We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Couldn't have asked for a better location for our 8 days in Cairns, walking distance to the harbour/marina, amazing restaurants, shopping centres and transport. Customer service from staff at the hotel was great, friendly, 24 hours and always happy to help, give advice and organise our day trips etc. Room size was adequate and balcony view was great, my only sticking point was no room service, unless you paid $25/per service, no rubbish removal or linen change for the whole time we were there, to be honest, if I had been made aware of this before I booked, I probably wouldn't have stayed here, and probably wouldn't again for a long stay. Other than those minor points, a wonderful place to stay and relax.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fantastic_bax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear fantastic_bax,

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying in Cairns for 8 days. So many people come and go so quickly, that they don't allow themselves time to relax and just enjoy the natural beauty surrounding Cairns.

You are correct that our room rates don't include a daily service of your room. However for stays of 7 nights or more we do include a mid-stay clean. I apologise if you did not receive this service during your stay as I am sure that it would have enhanced your experience.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,530)
There are newer reviews for Mantra Esplanade Cairns
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,084 - 1,090 of 1,530 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

Our group book 7 rooms at the Mantra for our 4 night stay. My room was very clean, AC was on for us and our view was great . We had a view of the esplanade and could watch the night life and the wild live fly by. The rooms are well appointed, with all the basics you would need and a very comfy bed. Staff were always helpful. The best thing about this hotel is that your close to just about everything. The marina, casino and a short stroll up the esplanade and could literally try a different type of food ever night. the pool was a little o the chilly side but that is really my only whinge. I would defiantly stay there again and hopefully in the near future!! 9.5/10

Room Tip: ask for a view of the esplanade
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Darren Q,

Thank you very much for your detailed and positive review of your time at Mantra Esplanade. I hope everyone in your group enjoyed themselves as much as you did. You have highlighted an item that I often forget to mention, that we are indeed just a couple of hundred metres from the casino. Not very far to carry all of that money home at the end of the night!

I hope that we have the opportunity to host you again.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Mantra Esplanade offers an excellent location for tourists in Cairns, with easy access to the Marina where boats depart on numerous Great Barrier Reef tours, including snorkelling and diving opportunities.
Whilst the hotel itself does not have a restaurant, there are two offers within the hotel's "complex" - the Courthouse Hotel, which offers a bit of history as well as a bar, bistro and gamingroom and Wink Cafe, with outdoor balcony seating overlooking the Esplanade and Cairns Lagoon. There are also plenty of options for eating and drinking, with the options of Smith St, Lake St and the Esplanade being all within walking distance.
The rooms themselves are of a good size, and the balconies with Esplanade views offer an interesting opportunity for people watching as well as being a good spot to enjoy some wine and cheese.
Check in and check out was quite slow for us as there were a lot of people waiting to check in and out at the same time us as, with one employee offering assistance at check-in and two being available at check out. The queues were more likely to be a result of this being Easter weekend than anything else.
Staff at the reception desk were also really helpful in offering insight into restaurants in the area, as well as being offering direct bookings for local tours, including the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mslexxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear mslexxi,

Thank you very much for your detailed review of your time at Mantra Esplanade. I am sure readers will appreciate the positive information that you have provided.

I apologise for any inconvenience caused by the delay at check-in and check-out.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Situated on the Esplanade on the waterfront in Cairns we found this was a very handy location. Our room was very good and everything we wanted to do such as eating out at restaurants or shopping was walking distance. Cairns Central Mall is about a 15 minute walk. Amazing sight just after sunset each night when Flying Foxes (fruit bats) flew past in flocks that I would estimate numbered tens or even hundreds of thousands. Don't park your car under the trees.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 481tonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear 481tonyc,

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Mantra Esplanade. We tend to take the Flying Foxes for granted, but it certainly proves to be a novel attraction to our visitors as they seem them filling the sky at sunset. Yes, many a victim has parked their car in one of the nearby streets and returned to see it quite a different to colour to how they had left it.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great location. Right across from the lagoon swimming pool. Easy walk to wharf for tours to the reef.
Staff where all lovely nothing was ever a problem.
Rooms where clean and spacious. We had a lovely view of the lagoon pool and out to the coral sea. Hotel pool however was very cold and did not receive a lot of sun. Always shaded from the building.
Would most defiantly stay again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Sal C,

Location, lovely staff, clean and spacious room with a lovely view. Thank you. That is what we are striving for.

We are currently investigating options to enhance the comfort of the hotel pool during the less warm months.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I traveled with my fiance and a couple of our friends, booked a city view room on level 3. I liked the room's partially ocean view as well as its great location and service. The only issue (as some other reviews already mentioned) was annoying drilling sounds in the morning from the next construction site exactly while we're enjoying our relaxing sleep. The pool's was also very cold which made us unable to swim in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzinAmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear AzinAmin,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your time with your friends staying at Mantra Esplanade. Please accept my apologies for any interruption to your sleep from nearby construction noises. Also, in regards to the pool I certainly find that the pool much cooler in the days immediately following rain. In general it is a pleasant pool to swim in. There is of course also the Cairns lagoon directly across the road as another alternative.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a nice place to stay with a great location. you are in walking distance of just about everything including a grocery store (for some cheaper brews). with the reef and tours you probably won't be in the room much so this place is ideal! has a nice patio too to have some drinks and relax on, watch the sunset, and the flying foxes!!!

Room Tip: you have to clean your own room (no service) so be aware
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amadiomusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Amadiomusic,

Many of our guests certainly take advantage of the proximity of the supermarket and bottleshop so that they are not spending money on dining out all of the time. However, there are of course many restaurants and cafes in all price ranges to enjoy in close proximity as well.

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,260 reviews
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Address: 53 - 57 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $111 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the Cairns Swimming Lagoon and offering sweeping ocean, city and mountain views Mantra Esplanade offers a range of Hotel Rooms to fully self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments, featuring air conditioning, a balcony, cable TV, hair dryer, internet access (fee), iron and ironing board, and tea and coffee making facilities. Onsite facilities include 24 hour reception desk, tour desk, swimming pool, spa (not heated), exercise room and barbecue area. In the evening, stroll down the Esplanade to the night markets where you'll find souvenirs, aboriginal art work, crafts, homewares and jewellery. Cairns is a nature lover's paradise and the gateway to the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef, as well as the Daintree National Park and Cape Tribulation. Take the SkyRail cable car and glide above the spectacular rainforest canopy to the laid-back market town of Kuranda. Catch the Kuranda Scenic Railway back to Cairns to enjoy more breathtaking scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing