We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
NSW
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved the luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Apprehensive to stay given I'd stayedmore than 15 years ago and renos were 2009 but there was nothing to worry about. Beds are amazing with pillow top and gorgeous luxury linen. Nespresso in foyer for free and beautiful lamps and couches. Bathrooms clean but dont seem updated to modern style but no complaints. Only gripe is only 30 min free wi fi once a day only. Staff very helpful, all of them. Great job. Avoid the seedy casino and the stinky smells. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodiechatcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear foodiechatcom,
Great to see you back after 15 years! We rebranded to Pullman in 2009 and refreshed our rooms this year. We didn't want to touch the beautiful marble double hand basins in the bathrooms, we did add new mirrors, spa baths, monsoon showers and lights though. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,233
    474
    101
    27
    14
See reviews for
260
1,064
100
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I walked into my room and then called reception as I thought they had given me a suite by mistake. It had a Jacuzzi bath, a separate shower, a separate toilet, lovely balcony and nice view. The bed was probably one of the best I have ever slept in. The towels were huge and very fluffy. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was luxurious. So impressed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water. Good for relaxation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Jsa51988,
We do appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback and thank you for staying with us. Our rooms and beds are very well appointed, with our great team adding to the experience.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here and it was great. As an Accor Platinum our room was upgraded to a massive junior suite, plus we got a lovely complimentary fruit bowl. The bed was really comfy. We loved the huge windows covering two full sides of the room as well as the wrap around balcony giving views over the water. All staff were excellent and really helpful, especially the concierge who assisting in booking trips (you can earn reward points this way and pay no more than paying travel agents direct). We didn't use the casino as we lost our free voucher, but it was always busy - not really our thing.

This place was fantastic and would recommend to all. If you can, so go for a premium room as it is definitely worth it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Jonathan C,
Thank you for your kind words and recommendation. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the team looked after you well. We do hope to welcome you back to Cairns soon.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a fantastic night there. We decided to check in early and drop our bags off and go for lunch at 12-30. Michael was great in looking after us and nothing was a problem. Our room wasnt ready so he looked after our bags and car and we went for lunch. I had a call from Micheal saying our room was ready while at lunch which was great. We got back to the hotel and collected our envelope with swipecards, 2 free drink vouchers for the casino and other papers. We had a lovely room looking towards the inlet with a nice balcony. The bed was super comfortable and the room was quiet and clean. I had a great sleep .We went for the included breakfast at Tamirands and cant speak highly enough of the food and service.The pancakes were great !! On checkout it was easy and fast and the very friendly concierge delivered the car out the front for us on departure. Cant wait to stay there again .

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Water as the veiw on the abbott St side of the city and past water view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulyjCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear PaulyjCairns,
Fantastic to read that you had a great stay and got to experience all that the complex has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights then again the following weekend for another 2 nights. First stay was great with excellent service, room was spotless & location to all the local restaurants was perfect. Unfortunately, the following weekend was not so good. Very noisy room (constant droning noise), smoker on balcony next door made sitting on our balcony impossible. Couldn’t even leave our doors open as our room would fill up with cigarette smoke. Very surprised that a 5 star hotel still allows smoking on it’s property! Loved swimming in the pool but felt it was a very noisy area (motors) especially if you wished to just relax. Also surprised there was no biscuits in the room to have with a cuppa. For the price you pay surely this is a small item to supply.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Karen B,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I do apologise that your second experience did not meet your expectations. Please feel free to contact me directly when you next stay and i will ensure we allocate a room to meet your preferences.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Clean spacious and modern interconnecting rooms for our family with good service when needed. restaurants expensive for the lack of choice, number and variety. pool area good. could have more shaded areas and a bar


Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank steven m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear steven m,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is great to see that you enjoyed the rooms. As luck would have it we have shade sails on order for the pool area.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Reef Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Property: Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Address: 35-41 Wharf St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#1 Business Hotel in Cairns
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#4 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Reef Hotel Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by Trinity inlet and cruise liner terminal, the five-star Pullman Reef Hotel Casino is Cairns most prestigious hotel. Take the time to look at our rates to see all of our EXTRA INCLUSIONS - we have thought of everything. Each of our luxurious rooms has its own spa bath, separate walk in shower and garden balcony overlooking the city or water views. A roof-top swimming pool, gym, four restaurants and bars, boutique casino, conference spaces and a unique Wildlife Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman Reef Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Reef Hotel Cairns
Accor Reef Hotel
Sofitel Cairns
Cairns Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing