We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bliss!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great hotel with superb rooms which are spacious and comfortable. Wished the visit was for pleasure and not business! The bed was super comfortable and a blissful nights sleep once asleep....the only issue was the noisy street crowd on a Saturday night which did become quite noisy at one stage during the night. Apart from that minor issue it was a great experience and staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from Casino entrance on a weekend.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starfish2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Starfish2201,
We need to get you back for some relaxing! Our beds often receive compliments for the comfyness, it great to read that you enjoyed the sleep. Being part of an entertainment complex we do get our share of revelers enjoying themselves, please give our team a call and we will do our absolute best to ensure they are moved on quietly.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,986)
There are newer reviews for Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 1,986 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

everything was just perfect.amazing room.amazing view from the balcony. amazing view of the water body.amazingly helpful staff at the desk.must stay.just as the review says AMAZING.can very well say that it was one of the highlights of our stay in cairns.just one drawback the breakfast resturant was too far off.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank gargaamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear gargaamit,
Fantastic to see that everything was perfect for you for your stay. Breakfast is a bit of a stroll, but great for walking off the Pullman Big Breakfast!
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

After reading mixed reviews of the Pullman I wasn`t sure what to expect. I booked a deluxe water view including breakfast. First impressions on arrival are of an upmarket hotel with a calm ambience to the lobby. The check in staff are all friendly warm & welcoming. The hotel is in a prime position located within walking distance to the Cairns CBD. The room I had was beautiful, spacious & clean located on the second floor with a small balcony. I was there for three nights & had requested a high floor (nine floors max) & was moved to the sixth floor on my second night, same quality of room. I had no noise issues & slept soundly every night. The Chinese restaurant downstairs is divine & must be experienced. Breakfast is served in the Tamarind restaurant & is your usual buffet fair. To cold to use the pool but the sauna & gym where fine. Note to management , you need lockers for people to store belongings when in the sauna. Overall thanks Pullman for a relaxing stay, fantastic room, fantastic staff. I was on a business trip but will be back with the family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear dvh2,
Great to read that you found us hard to fault and enjoyed all of the aspects of your stay. Good point on the lockers, we will investigate this option for the sauna, thank you for pointing this out.
We look forward to welcoming you back with your family for some RNR.
Best regards
Wayne Reynolds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

A fine establishment. The rooms were extremely comfortable and quiet and recently refurbish. Bed was comfortable and the amenities good.
The staff were exceptional and the service was quietly respectful and top class. I have not stayed there before because I thought albeit wrongly that the proximity to the Casino would be noisy. This was not the case and I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Graham D,
Thank you for your recommendation and kind words about our exceptional staff. We are indeed quite seperate to the Casino with a seperate entrance to the hotel. But close enough for a very leisurely stroll to the fun and excitement of the entertainment and Casino to make for the perfect night out. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I treated myself to a one night stay for a bit of luxury by way of " wotif mystery location" and it was all I hoped for when I discovered i had landed here at Pullman what a suprise! At first I thought.. oh not a casino (thats not my scene at all) but the Pullman is separate and I found no noise or influence of the casino next door The bed was divine as was the bathroom. The balcony was a bit drab but i didn't need to go out there as it was raining anyway. The staff were amazing and the self-serve coffee machine in the lobby for a good coffee on the way out anywhere was a bonus which i enjoyed. I realise I had a extraordinary good price but even at the normal rate $ 260+ its worth it. A little gem of a noodle bar (no frills but great authentic food) is just outside... Cafe china i think it was called not the inside one (top dollar) the outside one.

Room Tip: I was in room 206 second floor. No noise issue from street below. Its view from balcony is average...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank utopiablokeQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear utopiablokeQLD,
Great to read that we were able to spoil you for a night and you were very happy with the surprise hotel deal. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, your kind words are very much appreciated.
Best regards
Wayne Reynolds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We are Cairns locals and thought we would treat ourselves to a 5 star experience for my Husbands birthday. Our stay in the Cairns Pullman was a VERY BAD experience and ruined our whole special weekend. We walked out at 2 AM due to noise and drove 30 minutes home, with no refund. At least we could drive home. The King bed was two single beds pushed together and they weren't even the same height. Not great for a romantic weekend.

Wedding receptions were in the meeting rooms and bar on the floor directly below us. The loud music, MC/DJ and yelling and screaming escalated from 10 PM to 1 AM when I called the font desk asking when the wedding receptions would be over. We were told it should be over soon. At 1:30 we packed up and decided to check out as we could not sleep with the continued noise level. The night manger apologized and we were told the noise was coming from the bar below us and that this was a recurring problem. Business Practice --- WE SHOULD HAVE NEVER BEEN CHECKED INTO THE ROOM WE WERE GIVEN IN TH FIRST PLACE. We had booked and paid on wotif so we could not be refunded but were told we would be fully compensated with apologies. Our voucher arrived yesterday - same room - same street view - not even a breakfast voucher. So much for five star.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank QueenParrotfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear QueenParrotfish,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I apologise that you stay did not meet your expectations. As the team advised when you checked in and asked for a complimentary upgrade, we were unfortunately unable to give you this free upgrade as we were full that evening. I do hope you enjoyed the complimentary bottle of sparkling wine, that our team sent when we were unable to upgrade you, to help you celebrate your special occassion. I am very sorry that your night was marred due to noise. I am also sorry that a complimentary night's certficate for the same room type is not sufficient for your inconvenience. I can assure you, when you next stay you will be given an experience that we hope will redeem your faith in our service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here in May , had such a relaxing time we came back again a few weeks later . Check in is always quick and welcoming and on Our first visit in May we were upgraded to a junior suite with Ocean view which was fantastic. These suites are huge and so comfortable . As past guests we also had a welcome back plate of chocolates and fruit delivered to our room . I have stayed in a good many of cairns other motels & apartments and none of them have been up to the Pullman Reefs standard , thanks for another great stay :)

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank townsvillemaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear townsvillemaz,
Thank you so much for coming back to stay with us. Great to read that you enjoyed the suite! We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home.
Kind regards
Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
3.8 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Reef Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Address: 35-41 Wharf St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#1 Business Hotel in Cairns
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#4 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $212 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Reef Hotel Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by Trinity inlet and cruise liner terminal, the five-star Pullman Reef Hotel Casino is Cairns most prestigious hotel. Take the time to look at our rates to see all of our EXTRA INCLUSIONS - we have thought of everything. Each of our luxurious rooms has its own spa bath, separate walk in shower and garden balcony overlooking the city or water views. A roof-top swimming pool, gym, four restaurants and bars, boutique casino, conference spaces and a unique Wildlife Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pullman Reef Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Reef Hotel Cairns
Accor Reef Hotel
Sofitel Cairns
Cairns Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing