We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel - would recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Whakatane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel - would recommend”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed for a week in a one bedroom apartment with city views (but we could see the esplanade pool from our balcony).
Very clean and tidy - excellent facilities and friendly staff - perfect location - would definately stay again.
We did experience one very noisy night - with bands playing at the esplanade. Any other night we would have gone down to enjoy it but we had just arrived and were tired - so earplugs helped drown out the noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisWhakatane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Chris Whakatane,

Thank you for taking the time to send your positive feedback on Mantra Esplanade.

The staff were very pleased to hear they had been part of your pleasant memories of Cairns.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    587
    188
    61
    30
See reviews for
329
534
87
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed with a friend here for 3 nights, we found a cheap deal online for room only (no housekeeping, no breakfast). We stayed in what was supposed to be a city-view room, but we looked out over the esplanade and out to the sea, so I guess we got lucky there. We really didn't mind about the no breakfast as it meant we got to try out the local cafes instead, and the no housekeeping meant we didn't have to worry about packing up the valuables every morning.
The room was comfortable, we got 2 single beds as requested.
The bathroom was a little shabby - discoloured shower curtain around the bottom, cracked and missing grout in the tiles below the hot tap which looked like it had bee leaking for a while as it was all green from the copper pipes down the vertical bit of grouting that was broken.
This is probably the best located Mantra in Cairns, down the south end near the Lagoon Pool on the Esplanade and the Casino. Only one block north to the first of the cafes. Can be a little noisy due to late nighters on the esplanade, but most hotels would have this problem.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Esplanade have great views but may be noisy due to being street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Heather M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property and I was pleased to hear you enjoyed the view - it is especially lovely at this time of the year.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

A few nights of enjoyable accommodation, great location and friendly staff. The bedroom was nice and clean with a big comfy bed. The hotel lobby was refreshing with happy staff on the front desk. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Stuart R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback about Mantra Esplanade.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Currently staying at this hotel for 10 days. Unit is a one bedroom city view - unit 620.
Unit has all we could ever require for this reasonably long stay and is immaculately clean. Full sized fridge, washing machine and dryer, micro-wave and great sized, comfortable bed. Location is perfect! Right on the Esplanade where all the night life is. Staff are welcoming and friendly.
Great place to stay, would definitely recommend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanette w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear jeanette w,

Thank you so much for your feedback - the housekeeping staff were particularly pleased to be mentioned as they take great pride in their work!

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We recently stayed only 1night but were very happy with our choice. We stayed in a regular hotel room and were pleasantly upgraded to an ocean view which was lovely. The room was clean with a king size bed and the view very pretty. The room was also relatively quiet considering its central location. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Svetlana P,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at Mantra Epslanade.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay!!

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Mantra Esplanade had just what we needed after a week roughing it in Fiji--a washing machine and clothes dryer. The refrigerator was nice, too. So was the view. Beyond that, it was sterile and corporate. When there were concerts, overlooking the park became a bit loud. It filled the need, but lacked charm. Oh, yes, the restaurant lost our room service order, but gave us a nice bottle of wine in exchange.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Krystinka,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

I cannot comment regarding the restaurant as unfortunately, it is not controlled by the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently stayed here for a week with my four year old daughter and we had a great time. We stayed in a one bedroom city-view apartment. I did notice that you could hear music from the adjacent Courthouse bar on the Friday and Saturday night, but not too loud that we couldn't sleep. Location is fantastic especially if you are staying with young children because they will want to spend a lot of time at the Lagoon directly over the road. This is easily within walking distance to most places you would go to in the city of Cairns. The room was very clean and very comfortable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear BernAdelaide,

Thank you so much for taking the time to pass on such wonderful feedback!!

Look forward to seeing you again for your next Cairns adventure!

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Property: Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Address: 53 - 57 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Esplanade offers a prime waterfront location, with stylish and contemporary accommodation in the heart of Cairns. Just steps away from the Cairns Swimming Lagoon and offering sweeping ocean, city and mountain views Mantra Esplanade offers a range of Hotel Rooms to fully self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature air conditioning, a balcony, cable TV, hair dryer, internet access (fee), iron and ironing board, and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a 24 hour reception desk, tour desk, shopping complex, swimming pool, spa (not heated), exercise room and barbecue area. Wander across the road to the Cairns Lagoon in front of the Mantra Esplanade or grab a bite to eat at the many restaurants and cafes on your doorstep. In the evening, stroll down the Esplanade to the night markets where you'll find souvenirs, aboriginal art work, crafts, homewares and jewellery. Cairns is a nature lover's paradise and the gateway to the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef, as well as the Daintree National Park and Cape Tribulation. Take the SkyRail cable car and glide above the spectacular rainforest canopy to the laid-back market town of Kuranda. Catch the Kuranda Scenic Railway back to Cairns to enjoy more breathtaking scenery as it winds through rainforest and past tumbling waterfalls on its way back down to Cairns. Discover all the amazing sights and activities available in and around Cairns while staying at Mantra Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing