We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great arrival experience, great rooms, breakfast is a little off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great arrival experience, great rooms, breakfast is a little off”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We arrived at around 10am in the morning, they were full house the night before so we had to wait a little bit. They even have a espresso machine at the lobby so even when you are waiting you can still enjoy a free cup of nice coffee. The gentleman at reception (not sure if his name is Michael or Matthew) was very helpful. Paper work was done and we went out to the waterfront for little walk, it was a very pleasant.

The rooms are facing the sea, has a small balcony, very bright. Facilities are not new but was well maintained.

We made all the tour arrangement and ticketing with the concierge, very smooth and efficient.

Next morning, you have to walk all the way to the other part of the building to have breakfast. The environment and the buffet was not so enticing, the only disappointment through the entire stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sodasoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear soda soda,
Great to read that we were able to get you in before the 2pm check in time and our coffee machine kept you company for a little while. My apologies for not meeting your expectations for the breakfast experience.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,272
    484
    103
    28
    14
See reviews for
265
1,096
102
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed in this hotel recently for an extended weekend. we had the delux king room. This was gorgeous, as was the rest of the hotel. The staff could not be more helpful, food was great, and also the location was right by the promenade. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzyjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Jazzyjy,
We do thank you for your recommendation. Wonderful to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel from the room to the food, location and service. We do hope to welcome you back when you next travel to Cairns.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We loved our 3 night stay here - the room was spacious and well set out, the bathroom was great especially with having views from the bathtub, staff were welcoming and helpful, great location with an easy walk to shops, cafés, restaurants and the marina. We would love to stay here again if back in Cairns!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpecaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear kpecaus,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, it is fantastic to read that you loved your stay with us. we do hope you will join us again soon.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Good place to stay and has great staff!

The rooms are very spacious and great to relax. The pool is a bit small and brekky is not 5 star but overall its a thumbs up. Try to get a room with water views (makes a big difference) and a special mention to the concierge (older gentleman) for his great service.

Room Tip: Water view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raji G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Raji G,
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback. Matthew our concierge is an exceptional member of the team. I do apologise that breakfast did not meet your expectations.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have travelled all over the world and can honestly say that the service that we received from ALL staff was second to none! We have already looked to book our next stay! LOVED our room! A big thanks to staff Matthew and Odette




  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank coasty2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Telena T,
Thank you great to read that you loved your stay. Matthew and Odette are very chuffed that you remembered them. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night before our flight home, lovely hotel, staff are very friendly and professional, room was absolutely perfect, the most comfortable bed we have every slept in wow, a bathroom with large tub and a really nice shower with heaps of pressure! and then there is the large balcony to sit out on and enjoy the sun. If you ever go to Cairns you have to stay here you will not be disappointed we will definitely be back for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Catznz,
Sorry you couldn't stay with us longer! Thank you for your kind words. We do look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Cairns.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Reef Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Property: Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Address: 35-41 Wharf St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#1 Business Hotel in Cairns
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#4 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Reef Hotel Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by Trinity inlet and cruise liner terminal, the five-star Pullman Reef Hotel Casino is Cairns most prestigious hotel. Take the time to look at our rates to see all of our EXTRA INCLUSIONS - we have thought of everything. Each of our luxurious rooms has its own spa bath, separate walk in shower and garden balcony overlooking the city or water views. A roof-top swimming pool, gym, four restaurants and bars, boutique casino, conference spaces and a unique Wildlife Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Pullman Reef Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Reef Hotel Cairns
Accor Reef Hotel
Sofitel Cairns
Cairns Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing