do and see. We were in walking distance to everything we needed, plus so many food choices and cafes so close. The Reef terminal where you catch the boats to the Reef is a short walk from the Hotel.The room was spotless and we had a view of the Esplanade where the swimming lagoon is. The staff were helpful and happy..and plenty of undercover secure car parks available with lifts to all the floors. Everything you would ever need so close for a trip to Cairns.

Room Tip: Facing the Esplanade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Helen F,

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at Mantra Esplanade. Whilst you have highlighted many positives, the one that I always find the most pleasing is that you found the team at Mantra Esplanade to be helpful and happy. That is certainly the customer service culture that we are trying to foster.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
285 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed here in a hotel room. Great ocean view. Could sit out on patio and enjoy the ambience. Had all the facilities we required. Staff welcoming and helpful. Security car parking. Plenty of cafes nearby. Choice of food styles endless. Near the night markets and within walking distance of Rusty's Markets Cairns Central etc etc. Swimming lagoon over the road. Walk to the day cruises. Come and go as you wish.

Room Tip: Remember other unit occupants when coming and going with your door opening and closing. Noisy echoes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herbie2219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Herbie2219,

It is always terrific reading a positive review from such an avid Trip Advisor contributor. 61 reviews is a significant contribution.

It's wonderful to hear that you made the most of your stay at Mantra Esplanade. Thank you for pointing out to readers the many positive aspects of our property. You are correct, that there can be noise associated with the opening and closing of your neighbours door in a dual-key situation. Fortunately most guests are considerate of gently opening and closing the door. Sorry for any inconvenience caused by this during your stay.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Expedia and mantra esplanade has been nothing but disrespectful, unprofessional and ridiculous. I wanted to give your company 0 ratings. If I didn't show up, did you not have the courage to me up and remind me I had booked for the 28-31st? Of course not. No calls, not even an email. That's how ridiculous your company is. It highly shows the customer service you put in to your customers. Above all, I did not just lose my hotel money , I also lost my flight aswell. This is because expedia had taken my money and also my hotel money and did not add me onto my flight(Tigerair from Sydney) . Expedia had also mentioned on the phone with me, if I had called back mantra esplanade before 9am.. I will be able to get my full refund back. Expedia Called back mantra for me before 9am, because they organised this trip for me. Mantra said they can't refund anything back for me. This is called greed , disrespectful . Especially the manager who could not arrange something else for me but to keep my whole amount of money I paid for . I will make sure to spread this news around.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#8 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Property: Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Address: 53 - 57 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Esplanade offers a prime waterfront location, with stylish and contemporary accommodation in the heart of Cairns. Just steps away from the Cairns Swimming Lagoon and offering sweeping ocean, city and mountain views Mantra Esplanade offers a range of Hotel Rooms to fully self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature air conditioning, a balcony, cable TV, hair dryer, internet access (fee), iron and ironing board, and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a 24 hour reception desk, tour desk, shopping complex, swimming pool, spa (not heated), exercise room and barbecue area. Wander across the road to the Cairns Lagoon in front of the Mantra Esplanade or grab a bite to eat at the many restaurants and cafes on your doorstep. In the evening, stroll down the Esplanade to the night markets where you'll find souvenirs, aboriginal art work, crafts, homewares and jewellery. Cairns is a nature lover's paradise and the gateway to the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef, as well as the Daintree National Park and Cape Tribulation. Take the SkyRail cable car and glide above the spectacular rainforest canopy to the laid-back market town of Kuranda. Catch the Kuranda Scenic Railway back to Cairns to enjoy more breathtaking scenery as it winds through rainforest and past tumbling waterfalls on its way back down to Cairns. Discover all the amazing sights and activities available in and around Cairns while staying at Mantra Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing