We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania
2 reviews
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here in a 2 bedroom apartment for 5 nights with our 3 children. We thought the hotel was great- very clean and modern. The staff were helpful, and the cleaning staff that said hello in the corridors were extremely friendly! The pool is lovely to look at, but freezing as it does not get any sun and is unheated, but the lagoon across the road was wonderful.
My one criticism is that the rooms facing the back of the hotel are not a good place to stay on a saturday and friday night as the Courthouse Hotel plays very loud live music-even ear plugs did not mute it. However I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janeintassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hi janeintassie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your Cairns holiday and how Mantra Esplanade helped make it more enjoyable and memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to tropical North Queensland in the near future.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    540
    175
    55
    28
See reviews for
299
489
84
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights and had the time of our lives....we had a hotel room which had everything we needed......rooms were nicely decorated. and comfortable.....Staff were all friendly and helpful.....also good security as you can only get up to the other floors with a access card.....our room looked out over sheild street the esplanade and lagoon pools we enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the evening watching and listening to everything going on there was even a guy singing on the cnr every night. You can access free internet on a computer in the main lobby....The mantra has a front and back acess so that you can easliy acess the supermarket and eateries on the next street .......We found the Mantra Esplanade central to everything we required. only thing that we were disappoint ed with was the pool as it didn't get alot of sun but it was no biggy as the lagoon pools are just across the road.Will definitly come back

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing sheild st and lagoon pools if you like to see whats happening in the evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shiraz1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear shiraz1969,

Thank you for taking the time when you arrived home to remember us and post such a wonderful review of Mantra Esplanade!! The team take pride in their property and love hearing that they are part of a positive holiday experience.

We do hope we see you again soon.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Spent 3 nights here and we were happy to leave. The staff are cold and the main floor snack bar/restaurant was closed and apparently out of business....a sign of problems in the hotel. Don't expect service...they will give you fresh sheets and towels after the 5th night if you are staying more than 8 days. Same for the tiny bottles of shampoo and soap. You get one of each for 5 days unless you buy extra. Internet is $25./day and you have to rent a key to use the in room safe. Rooms were average size but nothing special and seemed to have been cut in two because the room key to enter from the hallway allowed you access to a tiny alcove to enter one of two rooms. The beds were fine for sleeping but the hotel looked like it needed a major facelift. We had an equally unpleasant stay at a Mantra in Sydney.....is it the chain?

Room Tip: Hotel is beautifully located on the Esplanade facing the ocean so rooms on that side of the hotel wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Gerry D,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

The majority of our rooms are dual key meaning there is a common entrance to a hotel room and one bedroom apartment. There are one bedroom apartments which do not have a hotel room by their side and can be requested.

Our competitive rates do not have a daily service included but is available on request at a charge of $25.00 per day. Fresh linen and room amenities such as tea, coffee and soap are available at reception free of charge.

WiFi is free when using the guest computer located in the lobby but there is a charge when accessing WiFi from the room.

Unfortunately, the cafe in the lobby is owned by a third party who have decided to close it. Fortunately, because of Mantra Esplanade's ideal location, there are several wonderful cafes and restaurants within an easy walking distance.

I am sorry that your stay with us was not the positive Mantra experience we would like our guests to enjoy.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

In Cairns, the place to be is on The Esplanade. That is where all the touristy shops and restaurants are, and it is right next to the ocean which features a lifeguarded salt water lagoon pool that is regularly flushed out. A few blocks away is the "real" Cairns, easy to walk to.

Home for four days, the rooms at the Mantra Esplanade are sparkling clean and modern, very large, quiet and comfortable. We had a view towards town, so we could easily plan how far we had to walk to Woolworth's for groceries. The staff was friendly and very helpful, as Jacob15 thoroughly explained. We had a faulty TV remote control and it was fixed as we were unpacking.

Once again, though, the location: it's where things are happening at night, (like the Night Market) but we loved the big trees in the park across the road that were alive with lorakeets, parrots and giant bats at dusk. This section of the Esplanade is full of attractions, natural and manmade.

The Mantra was a great place to go home to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rcurry17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear rcurry17,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Mantra Esplanade, Cairns!!

We were so pleased to hear your stay with us was all that it could be.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Excellent location; great staff and free parking was a bonus.

My only issue is charging you $100 deposit on your card and when you leave it takes around 5 days to get your money back. Why can they not take an imprint like other places do. Ended up paying in cash so could get back immediately upon checking. The young lady who checked us confirmed that the procedure was very unpopular.

Room Tip: Beach view room is extra but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear williamv546,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
336 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I agree with another recent reviewer, but I won't steal their title “Great hotel, perfect location, friendly staff”, but it says it all.

If I was told I HAD to mention something bad, all I could say was how the pool was drained, but A) you can't do maintenance with water in the pool and B) while checking in the lovely lady on the front desk explained that to us and how Cairn's awesome free lagoon pool was located right across the road!

Hotel - The Mantra Esplanade was very clean, tidy and quite flash looking. It was also very quiet, which I loved. The rooms were very clean, tidy and very comfortable. The beds were very comfortable, the lounge had a nice flat screen TV and the kitchen had everything we could possibly need. I liked the positioning of the balcony, which allowed us to chat to out neighbours, and even lead to us going out drinking with the couple next door and their friends.

Location - The location was PERFECT! Mantra Esplanade seemed to be positioned directly in the middle of EVERYTHING! Everything was just across the road, or directly next door. This started with my love of watches, so I had to buy a watch from the lovely man at 'Princess Jewelers' right in the foyer of the hotel! Directly next door was 'Cairns Travel Centre' where were able to plan the entire stay in Cairns and book all of our day trips at once.

We used the free lagoon pool across the road, a number of times.

The shops were all around the Hotel. The many restaurants were all around the Hotel, with some of the best ones right next door.

The night market was right around the corner. The Casino was right across the road. The movie complex a short walk. The ferry terminal and wharf to check in for our 'Great Barrier Reef' dive trip was just across the road.

All the bars and clubs were across the road and just around the corner.

Again, PERFECT location!!!!!

Hotel Staff - All staff were lovely to us and consistent throughout our stay. For example, when checking in, we asked for advice about day tours to the reef etc. Instead of simply pointing us over to the brochure stand, the nice lady (sorry I forgot her name, but manager possibly owner?) instead came out from behind the counter and went through the brochures with us and explained them to us.

I always got a warm welcome from reception staff, when returning from dinner/markets etc.

As I mentioned in the title, the only thing that I wasn't happy about was having to check out, though at least it was to fly to Surfers Paradise :)

Thank you Mantra Esplanade. I really fell in love with Cairns and will be back to stay in the future, and finally try out the pool ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacob15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

location,location,location and not to mention the views, helpfull staff and clean and well apointed rooms makes for a great stay.
It's best to pay that bit extra a get an "ocean view room" the view is breath taking.
Very happy with our stay in a 2 bedroom appartment over easter. Will be staying here again for sure!
Thanks for the memories :)

Room Tip: 2nd floor ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hervey_Bay_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Esplanade Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Esplanade Cairns

Property: Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Address: 53 - 57 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Family Hotel in Cairns
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Esplanade Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Esplanade offers a prime waterfront location, with stylish and contemporary accommodation in the heart of Cairns. Just steps away from the Cairns Swimming Lagoon and offering sweeping ocean, city and mountain views Mantra Esplanade offers a range of Hotel Rooms to fully self-contained One and Two Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature air conditioning, a balcony, cable TV, hair dryer, internet access (fee), iron and ironing board, and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a 24 hour reception desk, tour desk, shopping complex, swimming pool, spa (not heated), exercise room and barbecue area. Wander across the road to the Cairns Lagoon in front of the Mantra Esplanade or grab a bite to eat at the many restaurants and cafes on your doorstep. In the evening, stroll down the Esplanade to the night markets where you'll find souvenirs, aboriginal art work, crafts, homewares and jewellery. Cairns is a nature lover's paradise and the gateway to the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef, as well as the Daintree National Park and Cape Tribulation. Take the SkyRail cable car and glide above the spectacular rainforest canopy to the laid-back market town of Kuranda. Catch the Kuranda Scenic Railway back to Cairns to enjoy more breathtaking scenery as it winds through rainforest and past tumbling waterfalls on its way back down to Cairns. Discover all the amazing sights and activities available in and around Cairns while staying at Mantra Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Esplanade Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Esplanade Cairns Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Mantra Esplanade Resort Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing