We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Beautiful hotel, large rooms, clean, quite, good service. Excellent

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MigueAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2010

Dear MigueAngel

Thank you for your review.

You have summed it up perfectly with just nine words! Let me add two - "thank you".

(we hope to welcome you back to the Pullman Reef Hotel Casino for another excellent stay)

Warn regards

Adrian Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,847 - 1,853 of 2,069 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2010

For our Australian vacation we were generally staying with friends, so I chose a nice hotel for Cairns. The Pullman Reef was near perfect.

Great location, gorgeous rooms, good beds. A nice touch is that our room had a small balcony through sliding doors - so nice to be able to have a drink in with fresh air.

The lobby has three modern iMacs and a printer, as well as wireless. You can use either the iMacs or the wireless with your own device by getting a code from the front desk. That code will give you 30 minutes of connectivity. Decent system to avoid folks leeching the wireless.

One quibble - first night we were travel weary and decided to try the casual restaurant in the casino. As a Vancouverite, I found the food in Australia to generally be subpar and insult to injury, it's roughly twice the price. So if you're going to spend big on food, be sure you're in a good restaurant. On the flip side, if you're going cheap, expect the worst. The food as this establishment was just plain awful. I had heard that the higher-end restaurant in the hotel was better, but they do Asian fusion, and we tend to be purists about our Asian food.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigtommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2010

Dear Bigtommy

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed your time in Cairns.

It is a shame you didn't get a chance to dine at Tamarind as this is one of the most popular restaurants in Cairns and has won numerous awards for food and service. I describe the cuisine as contemporary Australia rather than fusion. I am certain that as a discerning Vancouverite you would have loved the experience!

You may be interested to know that we have four restaurants, three bars and a night club at our property (as well as the best casino in Cairns!). We have recently closed one of our restaurants and will shortly reopen with an authentic Chinese full service restaurant offering traditional Peking and Cantonese fare - perfect for Asian food purists!

Again I am pleased you enjoyed your time in Cairns and I hope to have a chance to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Adrian Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

We stayed her on the last night of our two weeks honeymoon in Tropical North Queensland……We stayed here as we had a red eye flight home the next morning.....

We drove ourselves from Port Douglas earlier that day and arrived into Cairns approx lunchtime

We went to the Pullman actually expecting to be too early for check in, but our room was ready for us! Check in was easy, very friendly lady on the counter and the concierge assisted with our two large luggage bags to our room from our car on the road
We parked our car in the car park and then went straight to our room and our bags where already there ... also there was a complimentary bottle of champagne on ice for us - how lovely!

We were quite tired from two weeks of holidaying and it was raining outside that we decided to stay in the room for a while and paid for an in house movie … and drank our champagne

The room was lovely and we were even upgraded on check out free!

The only area for improvement would be the TV.. it wasn’t very clear and the sound was quite distorted when on the movie ….

At 5pm we walked downstairs and spent an hour in the casino… then went had casual dinner at the China Café… and then we were lucky enough to secure tickets to the illusionist show on that evening which was fantastic!!
After the show we went back to our room and called it a night

In the morning we checked out super early 4.30am and the gentleman on the front desk was very polite and helpful

All the staff were very well presented and friendly
I will defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cairns; we could have easily spent more than one night in this wonderful hotel

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minky_Adel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2010

Dear Mink_Adel

Thank you for your comments and we are pleased that you took the opportunity to enjoy a number of the wonderful activities we offer in our property. We are the only hotel in Cairns to offer such variety in restaurants, bars and activities under one roof. I hope that you enjoyed Sam Powers' magic show, it is a great night out. We recommend guests to book the dinner and show package which includes dining in our award winning Tamarind restaurant.

I note your comments regarding our televisions. Since your stay we have upgraded our system to full digital, added in more channels and have even installed an HD front end to our movie and television system. We now offer around 30 channels of entertainment, 20 channels of movies and 10 channels of digital radio. We have also installed 42" LCD sets all our suites. I am certain when you are with us next with so much entertainment you will again wish it to be raining!!

I hope to welcome you back to the Pullman.

Warm regards,

Adrian Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

A excellent choice for a special getaway, the rooms are immaculate with spa's in every room! Go on, indulge yourself you wont regret it!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomad23Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2010

Thank you for your review.

We agree, the Pullman Reef Hotel Casino is a wonderful hotel to spend time with your partner! Cairns is an ideal location for either a night away or an extended break with great activities around the hotel or within our casino complex.

I hope that we can welcome you back.

Kind regards

Adrian Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

This is a very comfortable hotel in a central location. The room was large and I really enjoyed the wirlpool tub after a day of sightseeing. You can easily walk to the harbour, the esplanade and many restaurants. The only downside to this hotel is the price of the internet but there are public internet locations close by. Overall, for a few days in Cairns this is a great hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NepeanCanteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2010

Thank you for your review.

Indeed the Pullman Reef Hotel Casino is the ideal location - we are in walking distance to almost everything and after dark you dont even need to walk anywhere to get to our great restaurants, casino and bars including free live entertainment.

I note your comment on internet: we offer a choise of free internet connection in our lobby and on our iMacs in our Connectivity Lounge. We also have a choice of options in the room providing you with the fastest retail internet available. I recommend to beware of some hotels offering "free" internet as sometimes the connection speeds are so slow you'd be stuck online for hours.

Again thank you and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Adrian Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

I cannot say enough good things about the Pullman Reef! Such a beautiful hotel in a beautiful city! A friend and I had been traveling around Australia staying mostly in hostels. We decided to book a hotel for Cairns because many of the hostels were only a few dollars less a night. The pullman was one of the cheapest hotels and decided to book it. We were absolutely amazed when we checked into our room! It is the nicest room I have EVER stayed in and we got such an amazing price! Great location. Quick 5 minute walk to the docs where many of the day tours depart from. The only complaint, besides not being able to stay longer, is they charged us a $2 fee every time we used our phone cards (even when calls did not go through). I have never had to pay a charge for phone card use as long as the access number is local. When we checked out we had a $56 charge for phone uses! (we were only there 2 nights) When we questioned the charge they removed it for us. Staff is very friendly (esp. the bell hop at the front door) and the little mints they have laid out are absolutely amazing! If in Cairns, you must stay at the Pullman!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CiaoNiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2010

Dear CiaoNiks

Thank you for your great review! I hope that you also had a chance to dine in our multi-award winning restaurant Tamarind.

Regarding the phone charge for using your phone card the hotel charges $1 untimed for local calls. I recommend using a phone card that has a 1800 number assigned. This is free to use in all Accor hotels as well as payphones.

I hope to see you again in Cairns!

regards
Adrian Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights as a getaway without the kids. From the moment we arrived the service was excellent. We had a king room and all the small details made for a great stay. This is one of the cleanest and most conforatable places we have stayed. We had a small issue with our room which could not have been avoided by the hotel, we were upgraded within 30 minutes to a waterview room on a higher floor and sent a complimentary bottle of champagne with a card. We were very impressed with the quality of service. There is a pool and a well equiped gym although we did not use them. Even though this hotel is attached to the casino, we did not hear any noise at night. This hotel is also well located with many places to eat and a supermarket just a short walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire08380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianWilliams, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2010

Dear Claire08380,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I'm glad to hear that you had a great min-break away from the kids. As the centre of entertainment with the best five star hotel in the city our hotel is a perfect place to spend time away.

I hope to see you back in Cairns again soon!

Warm regards

Adrian Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
3.8 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Reef Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Address: 35-41 Wharf St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cairns
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#4 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $186 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Reef Hotel Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by Trinity inlet and cruise liner terminal, the five-star Pullman Reef Hotel Casino is Cairns most prestigious hotel. Each of our luxurious rooms has its own spa bath, separate walk in shower and garden balcony overlooking the city or water views. A roof-top swimming pool, gym, four restaurants and bars, boutique casino, conference spaces and a unique Wildlife Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pullman Reef Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Reef Hotel Cairns
Accor Reef Hotel
Sofitel Cairns
Cairns Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing