We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff and good stay for IM Cairns” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice staff and good stay for IM Cairns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Upon arrival, I had to drop my stuff off & quickly park the car. The reception was accommodating in passing a keycard to me before I was able to register. Good security. 24hr Reception. 200m away from the IM Melbourne expo and really close to shops. Room was good for me. Living room was big enough for 2 bikes and bedroom for 2 luggage. Spare pillow & rollovers in the closet with iron & board. Kitchenette with complete equipment. As I've already paid for the room charges, all I had to do is to drop my keycard at the box on the Guest Parking floor without heading to the reception desk (of course after calling to notify them first). Unfortunately, the airport for our room 620 was quite noisy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purrjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Purrjen,

Thank you so much for providing such positive ffedback about your recent stay with us.

I hope you achieved the results you desired in the event and look forward to welcoming you back for next year's Ironman!

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    540
    176
    55
    28
See reviews for
299
490
84
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was definitely not worth the money to stay here. The view was the only good thing. The staff were unfriendly and un accommodating right from the moment we checked in. We had our room cleaned once in 8 nights and they didn't leave any extra toilet paper, when we rang the front desk to ask for some they said there was no one who could bring it up we had to go down and get it. They charge an absolute fortune for WIFI. Also there was work going on above us and actually woke us up with noise of a drill...we couldn't even stay in the room and watch TV it was so loud! Would not stay at a Mantra again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amcgrath_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear amcgrath_2,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Our competitive rates do not include a daily service and this is available on request at a charge of $25.00 per day. When you book 8 nights or more, a mid stay clean is included.

I agree that the WifFi charge in the rooms is a little high and we do offer free Wifi on the hotel computer located in the lobby.

Although we knew one of the owner/occupiers was having a bathroom renovation done, we were not advised that the contractor would need to drill out old concrete. Unfortunately, there is no good time to do work such as this but we did ask that he cease that morning and advised noisy work could only be done between 10am and 2pm.

I apologise that some aspects of your stay were not to the Mantra standard we pride ourselves on.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Not what I was expecting from the Mantra brand. Tired, dated furniture and fittings, bordering on shabby. Gets the 3rd star from me for the location, which is brilliant, right on the doorstep of the foreshore and shopping. Room was clean, secure parking is good, and staff were nice, but slightly overpriced for its condition.

Room Tip: Waterfront is worth it, the views are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear austenette,

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are constantly working to improve our product and I apologise that on this occasion, we were not to the standard you felt was acceptable.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here 4 nights and the hotel is about average but that is by no means a negative. The location is great - right across from the Esplanade. The rooms are all suites with a full kitchen and washer/dryer so its good for multiple nights. All the balconies have nice views. A negative I have is that the pool area always seems to be in the shade but you can just go across the street to the Esplanade. The staff are very helpful as you would expect. There is a bar out back and that can be pretty nosy into the night which is pretty annoying when you have to get up early.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view as it is away from the bar at the back which can get pretty loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWalker610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We booked here for a few days for a family holiday.

Our first impression was good. Great location, friendly front desk and looks great from outside.

However, the first room we got was not up to scratch. It smelled of smoke, the view was pretty bad (although for the price/deal we got that wasnt so unexpected) and the bathroom tap was leaking and looked like it had been for a while. Also, we were this our toddler and the room wasnt very child friendly. While 'technically' a single bed apartment, the bedroom was only separated from the lounge by a sliding blind/shutter door. As our toddler wasnt the best sleeper it didnt work for us as we really need a room where we can close out our noise from the main room and enjoy ourselves in the evening.

However!

We went to the front desk the next morning to voice our displeasure and were treated with wonderful respect and understanding.

We were moved to a new room, which had a proper door we could close to the bedroom. The second room didnt smell of smoke, was well appointed and had a great view to boot. This was even though it was a full house!

Needless to say, we were exteremely happy with the service and still are very thankful.

Apart from all the usual stuff everyone had mentioned here, I just noticed that the lifts seem insanely efficient for the size of the place. Maybe we were just lucky, but considering it was a full house it was like we hardly ever had to wait and when we did it was for no time at all.

Im in two minds about this place. If you pay for just the cheapest rooms, you might end up with something like our first room. But the 'good' rooms really are great and I can only pay the highest compliments to the staff for the way they helped us with our complaint.

So I would definitely recommend this place and give it 4/5 stars.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms on the esplanade side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gringravitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear gringravitis,

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

Mantra Esplanade pride themselves on their customer service and were pleased to hear they had helped make your stay with us memorable for the right reasons.

we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

This place is right on the Esplanade so an excellent location especially if you don't have a car. The rooms are a little tired but clean and a good size. Its not a five star hotel so don't expect that but you can get good deal on a place that is clean and safe. It has limited cooking facilities and washing & drying in the two bedroom apartments. I am a Cusoon member which is free to join and gets you great deals and an extra 5% off even on rack rates. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Dinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Dr_Dinosaur,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the location was a definite plus for your holiday activities.

we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights, booked on Qantas website. Bad mistake!
We couldn't believe Qantas offer this accommodation as a recommendation. The property appears attractive on the outside and foyer. Granted, it is a great location . However, once you get into the lift and head to the guest rooms, we were very disappointed.
We booked a studio room for $165 and realised our mistake - too small for 4 nights so we asked to upgrade and pay an extra $40 for a 1 bedroom unit. For $205 a night, we expected clean, comfortable and contemporary furnishings. The room smelt and the carpet was worn , the lounge was so filthy, we didn't dare sit on it. My husband asked to see a 2nd room to transfer. Unfortunately, it was no better. This property is in big need of a refurbishment. To top it off, we were told that the room would not be serviced for 4 days unless we paid extra. How can Mantra charge hotel prices at $205 a night and not provide servicing? We soon realised that Mantra is a low end accommodation provider with only costs in mind, the staff tried to do their best, clearly they get blamed by many guests for the quality of the rooms. We felt sorry for the staff.
The cleaning in the rooms when it was done was average (the air conditioner was filthy - we worried what disease born creatures were growing in there and soon realised this was where the smell was coming from). We survived by spraying Channel 5 into the unit!
The final straw was our believe it had Fox sports and when it came time to watch rugby super 15's on both nights, there was no channel providing this even though it had been advertised. We gave up and went out to a bar to watch the rugby.
We had 4 days in cairns and spent very little in time in the room because it was so disgusting. We will NEVER return to this property and NEVER stay in a Mantra again. Mantra are a disgrace.

Room Tip: None - suspect they are all the same - we looked at 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billie12GoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear billie12,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We do appreciate all feedback.

I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Property: Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Address: 53 - 57 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Esplanade offers a prime waterfront location, with stylish and contemporary accommodation in the heart of Cairns. Just steps away from the Cairns Swimming Lagoon and offering sweeping ocean, city and mountain views Mantra Esplanade offers a range of Hotel Rooms to fully self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature air conditioning, a balcony, cable TV, hair dryer, internet access (fee), iron and ironing board, and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a 24 hour reception desk, tour desk, shopping complex, swimming pool, spa (not heated), exercise room and barbecue area. Wander across the road to the Cairns Lagoon in front of the Mantra Esplanade or grab a bite to eat at the many restaurants and cafes on your doorstep. In the evening, stroll down the Esplanade to the night markets where you'll find souvenirs, aboriginal art work, crafts, homewares and jewellery. Cairns is a nature lover's paradise and the gateway to the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef, as well as the Daintree National Park and Cape Tribulation. Take the SkyRail cable car and glide above the spectacular rainforest canopy to the laid-back market town of Kuranda. Catch the Kuranda Scenic Railway back to Cairns to enjoy more breathtaking scenery as it winds through rainforest and past tumbling waterfalls on its way back down to Cairns. Discover all the amazing sights and activities available in and around Cairns while staying at Mantra Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing