We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Rooms were well set out although must have been smallest tv in the world in there! Breakfast was exceptional and I recommend the eggs benedict at tamarind, although dinner there the previous evening was disappointing- food was food but service really lets this place down- They didnt even have enough menus!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuzzieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear AuzzieTraveler,

We do appreciate you chosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post your comments. I have passed your comments regarding Tamarind dinner onto our team to investigate and apologise for any delay this may have caused. Happily, I can also advise that we are in the process of a soft refurbishment and the TV's are all currently being replaced.

Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,006)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,187 - 1,193 of 2,006 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Pullman is a great hotel with good service and comfortable rooms. The rooms were larger than most and the balcony gave a nice view to the water. The locations is excellent. Easy walking to resturants , pier for Great Barrier Reef excursions and other attractions. Did not visit the casino but it looked like a well presented facility.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth617_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Kenneth617_12,

Wonderful to read that you enjoyed our great service and the comfortable rooms. We are indeed in a fantastic location, central to everything that you could want.
Thank you for staying with us!
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Travelling to Cairns, Australia to be part of a wedding party, our bachelorette weekend included 2 nights stay at the Pullman Reef Casino Hotel. The room was tidy and comfortable with a nice view over the inlet and marina. A group of us went to the casino venue for some dancing and drinking at the bar outside the entrance to the casino. 3 of the girls played at the roulette tables (the wheel is very different to the ones we know in Vegas-no double zero - ie Frence roulette). One of the girls asked the dealer to place a couple of chips for her and the unthinkable happened...The dealer placed the chips on the wrong number. My friend lost $350 of a winning bet which she should have been entitled to. What a joke and WTF. The staff were rude and didn't admit responsibility saying she had to make sure the dealer placed the chips on the correct number and shrugged their shoulders. Must be the most easiest way for the casino to make their money.
Stay at the hotel, but don't play at the casino unless you want to be robbed blind.

Room Tip: Don't play the Casino. When booking a room ask for a suite that overlooks the marina and inlet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 898ShaRonS898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear 898ShaRonS898,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback. It is great to see that you enjoyed the hotel experience. I have passed your comments on to my colleagues in the Casino for their investigation. I do apologise for any inconvenience to your stay.

Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

It took 2 days the get the engineer to reset the spa, due to the Easter holidays, but we really enjoyed our 4 days at the Reef Hotel Casino.
Their Tamarind Restaurant was a great place to have dinner but we felt the breakfast in the same Restaurant the next morning was a bit sparse for the price, for such an up market hotel.
We went across the road to their other Pullman Hotel for our last breakfast which blew the Casino breakfast room "out of the water".
Might try staying there next time as the staff said the rooms had recently been refurbished & in their opinion were much better than the Casino. M & L

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank XXPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear XXPortland,

My thanks to you for posting your feedback. I do apologise that we did not meet your expectations for breakfast and that we could not get your spa working promptly. The Pullman across the road does have a larger breakfast as it caters to over 300 rooms and a large number of tour groups. We are currently refurbishing our accomodation rooms, I was not aware that they were refurbishing thier rooms and understand it has been quite some time since they were last done. Great to see you will stay in the Pullman family and experience a different style of hotel.

Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in March. The room is pretty big and spacious with a Balcony. The hotel is pretty much central, the Cairns Esplanade is 2 mins walking distance. Vegetarian food is a challenge in their main restaurant, they only had 1 option which I think doesn't suffice.

Free WIFI is available in the Lobby. Staff are pleasant and helpful...

I am not sure if I will stay again though, may check out some other hotels in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prajit_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Prajit_N,
We do thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and it is great to see that your enjoyed your stay with us. Our Chef's are more than happy to prepare meals that suit your dietary requirements. We have now recorded your dietary needs and will ensure that we are able to cater to you when you next travel.
Warm regards
Wayne Reynolds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My sister and I really enjoyed our time at the reef casino. The rooms were so fresh and clean and the bed was super comfy! Great size and had a cute little balcony. The pressure in the shower was fantastic too.
The staff were all very very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was awesome!
I dont think there is anything I could fault to be honest... other than not winning in the casino lol we loved our 2 nights here and were sad to leave.
If you are visiting Cairns, stay here... you wont be dissappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krystal g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My Partner and I stayed for 3 nights at the Pullman Reef casino Hotel over this easter weekend. From Check-In until Check-out we were extremly happy will all aspects of the Hotel. All Staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel itself was beautiful. Rooms were spacious with a massive bed that was sooooo comfortable, duck feather and down pillows were a lovely touch! we were in a standard double room which also contained a couch, desk and 2 chairs. Bathroom and shower/spa room were separate which was nice.The spa bath was amazing found it hard to get out of there!! we also had a balcony and an amazing sea view! balcony was a little on the small side but still enough room for a table and chairs :). The pool area of the hotel was lovely big pool not too deep with nice sun loungers and a georgeus sun lounger bed! good pooside menu also, we availed of the straberry daiquiri cocktails and spicy wedges with sweet chili and sour cream (yummy!) the hotel also has a gym and sauna and on the weekend stayed there was never more than a handful of people at the pool of gym, even had the pool to ourselves one day! everyone tends to go on tours during the day in cairns and so it is quite and gets busier on a night time! The Hotel is only about a 5 minute walk to the terminal where most of the tours of the great barrier reef goes from which is great! The Great barrier reef is a must if you are staying in cairns! This hotel is very central to everything with lots of restaurants and bars around! We were delighted with our stay here and will be back in the near future! Thanks Pullman reef Hotel for a great weekend :)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aishling B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
3.8 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Reef Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Address: 35-41 Wharf St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#1 Business Hotel in Cairns
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#4 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: $200 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Reef Hotel Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by Trinity inlet and cruise liner terminal, the five-star Pullman Reef Hotel Casino is Cairns most prestigious hotel. Take the time to look at our rates to see all of our EXTRA INCLUSIONS - we have thought of everything. Each of our luxurious rooms has its own spa bath, separate walk in shower and garden balcony overlooking the city or water views. A roof-top swimming pool, gym, four restaurants and bars, boutique casino, conference spaces and a unique Wildlife Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Reef Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Reef Hotel Cairns
Accor Reef Hotel
Sofitel Cairns
Cairns Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing